Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 9 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   PT9 and mackie control mode? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=297440)

Cyndicate 03-22-2011 08:24 AM

PT9 and mackie control mode?
 
Does PT9 support mackie control mode? I keep hearing different things.

Cyndicate 03-24-2011 10:25 AM

Re: PT9 and mackie control mode?
 
?

Larry Sheehan 03-24-2011 02:26 PM

Re: PT9 and mackie control mode?
 
No it only supports MCU in HUI mode.

M-ManLA 03-24-2011 03:56 PM

Re: PT9 and mackie control mode?
 
You have to put the surface in HUI mode for it to work. Now, if you haven't bought it yet, I'll suggest going with the Artist Mix and Artist Control units, as Pro Tools now have Eucon, and will work natively with Pro Tools.

fakir_cz 03-24-2011 04:29 PM

Re: PT9 and mackie control mode?
 
You can control ProTools 9 via three different interfaces:

1) Avidesign's own integrated protocol, used by their own control surfaces
2) EuCon, used by all the (former) Euphonix stuff
3) HUI for the rest of the world

The old HUI protocol is very lousy compared to modern ethernet-based protocols and I can imagine that its implementation into modern controllers (like i.e. SmartAV Tango), despite pushing its borders, is a major PITA. I owned the SSL Nucleus for about three months and its performance in ProTools (via HUI) wasn't exactly awesome (which, to be honest, applied to the whole unit). I returned the Nucleus because of many quality issues, reached (much) deeper into my pocket and bought the C|24 instead.

Tom


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:48 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com