Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   General Discussion (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   when you have to polish a turd (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=403702)

mattwren65 03-11-2019 02:10 PM

when you have to polish a turd

Hi there. Just looking for some tips.

Any suggestions for improving the sounds of an MP3?

In this case... I'm doing a "mastering". I put in quotes because I'm not a mastering engineer, but I've done my share of rough mastering with pretty good results for my humble setup. just doing for a buddy that has $0 to spend on a proper mastering guy and its fun for me.

Story:
  • Band records proper demos in protools years ago
  • Drummer has all files in computer
  • Drummer has a meltdown, trashes his computer, and moves to the sticks
  • No one in the band thinks to make backups at any point
  • Now all I have to work with is some mp3's that were dug out of past emails

I realize an mp3 is an mp3 and there is no way to replace the data that is compressed and lost in the process of conversion.

But aside from the obvious stuff you'd do with any track, would guys do anything differently if you knew from the get-go you'd be working off mp3's?

Thx so much in advance for any tips you may have.

best,

-c

elicious 03-12-2019 02:55 AM

Re: when you have to polish a turd

Quote:

I realize an mp3 is an mp3 and there is no way to replace the data that is compressed and lost in the process of conversion.
Well, I realize you have the broke-starving-musician budget (!);
But for others who may read this and be curious,
there is a genius company out there called Zynaptic,
and one of the voodoo tools Denis makes is called Unchirp;
and it does a remarkable job of combatting the chirping and twittering artifacts of mp3’s,
and general over-limiting.
e

amagras 03-12-2019 04:56 AM