Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   MBox2 mini and MacBook no go (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=226388)

Fidelis 08-10-2008 09:47 AM

MBox2 mini and MacBook no go
 
Long time Protools user mainly on TDM plataform. I have my 4th system now, first was an Audiomedia then Protools 3 TDM , then Protools Mix3 and now HD3 Accel. I NEVER had a problem with Protools installers, software or hardware.

Last week, I decided to by an PT Le system so I could edit my sessions when out of town (I'm on a big tour this year) on my MacBook. So I bought a MBox2 mini.

First, installing the software (PT 7.4.2) took me more then 6 hours. The installer didn't install the plugins and gave me an error. "could not write on "/"..." and quit. Tried every sugestion like install only application, and then after reboot just plugins and then just bombfactory, but nothing worked. So I downloaded the installer again thinking it should be corrupted but the same problem persisted. Then I did a repair permissions. Nothing. Then I decided to upgrade my OSX from 10.5.3 to 10.5.4. Nothing changed.

The only way to install it was using Pacifist. It also gave me some errors but I did manage to install everything! WOW Digi, what's going on here? It should be so simple!

But that's just the first part. Now the big problem. Protools doesn't find the hardware. The Mbox just doesn't light up. So I thought it could be broken. But when I plug it in my friend's PowerBook G4 it works! And it also works on a Mac mini I just have here. What a hell? Tried diferent USB cable, changed USB port, and nothing!

Just so you know I have everything right. MacBook last generation, OSX 10.5.4, 2.5 GB RAM. And I tested my USB ports with mouse, pen drive, USB extrenal drive, and both of them are working ok!

Any help apprecciated. Or I'll just have to return it... :mad:

The Dougfather 08-10-2008 12:58 PM

Do you have more than one user account on your macbook?

Aslo, you need to be aware that Mbox's require specific USB ports to function correctly on a Macbook, You'll need to check the support pages to confirm this for your machine. You should however, still be able to boot, using the wrong port creates sporadic errors.

Fidelis 08-10-2008 06:22 PM

Oh, I don't have more than one account but I also tried to create another account to make it work there but still a no go.

As far as USB ports, i tried on both of them and it doesn't even lights up... no boot, nothing.

But thanks anyway. Anyone else? Digi?

DigiTechSupt 08-11-2008 09:46 AM

Typically, if the workaround with installing each component individually doesn't work, it means there is an OS issue and you should reinstall the OS. This should take less than an hour - typically 15-20 minutes if you use the Archive and Install option. Then reinstall Pro Tools.

Fidelis 08-11-2008 10:36 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DigiTechSupt (Post 1271992)
Typically, if the workaround with installing each component individually doesn't work, it means there is an OS issue and you should reinstall the OS. This should take less than an hour - typically 15-20 minutes if you use the Archive and Install option. Then reinstall Pro Tools.

Hi Digi,

Thanks for the info but, maybe you didn't read it thru the end. I did install the Protols software. The problem now is that it can't find the hardware. Mbox doesn't boot! No light, nothing! Doesn't seem like a software problem.

Any ideias?

farhadkd 08-11-2008 10:45 AM

Well.... ,
 
Reflect, Repent, Reload, re-install, reboot.......order shall return!!!! :-)

Oh, and use the USB port nearer to the MagSafe adapter on a MacBook or MacBookPro. Should be fine....

Cheers,

Farhad

Awesome 08-11-2008 01:55 PM

Same here Fidelis
 
I just bought a new Macbook and I bought
an Mbox Mini today.

Been using ProTools for a long time and this is the first time that everything
has gone wrong.

What you wrote about the software not installing with the "/" error and
the Mbox Mini USB light not going on all happened to me exactly the same.

I'm not sure what the software "Pacifist" is but I don't think this is very pro.
I hope this problem gets remedied immediately or I will have to take this back!

Incredible.
I just bought this not an hour ago and I'm already on the Support Forum!

Please Help Digi.

Thanks.

Fidelis 08-12-2008 10:38 AM

Did some more testing today. Booting from an external drive with Tiger and Protools 7.4 everything works great, so my USB ports are working right.

I'll try to reisntall OSX...

it's the only way to go now :(

DigiTechSupt 08-12-2008 11:22 AM

I'd like to have you try something.

Go to MacHD>Library>Application Support and trash the Digidesign folder, empty the trash, restart and try the installer again.

Let me know if that works.

DigiTechSupt 08-12-2008 11:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fidelis (Post 1272011)
Hi Digi,

Thanks for the info but, maybe you didn't read it thru the end. I did install the Protols software. The problem now is that it can't find the hardware. Mbox doesn't boot! No light, nothing! Doesn't seem like a software problem.

Any ideias?

In this case I think using Pacifist did not install the drivers correctly, which is why it won't find the hardware.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:07 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com