Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Post - Surround - Video (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Video Sync Offset setting (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=412089)

Reckless Erik 10-01-2020 07:31 AM

Video Sync Offset setting
 
Recently changed to a new projector that has a large amount of delay (approx 160ms) and for the first time notice that the video window that PT opens on the desktop has the same delay. Has this always been the case?

quadraphonics 10-01-2020 08:27 AM

Re: Video Sync Offset setting
 
If you are using the PT 'Video Sync Offset' it changes all video playback sync - desktop and video card.

Randall


Quote:

Originally Posted by Reckless Erik (Post 2579237)
Recently changed to a new projector that has a large amount of delay (approx 160ms) and for the first time notice that the video window that PT opens on the desktop has the same delay. Has this always been the case?


Reckless Erik 10-01-2020 10:15 AM

Re: Video Sync Offset setting
 
Argh is all I have to say to that! Thank you Randall

Ryan Young 10-01-2020 04:37 PM

Re: Video Sync Offset setting
 
Yeah, would be real great to have a system offset (if viewing the video window on a computer) and a secondary offset for hardware like a Blackmagic device. Anything beyond that are mirroring sync issues.

originalscottyg 10-01-2020 06:49 PM

Re: Video Sync Offset setting
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ryan Young (Post 2579285)
Yeah, would be real great to have a system offset (if viewing the video window on a computer) and a secondary offset for hardware like a Blackmagic device. Anything beyond that are mirroring sync issues.

Or even better a preset system, like markers or window configurations, to load different preset offsets for different codecs and video output methods/devices.

Not holding my breath on that one, though :rolleyes:

kosmokrator 10-12-2020 01:39 AM

Re: Video Sync Offset setting
 
that's a great idea!
+10!

Brandonx1 10-13-2020 08:05 AM

Re: Video Sync Offset setting
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by originalscottyg (Post 2579295)
Or even better a preset system, like markers or window configurations, to load different preset offsets for different codecs and video output methods/devices.

Not holding my breath on that one, though :rolleyes:

To Expand on this, PT could have an offset with the video window is closed and when it's open. So the video window is open, offset = 0. If it's closed offset is whatever the hardware offset is.

Reckless Erik 10-13-2020 12:40 PM

Re: Video Sync Offset setting
 
Quote:

To Expand on this, PT could have an offset with the video window is closed and when it's open. So the video window is open, offset = 0. If it's closed offset is whatever the hardware offset is.
That's a very good idea Brandon. Big like


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:42 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com