Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Windows (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=93)
-   -   ProTools LE 8.0.5 - DAE can't get audio froms drives Error 9073 w/ MBox 3 Pro HELP! (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=352894)

Stratoblaster 03-28-2014 07:23 PM

ProTools LE 8.0.5 - DAE can't get audio froms drives Error 9073 w/ MBox 3 Pro HELP!
 
I have been using Pro Tools 8.5 LE without any trouble for 3 years on my current system. I am now getting the famous "DAE can't get audio from the drive(s) fast enough..." 9073 error 3/4 of the way through a song. It does not matter if I am recording or just playing the track I get the error. This just started about a week or so ago. I usually don't use any more than 8 tracks and aren't running a ton of plugins.

I am using an i7 PC with Windows 7 with a MBox 3 Pro with FireWire. I record audio onto a separate internal 1 TB drive. I have done all of the suggested optimizations, and have updated my FireWire cards to "Legacy" and then default, and still get the error.

I have also reformatted my internal audio drive and moved all of my sessions of the disk back on the HDD and still get the error. I can not for the life of me figure out what changed or why I am getting this error. I have pasted my Sandra report below. Please let me know if anyone can help!


SiSoftware Sandra

Computer
Model : Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Workgroup : I Wish ProTools would work!
Host Name : *********
User : Angry ProTools User

Processor
Model : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 950 @ 3.07GHz
Speed : 3GHz
Cores per Processor : 4 Unit(s)
Threads per Core : 2 Unit(s)
Type : Quad-Core
Integrated Data Cache : 4x 32kB, Synchronous, Write-Thru, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L2 On-board Cache : 4x 256kB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 8-way, 64 byte line size, 2 threads sharing
L3 On-board Cache : 8MB, ECC, Synchronous, ATC, 16-way, Exclusive, 64 byte line size, 16 threads sharing

Computer
Mainboard : Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
BIOS : Award (Phoenix) FF 02/18/2011
Bus(es) : X-Bus PCI PCIe IMB USB FireWire/1394 i2c/SMBus
Multi-Processor (MP) Support : No
Multi-Processor Advanced PIC (APIC) : Yes
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte X58 I/O Hub
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz)

Chipset
Model : Giga-Byte Core Desktop (Bloomfield) UnCore
Front Side Bus Speed : 2x 2.4GHz (4.79GHz)
Total Memory : 6GB DIMM DDR3
Channels : 3
Memory Bus Speed : 2x 532MHz (1GHz)

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Super Talent SUPERTALENT02 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)
Memory Module : Super Talent SUPERTALENT02 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)
Memory Module : Super Talent SUPERTALENT02 2GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (11-11-11-29 5-40-13-6)

Video System
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce 210 (16 SM4.1 1.1GHz, 1GB DDR2 128-bit, PCIe 2.00 x16)

Graphics Processor
OpenCL Processor : NVIDIA GeForce 210 (24SP 3C 1.1GHz, 1GB DDR2 128-bit)
Compute Shader Processor : NVIDIA GeForce 210 (16SP 1.1GHz, 1GB DDR2 128-bit)
CUDA Processor : NVIDIA GeForce 210 (24SP 3C 1.1GHz, 1GB DDR2 128-bit)

Storage Devices
Seagate ST3500418AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache) : 466GB (C:)
Seagate ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (E:)
PLEXTOR DVDR PX-891SA (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache) : 7GB (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
OS (C:) : 444GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST3500418AS (500.1GB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm, 16MB Cache)
Audio (E:) : 932GB (NTFS) @ Seagate ST31000528AS (1TB, SATA300, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Pro Tools LE (D:) : 7GB (CDFS) @ PLEXTOR DVDR PX-891SA (SATA150, DVD+-RW, CD-RW, 2MB Cache)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller 1 : Giga-Byte LPC Interface Controller
LPC Legacy Controller 1 : ITE IT8720F
Audio Device : Giga-Byte HD Audio Controller
Audio Device : ZOTAC International (MCO) High Definition Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia 000Ah
Audio Codec : nVidia 000Ah
Audio Codec : nVidia 000Ah
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte ICH8R (ICH8) SATA RAID Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte 88SE9128 SATA-600 Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
Disk Controller : Giga-Byte JMB36X PCIE-to-SATAII/IDE RAID Controller
USB Controller 1 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #4
USB Controller 2 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #5
USB Controller 3 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #6
USB Controller 4 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 5 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #1
USB Controller 6 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #2
USB Controller 7 : Giga-Byte USB UHCI Controller #3
USB Controller 8 : Giga-Byte USB EHCI Controller #1
FireWire/1394 Controller 1 : Avlab Technology TSB43AB23 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/link-layer Controller
FireWire/1394 Controller 2 : TI TSB43AB23 1394a-2000 OHCI PHY/link-layer Controller
SMBus/i2c Controller 1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Printers and Faxes
Printer : Microsoft XPS Document Writer (600x600, Colour)
Printer : Lexmark Pro700 Series (4800x4800, USB, Colour, Full Duplex)
Printer : Lexmark Pro700 Series (4800x4800, Colour, Full Duplex)
Fax : Microsoft Shared Fax Driver (200x200)

Network Services
Network Adapter : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller (Ethernet, 100Mbps)

Power Management
Mains (AC) Line Status : On-Line

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.01.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

Windows Experience Index
Current System : 5.0

albee1952 03-29-2014 06:34 PM

Re: ProTools LE 8.0.5 - DAE can't get audio froms drives Error 9073 w/ MBox 3 Pro HEL
 
Personally, I would buy a new WD Caviar Black drive and swap it for(or add it to) the Seagate. 2 reasons here. 1-maybe(and its a big maybe) the Seagate is on the way out(which can happen with any drive at any time, no matter how new), and 2-you should have a backup anyway. Back to the FW driver, for me, the Legacy driver never worked(but I run a DIGI003). The TI Compliant driver is my choice(and worth a try).

Grasping at straws a bit, but I might also try a new FW cable(having had 1 fail for no apparent reason). Any recent software installed? New plugins? What happens if you open a session while holding down the SHIFT key(which will make all plugins inactive). If THAT allows the session to work okay, then you likely have a rogue plugin.

Stratoblaster 03-29-2014 10:30 PM

Re: ProTools LE 8.0.5 - DAE can't get audio froms drives Error 9073 w/ MBox 3 Pro HEL
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by albee1952 (Post 2144955)
Personally, I would buy a new WD Caviar Black drive and swap it for(or add it to) the Seagate. 2 reasons here. 1-maybe(and its a big maybe) the Seagate is on the way out(which can happen with any drive at any time, no matter how new), and 2-you should have a backup anyway. Back to the FW driver, for me, the Legacy driver never worked(but I run a DIGI003). The TI Compliant driver is my choice(and worth a try).

Grasping at straws a bit, but I might also try a new FW cable(having had 1 fail for no apparent reason). Any recent software installed? New plugins? What happens if you open a session while holding down the SHIFT key(which will make all plugins inactive). If THAT allows the session to work okay, then you likely have a rogue plugin.


I do have external backup drives. I am going to try creating a new session on a backup drive, and if that works without error, I will try moving one of my sessions to the same drive and see if it still gives me the same error. I did read that the Seagate drive I have (1 TB Audio) does have a pretty high failure rate. If it is HDD related, a new drive is pretty cheap.

I did try switching the drivers to the compliant but still got the errors. I think my next step will be a new FW cable. I will also try the holding SHIFT upon opening a session too. I have a feeling my drive could be going, there are no other signs of it failing, but with HDD's you just never know. I do thank you for your suggestions and taking the time to reply, and will try the things you mentioned.

One more thing, should this be HDD related, is the WD Caviar Black better drive than the Seagate I am using? I just want to get the most reliable drive other than Solid State.

albee1952 03-30-2014 09:23 AM

Re: ProTools LE 8.0.5 - DAE can't get audio froms drives Error 9073 w/ MBox 3 Pro HEL
 
AFAIK, the WD Blacks are built like tanks(pick on up in one hand, and a WD BLUE in the other hand). Having said that, my 2 Seagate drives are still going strong after several years(rotating them as system drives). From what I can gather, the Black is as good a spinner as there is on the market:o


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:18 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com