Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   C25 ethernet noise? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=57262)

patman 04-16-2001 05:50 PM

C25 ethernet noise?
 
Anybody getting noise using -10 devices or keyboards thru the focusrite inputs?when I use keyboards thru my line in mic pre's I can hear all the automation's movement ticking thru the speakers. Help?

fdc 04-16-2001 11:54 PM

Re: C25 ethernet noise?
 
Same problem... Just hooked the C24 up today. Tested it and noticed clicking sounds that increase in frequency when moving the faders while listening to mic/line inputs. Didn't get very far isolating problem. I'll post again if I'm able to find a solution. Help!!!!

jang kyung won 04-17-2001 08:20 PM

Re: C25 ethernet noise?
 
Have you tried combine 'cold'and 'shield' of line output connector(Keyboard)?
Tell me the results.
Thanks.

midilandiaMex 04-19-2001 09:45 AM

Re: C25 ethernet noise?
 
On several cases in which noise has been detected when ethernet activity
(faders, VUmeters, etc) the solution has been to double check grounds on every
connector. This includes the amplifier audio cables, and speaker cables. If this
connection is not balanced, then the "-" has to be grounded.

On other cases, when the power amplifiers and the Control 24 are plugged into
different power outlets, this will result in a constant hum or buzz.
Disconnecting the ground pin at one end of the audio cable feeding each power
amp should break the loop.

Similarly, if you are connecting a syntheziser or a guitar on the "DI" input
with a mono cable, make sure you are using an unbalanced mono cable. If you use
a balanced stereo plug or "TRS" then the "-" pin will float and will pick up
noise.

Hope this helps you solve instalation problems. If problems persist find your
local shaman for the "Mother Earth Dance"

Mike
down in Mexico city

fdc 05-07-2001 10:03 PM

Re: C25 ethernet noise?
 
This is what the Digidesign tech support guys had to say, via email:

This problem can been traced to a possible ground loop through the Ethernet connector board. Luckily, there is an easy fix which may solve this problem.
Here's what you need to do:
-Remove the 2 jack screws on the 9 pin D connector next to the Ethernet jack (I think it's labeled "I/O").
-Remove the metal shell from the connector on the Ethernet cable that plugs into the C24 (It peels off pretty easily)

-OR-

-Simply purchase an unshielded Ethernet crossover cable from your local computer store (this is different from a standard RJ45 cable).


Best regards,
Digidesign Technical Support

I'll let y'all know if it works!



3james 05-09-2001 01:22 AM

Re: C25 ethernet noise?
 
did it work???????? hmmm?????

Frafa 05-09-2001 01:43 AM

Re: C25 ethernet noise?
 
yes it works.

patman 05-09-2001 09:25 AM

Re: C25 ethernet noise?
 
Yes It Works great!

fdc 05-10-2001 12:49 AM

Re: C25 ethernet noise?
 
Which did you do? Remove screws, or remove the metal casing from the ethernet cable?



patman 05-10-2001 08:26 AM

Re: C25 ethernet noise?
 
Removing the screws was all it took to solve the ethernet ground loop.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:23 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com