Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   please help...i'm new........Thank you (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=49783)

guitarboy335 11-07-2002 07:42 PM

please help...i\'m new........Thank you
 
My friend and I are going to get Pro Tools so we can work on stuff at each others houses, together and separate. I am gonna get the 001, and he wants the 002. I have noticed that they come with different plug-in packages. What kind of problems is that gonna cause us going back and forth between systems, or can we exchange plugs in with one another so that we both have the same ones? Thank you in advance. Eric

ajazzie 11-07-2002 09:17 PM

Re: please help...i\'m new........Thank you
 
You can transfer sessions(As long as you use compatible sample rates that is) between each station, if you use a plug he does not have ptools will tell you its not available in the session. As for exchanging plugs, well.......

Sory, thats against the law. You want it, you buy it unfortunatley.

Ide love to get a copy of my friends plugs.

lynxxx 11-08-2002 02:55 AM

Re: please help...i\'m new........Thank you
 
You will both have all the Digirack plugs and that will be enough to get you started. But as far as those sweet Waves plugs and others on the 002, they have licensing limits and copy protection. Bump back and forth and then do the final mixes on the 002 with the cool plugs.

Ben Jenssen 11-08-2002 06:43 AM

Re: please help...i\'m new........Thank you
 
The guy who has the plugin can just "print" the effect to disk and the other guy can hear the effect without having the plugin.

Rita 11-08-2002 10:09 PM

Re: please help...i\'m new........Thank you
 
Hi guitarboy335. Sounds like you paly the guitar. The digi002 comes with Amplitube, just in case.

If he gets a Digi002, he'll have more plug-ins than you. You just get Digipack plug-ins(which are not musical , more like for sound editers, IMHO) and D-Verb.

If you guys are going to work together,
having diffrent systems isn't a very very good idea.
The big diffrence is that the Digi002 supports 96K. You might want to ask him not to choose 96K. That'll not be very effective if you stay in 44K.

guitarboy335 11-09-2002 01:09 AM

Re: please help...i\'m new........Thank you
 
There will be problems if one of us are working in 96k and one of us are working in 44? What are the pros and cons to working in 96k rather than 44? Is there a standard that most people use to aviod these type of problems, if there are any? What does Mix24 work at?

Chompers 11-09-2002 05:41 AM

Re: please help...i\'m new........Thank you
 
do it all in 44.
Everybody does... or should.

96k is great, but you wont be able to use them.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:31 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com