Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   macOS (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=347731)

Timusic8 12-02-2013 03:51 PM

Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks
 
Pro Tools 11.0.3 on a brand new Macbook Pro (mavericks)

When booting up Pro Tools for the first time in Activity Monitor I see
two issues:
Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding)
and
Avid Video Engine (Not Responding)

After a minute or two Avid Video Engine returns to normal but the Pro Tools Quicktime Server remains as (Not Responding)

If I kill the process the Pro Tools becomes non-responsive as well and has to be restarted. Re-installing Pro Tools does not fix the problem.

Anyone else having this problem? Does anyone know exactly what the Pro Tools Quicktime Server process is doing? Pro Tools does seem to run fine if I don't mess with it, but I'm still curious as to what's going on.

gladkiy 12-14-2013 02:34 AM

Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks
 
Same thing here, on my MBP with Mavericks - but in my case - Avid Video Engine is still running, while Pro Tools Quicktime Server not responding.
In overall - no video playback in PT11 - everything works great in PT10.

SamAero 12-23-2013 04:23 PM

Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks
 
Same system specs (OSX 10.9.1, PT11.0.3) & same phenomenon happening in Activity Monitor over here. I'm not noticing any symptoms in Pro Tools, though - video has been working fine for me so far, so I'm not messing with it.

The only thing I've noticed is that when loading Pro Tools for the first time, the program appears to hang on "connecting to the Avid Video Engine".

Craig F 12-23-2013 04:57 PM

Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks
 
Please try the new 11.1 update

dubbingmixer 01-21-2014 03:27 AM

Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Craig F (Post 2114587)
Please try the new 11.1 update

Just registered to get on this thread!

Just tried V11.1.2 and still cannot play video.

I'm seeing the same activity monitor message i.e. Pro Tools QT server not responding when I tried to bounce a video clip to QT to see if that would play.

The Avid Video Engine is loading, I've had no joy playing any video files, even files that did play in V10.

I'm using a mid2009 MBP with 8GB of memory and (damn) Mavericks installed, so border line spec I admit, but I did expect to be able to play back a 3 minute H264 file with a couple of audio tracks.

Has anyone got any work around for this?

DetroitT 01-21-2014 04:04 AM

Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks
 
Pro Tools QuickTime Server (32 bit) Do we need this in the system?
If not where is it located for removal?

My ? is regarding 11.1.2 crashing while saving in playback.
May be related.

Intersound 01-27-2014 11:21 AM

Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks
 
Same issue here on a MBP (late 2013 / OS 10.9.1) but the video plays back quite smoothly. I can only see this issue in the activity monitor (?). Feels strange anyway...anyone could sort this out ? AVID ?

P_J 02-06-2014 11:51 AM

Re: Pro Tools Quicktime Server (Not Responding) 11.0.3 Mavericks
 
PTHDn 11.1.2 and I'm also having Quicktime_OPServer going red in Activity Monitor. Actually there are two duplicated processes in my case. Both red. AVE is normal.
I don't have major video problems, but today I noticed (50min project/CPU15-20%) that PT went very unresponsive. Starting PT again fixed this, but after some time slowness came back. That's why I opened Activity Monitor.
Normally PT11 has been very stable and responsive for me.
EDIT: I made more testing with a same session. It (red) doesn't happen all the time after re starting PT. First I thought that this slowness has something to do with this OPServer error, but maybe that's not a case.
EDIT2: There haven't been any slowness in other sessions, so QT server didn't cause that. Still QT goes not responding in Active Monitor with every session. But without any effect.

K Roche 03-10-2014 01:02 PM

Pro Tools QuickTime server RED ?????
 
There is a thread over on GS

Apparently There may be a bug in PT 11 or PTHD 11.1.2 numerous people are reporting
Pro tools Quick Time Server not responding / show in red in the Mac Activity Monitor Any body know for sure what is going on
I have already had PT completely render QT un recordable and had to do a clean install of Maverics all over again to get QT back.

K Roche 03-11-2014 06:19 AM

Re: Pro Tools QuickTime server RED ?????
 
337 views and no replies ? Is no one else having this showing red thing going on ? There are about 6 so far over on GS. Kev.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:08 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com