Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Firewire Question (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=108341)

drBill 06-12-2004 06:37 PM

Firewire Question

OK - an old diehard SCSI guy here. I know this has been covered ad naseum, but I've been off the board for a while and I've got to ask.

I've been using Cheetah's on my Mix systems for the last several years with excellent success. I often have up to 64 tracks with moderate to heavy density edits.

I'm going to upgrade the systems to the new G52.0 duals with HD3accell PT. The problem is - there's no place for a SCSI card with the HD3 taking up all 3 slots. I have a very substantial outlay in Storcase enclosures, trays and HD's and the thought of tossing them makes me kind of ill....

I like having my session all on one drive for housekeeping reasons. Will I be dissapointed with FW? What kind of track count can I expect at 24bit/48k? Also, I'm considering either the Glyph GT103 or the Storcase 321 FW removable enclosures. Any thoughts on those? Any ideas would be helpful for me.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and experience.

Bill

drBill 06-14-2004 10:03 AM

Re: Firewire Question

*bump*

Surely someone here started out on SCSI and switched to FW drives. I'm just looking for some insight on track counts, etc. Thanks.

Bill

EarHole 06-14-2004 10:39 AM