Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=94)
-   -   New Mac Pro (7.1) (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=407848)

bricedav 12-30-2019 11:33 PM

New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Hi, I will receive my new Mac in February

I have an HDX Card, and 2 Avid Interfaces

Does anyone already have received his Mac Pro and made full test of Pro Tools and if the HDX Card works with it

Thanks!!!!

lucienpalmer 12-31-2019 07:02 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
According to Apple:

ďAvid can enable support for up to six HDX cards, resulting in more IO, increased voice count and two times the real-time DSP processing than any other system can achieve in Pro Tools.Ē

Southsidemusic 12-31-2019 07:43 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
I donít think thats implemented yet though. Maybe later next year but the promised doubled voice counts may or may not be there yet either.

bricedav 12-31-2019 07:49 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
I was talking about the compatibility with the new Mac Pro (7.1), is anyone has already tested it with Pro Tools and an Avid Card HDX...?

Southsidemusic 12-31-2019 07:53 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bricedav (Post 2549457)
I was talking about the compatibility with the new Mac Pro (7.1), is anyone has already tested it with Pro Tools and an Avid Card HDX...?

Yes sorry, it works great with 1 and 2 HDX cards. No issues as our co-production team got theirs already and we get our 2 New Mac Pro 7.1 28core jan 7th.

lucienpalmer 12-31-2019 07:58 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bricedav (Post 2549457)
I was talking about the compatibility with the new Mac Pro (7.1), is anyone has already tested it with Pro Tools and an Avid Card HDX...?



Right, that was a quote from the Apple press release for the 7,1 on their website. So three HDX cards definitely work now, and Avid will add support for at least 6 to work later.

bricedav 12-31-2019 08:23 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Awesome!!!! Thanks for your answers, Iím glad it works!!

Studio Dweller 12-31-2019 08:21 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Just upgraded from a 2008 Mac Pro, PT 10 HD3 Accel to a 2019 Mac Pro (16-core), Pro Tools 2019.12 HDX. Itís been a surprisingly smooth transition so far. Iíve only just finished updating the bulk of my plugins so I havenít run the system for an actual session yet. Pleasantly surprised to be able to continue using my Control 24 via the Neyrinck V-Control Pro software. So far, the only issue Iíve found with it is not being able to change automation modes on each channel even though it says it should work. All things considered, this has been pretty smooth, especially considering how far behind I was and being forced to jump into Catalina.

jesele 12-31-2019 11:00 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Hi all, a happy new year from Gotland, Sweden.
What slot did you put the HDX card in and did you need an adapter for the power cable?
Like the Belkin kit 6->8 pins. (One would think Avid will make new cables so that no adapter is needed eventually. 2023 :D)

Waiting for a 16-core, 96GB RAM, 2 TB SSD with basic graphic card.
Have one HDX-card with two HD/IO interfaces.

Also, anyone tried to put the iLok in the internal USB-port?
That would be great if it works.


Jesper

Studio Dweller 01-01-2020 07:57 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
I assume that there’s no benefit of putting the HDX card in a 16X slot so I put it in slot 6 (8X, two slots below the Apple IO card) and yes, you will need the adapter for the power cable. I bought the Belkin set of adapter cables directly from Apple and it’s the one labeled “Cable set 3, PCIe Aux Power Cable 6-pin to 6-pin”. I have a 16x16 analog HD IO and a 192 IO (16 analog in, 8 digital out) connected to it.

I haven’t tried the ilok in the internal USB port.

jesele 01-01-2020 08:43 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Thanks Larry, that's very helpful. Guess I'll just have to try with the iLok.

Jesper

Studio Dweller 01-01-2020 08:09 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
I've got my iLok 3 in the internal USB port now and it's working fine.

jesele 01-02-2020 12:02 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Brilliant, thanks again Larry.

Jesper

Michael Carnes 01-02-2020 06:06 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Studio Dweller (Post 2549625)
I've got my iLok 3 in the internal USB port now and it's working fine.

I do the same with mine. Apple barely mentions that port in the documentation, but it really helps keep a setup tidy.

uptheoctave 01-02-2020 06:48 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
I’ve filled 2x13 port rackmount hubs with devices and dongles.
One iLok inside isn’t really going to help me.

:)

BScout 01-02-2020 01:53 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
We put the dongles on the inside usb port (the internal usb port is nothing new to PCs in the workstation and server class) for a few reasons: harder to steal, less likely to be moved (accidentally or on purpose), and less likely to get physically broken.

Used to be if Pro Tools lost communication with the iLok with it's main license, it would just shut down (no "do you want to save.") If a usb hub lost power, an assistant moving rack gear in the machine room brushed up against a front or rear plugged in iLok (on the 5,1) and bent/broke the iLok, or someone grabbed the wrong key thinking it was a floater (like when the Waves Mercury HD used to be on floater iloks), you could lose everything.

We currently have a lot 1U rackmount high density VE Pros that have their elicenser key plugged internally for those reasons. It makes it very clean to move systems around or replace them.

So even if you have a lot of USB hub devices, having the main, critical ilok tucked away safely inside can be handy.

basehead617 01-03-2020 07:19 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Didn't realize until looking it up today that the new Mac Pro is not officially supported by Pro Tools. So yes, it might work but if you were to have any issues they'd probably just say 'it's not supported yet'.

I've been considering an HDX card - I didn't realize there would be extra power cables needed, let alone an adapter for the Mac Pro. Wonky.

LDS 01-04-2020 03:28 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by basehead617 (Post 2549840)
Didn't realize until looking it up today that the new Mac Pro is not officially supported by Pro Tools. So yes, it might work but if you were to have any issues they'd probably just say 'it's not supported yet'.

I've been considering an HDX card - I didn't realize there would be extra power cables needed, let alone an adapter for the Mac Pro. Wonky.


Wonky? I am really curious to know what you think the extra power cable and adapter actually do! :D

basehead617 01-04-2020 03:37 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LDS (Post 2549873)
Wonky? I am really curious to know what you think the extra power cable and adapter actually do! :D

I just didn't know there was anything like that involved.. not an HDX user. I assumed you just put the card in the slot and it worked.

Michael Carnes 01-04-2020 04:20 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by basehead617 (Post 2549840)
Didn't realize until looking it up today that the new Mac Pro is not officially supported by Pro Tools. So yes, it might work but if you were to have any issues they'd probably just say 'it's not supported yet'.

That could be because the Mac Pro only runs Catalina and the graphics support is still incomplete in PT 19.12. That would be a stopper for many people for a while longer. But I'm audio only and it's been behaving for me.

lucienpalmer 01-04-2020 09:38 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by basehead617 (Post 2549874)
I just didn't know there was anything like that involved.. not an HDX user. I assumed you just put the card in the slot and it worked.



The same is true for many other PCIe cards. Needing additional power is very common for graphics cards.

Nothing wonky at all about it. This is pretty normal. All desktop and server computers are designed to provide additional power for drives, cards, and other hardware you add.

basehead617 01-04-2020 01:26 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lucienpalmer (Post 2549902)
The same is true for many other PCIe cards. Needing additional power is very common for graphics cards.

Nothing wonky at all about it. This is pretty normal. All desktop and server computers are designed to provide additional power for drives, cards, and other hardware you add.

Okay but for example, a UAD-2 card you just seat it and it works.

Then there is this additional power connector adapter needed, iím just surprised. Iím wondering how many HDX users will buy a Mac Pro and then be caught off guard that the cards canít be installed without buying the adapters.

JFreak 01-04-2020 01:34 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by basehead617 (Post 2549926)
Okay but for example, a UAD-2 card you just seat it and it works.

Then there is this additional power connector adapter needed, i’m just surprised. I’m wondering how many HDX users will buy a Mac Pro and then be caught off guard that the cards can’t be installed without buying the adapters.

Zero. HDX card comes with power cable for both Mac and PC. If the new MP has different connector HDX box will likely have that too once it is supported.

LDS 01-04-2020 03:41 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by basehead617 (Post 2549926)
Okay but for example, a UAD-2 card you just seat it and it works.

Then there is this additional power connector adapter needed, i’m just surprised. I’m wondering how many HDX users will buy a Mac Pro and then be caught off guard that the cards can’t be installed without buying the adapters.


Frankly, the lack of an additional PCIe power cable for UAD-2 cards is what makes it a particularly mediocre platform. I can run something like a 1000 instances of bx EQ V3 natively on my 2018 6-core MacBook Pro. My HDX card does around 140 instances plus the mix engine. A UAD Octo card does just 88. At the equivalent of a UAD-2 fourteen card, I think even HDX cards are underpowered in 2019. UAD is... well... pretty pathetic.

Spending the extra 20 seconds it takes to plug in the supplied jumper cable during installation is a very small price to pay for a DSP system that is almost twice as powerful as UAD... But really, both Avid and UA should be making far more use of the available PCIe auxiliary power by releasing UAD-2 twenty and HDX MKII that offer far more DSP processing per PCIe card. They are both outdated platforms, but UAD in particular takes the cake.

basehead617 01-04-2020 04:23 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LDS (Post 2549942)
Spending the extra 20 seconds it takes to plug in the supplied jumper cable during installation is a very small price to pay for a DSP system that is almost twice as powerful as UAD... But really, both Avid and UA should be making far more use of the available PCIe auxiliary power by releasing UAD-2 twenty and HDX MKII that offer far more DSP processing per PCIe card. They are both outdated platforms, but UAD in particular takes the cake.

It seems UAD Is focusing more on the Apollo series now - I think Apollo X has double the dsp power of the previous generation. But I think that was vs a Quad, which would be equivalent to the Octo. The current plugin models are also much more hungry than the old ones, and the DSP does fill up quick without multiple devices. To them maybe it seems like that's a good reason to buy another device to chain in, more i/o and more dsp!

Anyway getting off-topic now - I didn't mean to string this out. HDX is not supported by Mac Pro officially thus why it requires purchasing an additional adapter, and it just struck me as annoying. I'm sure they will eventually supply it as someone said. Not annoying enough to make me not purchase it or that it's something to even consider, just an offhand comment.

lucienpalmer 01-04-2020 04:28 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jesele (Post 2549553)
did you need an adapter for the power cable?

Like the Belkin kit 6->8 pins. (One would think Avid will make new cables so that no adapter is needed eventually. 2023 :D)


Iím a little confused as to why people are buying this Belkin power adapter kit. The 7,1 MacPro documentation says it has one 6-pin and four 8-pin internal connectors. An HDX card come with a 6-pin connector cable, so it shouldnít need an adapter. Unless the 6-pin is being used by the graphics card already?

LDS 01-04-2020 05:52 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lucienpalmer (Post 2549947)
Iím a little confused as to why people are buying this Belkin power adapter kit. The 7,1 MacPro documentation says it has one 6-pin and four 8-pin internal connectors. An HDX card come with a 6-pin connector cable, so it shouldnít need an adapter. Unless the 6-pin is being used by the graphics card already?


Good point! Thougn having used my HDX card in an expansion chassis for however many years, I have no idea where the original mini-PCIe power cable is. I probably tossed it out with the box for the HDX card.

lucienpalmer 01-04-2020 07:31 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LDS (Post 2549958)
Good point! Thougn having used my HDX card in an expansion chassis for however many years, I have no idea where the original mini-PCIe power cable is. I probably tossed it out with the box for the HDX card.



Got it.

Well, it would also be super helpful if anyone with a 7,1 MacPro would take the 6-pin cable that come with the HDX card and try plugging it into the 8-pin on the motherboard. Sometimes itís compatible. Each pin has a different shape plastic peg surrounding it, and if it fits, it works. It only draws the power it needs from those pins.

Marsdy 01-05-2020 01:16 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by LDS (Post 2549958)
Good point! Thougn having used my HDX card in an expansion chassis for however many years, I have no idea where the original mini-PCIe power cable is. I probably tossed it out with the box for the HDX card.

It might be in the expansion chassis! The Xmac Pro Server which I think is the same as the Echo Express III needed one and the Sonnet eGFX chassis needs a different one. Both came in my HDX box but there’s only one included with more recent HDX cards according to Scrub/HHB.

WorldStudios 01-09-2020 06:19 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
The 6 and 8 pin connectors in the new Mac Pro look the same, but are in fact a bit smaller in size, so you need an adapter. Or a new cable from Avid. They must be making them as we speak... However, the Belkin set won't work for me, because I have a male black 6 pin connector on my HDX power cable - or a 4 tin molex one meant for PCs. I am looking for a solution. I used to use SATA, but they are gone now as well. There is eSATA, but I am not sure it provides 12v power. There is very little info about the ports inside the computer...

Peterjk 01-09-2020 08:20 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Studio Dweller (Post 2549575)
I bought the Belkin set of adapter cables directly from Apple and itís the one labeled ďCable set 3, PCIe Aux Power Cable 6-pin to 6-pinĒ.

As I understand it. The HDX cards uses a 4-pin connector for power. The Belkin set does not have that adaptor, so one would need another adaptor as well. Like this one:

https://www.adorama.com/snttcbhdx.html?discontinued=t

Am I correct?

Kind Regards


Peter

WorldStudios 01-09-2020 01:21 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
I have a similar cable, but with 3 connections for Avid cards. I donít think the Belkin set works because they all seem to be male connectors.

Studio Dweller 01-09-2020 07:36 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Peterjk (Post 2550412)
As I understand it. The HDX cards uses a 4-pin connector for power. The Belkin set does not have that adaptor, so one would need another adaptor as well. Like this one:

https://www.adorama.com/snttcbhdx.html?discontinued=t

Am I correct?

Kind Regards


Peter

The Belkin adapter that I mentioned works for me in the new Mac Pro with a recently purchased HDX card. I'll try to take some detailed pics and post asap.

Studio Dweller 01-09-2020 08:03 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
I stand corrected. I was going on info from another Pro Tools user who received their new Mac Pro before me who told me that the adapter cables were necessary. After taking some pics of the connections and cables, I pulled out the box from the HDX card and realized that the other power cable included with the HDX card indeed fits the connection on the motherboard. I just installed that cable, fired up Pro Tools and it's working fine. No adapter required. Sorry for the misinformation and thanks for prompting me to look into this. Going to return this $70 set of adapter cables.

WorldStudios 01-09-2020 10:22 PM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
What?? That is promising but also confusing news. I tried briefly yesterday but found that the 6 pin connector was smaller on the motherboard. Where did you manage to hook it up? Pics, please - if possible :)

uptheoctave 01-10-2020 12:35 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
This is the best I can do for now as I am travelling, in terms of getting photos of the cables to the card:

https://i.imgur.com/KHjf275.png

The yellow cable with the 3 black ends is a multi-power cable for up to 3 HDX cards.
This came with my HDX card from AVID and has a 6 pin female connector.
I also have another cable for PC's with that card but I am not using that for this computer.

The Belkin cable kit has a 6 pin to 6 pin cable, as well as a bunch of other cables which are also unused.
All you have to do is plug the Belkin cable into the Avid cable, the other end of the Belkin cable to the logic board.
Then connect one of the 3 card connectors to the HDX card.
That's it.

WorldStudios 01-10-2020 05:16 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
That is the same cable and solution as in the article on Pro Tools Expert from yesterday - but, I don't have that cable. The one I got with my HDX cards was meant for plugging it straight into the chassis of a Mac Pro and is a 6 pole black MALE connector. Useless with the Belkin kit. Did you who have the white female connector use it in an expansion chassis, perhaps?

WorldStudios 01-10-2020 05:18 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
http://duc.avid.com/attachment.php?a...9&d=1578603049

My cable exactly

WorldStudios 01-10-2020 06:07 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
1 Attachment(s)
God is great! The cable I have, that worked in the MacPro 2012 does indeed work in the 2019 grater as well! It was just a very tight fit, so I assumed I needed an adapter cable (since those who had it working needed the Belkin kit). They must have had cables made for other systems, like expansion chassies.

It just works!

Studio Dweller 01-10-2020 07:34 AM

Re: New Mac Pro (7.1)
 
4 Attachment(s)
The label on the Avid supplied cable that I'm using says "9180-60004-00 REV .A". Here are some detailed pics.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:06 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com