Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Eleven Rack (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Need advice on using Eleven Rack with tube power amp plus a 4-12 cab (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=308581)

mick828 10-03-2011 09:18 PM

Need advice on using Eleven Rack with tube power amp plus a 4-12 cab

I would like to talk to anyone who is running their Eleven Rack with a power amp and 4-12 cabinet. I am curious where people are running the volume on the power amp and what output levels they are using on there rigs. I play in a band that is doing stuff like Tool, God Smack, Alice In Chains. Just to give you an idea of what kinds sounds I am going for. Thanks.

adamqlw 10-03-2011 09:41 PM

Re: Need advice on using Eleven Rack with tube power amp plus a 4-12 cab

I have no experience with this myself, but based on prior modeller + poweramp and theory in general:

1) Defintely have cab sims off

2) There is no seperate poweramp block on the 11R, and you can't bypass the modelled poweramp. You might want to be really careful when setting the master volume knob on the amps as a consequence, so the modelled poweramp plays a smaller part in the tone that's coming out.

3) In general I understand it is best to have as strong an output going into the poweramp as possible (while avoiding clipping at all stages), as this will result in a better signal-to-noise ratio. Your poweramp is going to boost your line level signal to drive the speakers, so any noise inherent in the signal is going to be amplified as well.

my 2 cents after the caveat that I haven't done this with the 11R specifically, and now in awhile in general. Although technically, everytime I go into my K10, my 11R is going into a poweramp :)

mick828 10-03-2011 10:11 PM