Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 12 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=142)
-   -   Command 8 - Compatible (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=372880)

Azureless 10-09-2015 02:35 AM

Command 8 - Compatible
 
So just a quick question i can't seem to find any information about.

Im close to getting my self a Digidesign Command 8. But im not 100% sure it works with Pro Tools 12.

Any help would be appreciated and of course any recommendations too.

Thanks in advance

peterle 10-09-2015 02:39 AM

Re: Command 8 - Compatible
 
it will work only until PT10.
not in 11 or 12

Azureless 10-09-2015 02:50 AM

Re: Command 8 - Compatible
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by peterle (Post 2301650)
it will work only until PT10.
not in 11 or 12

Any other recommendations for what i could get instead - around the same price?

SOUNDDECISION 10-09-2015 03:42 AM

Re: Command 8 - Compatible
 
I plugged a command 8 into a PT12 rig and it worked....

Is it actually not supposed to work ...or just not "officially supported" ?

As far as I can tell its working fine.... or is there some specific functionality that is broken in 12 that isn't immediately obvious...?

groundcontrol 10-09-2015 04:01 AM

Re: Command 8 - Compatible
 
AFAIK it is unsupported but does fully work.

Carl Kolchak 10-09-2015 05:24 AM

Re: Command 8 - Compatible
 
Mine works perfectly* in PT11 (and it seems PT12 is basically PT11).

It's in the "no longer supported, but not prevented from working" (not the "absolutely will not work" category).

Whilst they're no longer sold, they aren't due for End of Service by Avid, until 2017 I think (search some of my old posts on the subject, I put some links up).



* The only thing that doesn't work is bypassing sends, and that didn't work in PT10 either, so I'm not sure when that got screwed up.

There is also a quirk with how mutes (if I remember correctly) work using the "BOOM" drum machine plug-in.

Other than that, it's solid.

Gemylon 10-09-2015 07:10 AM

Re: Command 8 - Compatible
 
Thanks for the clarification guys !



:-)

sw rec 10-09-2015 08:02 AM

Re: Command 8 - Compatible
 
Mackie Control....
http://mackie.com/products/mcu-pro-and-xt-pro
OR if you just need basic transport control and you have an I-pad, the AVID Pro Tools Control app works quite well, and it's free!

john1192 03-31-2016 02:16 PM

Re: Command 8 - Compatible
 
i know this is an older thread but what do you think the chances are the Command 8 is going to work much longer ???

Neale 03-31-2016 03:02 PM

Re: Command 8 - Compatible
 
Mine died with a power surge, but I'm thinking of returning my Artist Control and paying less than half the dough to get it fixed. At least it worked - FLAWLESSLY. Not sure what the "bypassing sends" issue was, I don't remember ever having an issue with it at all. Ever. I think I was running it until 12.2 or 12.3, but with 12 for sure.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:49 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com