Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Post - Surround - Video (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Avid S1 & S4 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=405672)

Marsdy 07-18-2019 03:13 PM

Re: Avid S1 & S4
 
I’m sure Avid has done its market research and produced something leasing companies will happily fund. That said, I can’t help thinking the S4 should have been something entirely different. Something that people would actually buy in the £10/15K range that also serves as a replacement for the sadly missed C24.

As for the S1. Why isn’t it also an S3 fader expander? Duh!

reichman 07-18-2019 04:22 PM

Re: Avid S1 & S4
 
Strictly from a price/power ratio, I'm very happy with S3/Dock in my personal studio. When I work at bigger studios with bigger hardware, it's great, but not always necessary.

Darryl Ramm 07-18-2019 05:33 PM

Re: Avid S1 & S4
 
Can I use two S1 together?

smurfyou 07-18-2019 05:41 PM

Re: Avid S1 & S4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jamie Mac (Post 2533098)
How on earth can a “budget s6” cost more than a s6 m10-8-5?

For the cheaper s3 style faders 10-15k would have been a more sensible starting point.

Honest question how do you know what faders they're using? Are you at the show? I think the S6 faders are the best Digi/Avid have ever had, it'd be a shame to cut corners there.

smurfyou 07-18-2019 05:42 PM

Re: Avid S1 & S4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Darryl Ramm (Post 2533126)
Can I use two S1 together?

Yes. PTE states up to 4 + a Dock.

Darryl Ramm 07-18-2019 06:57 PM

Re: Avid S1 & S4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by smurfyou (Post 2533128)
Yes. PTE states up to 4 + a Dock.

Thanks Will. Yipee.

reichman 07-18-2019 07:01 PM

Re: Avid S1 & S4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by smurfyou (Post 2533127)
Honest question how do you know what faders they're using? Are you at the show? I think the S6 faders are the best Digi/Avid have ever had, it'd be a shame to cut corners there.

https://www.avid.com/products/avid-s4/compare-s4-and-s6

BScout 07-18-2019 07:16 PM

Re: Avid S1 & S4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by reichman (Post 2533139)

Even Avid's own comparison sheet is wrong on at least 1 thing. The S6 M10 config (now no longer for sale) now supports display modules with the "+" option (at a $3k price plus display modules)

Couldn't even get their own website right on the day of both being announce.

smurfyou 07-18-2019 08:47 PM

Re: Avid S1 & S4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by reichman (Post 2533139)

Thanks. Not that Alps faders are a bad thing but of all places to cut costs...

I guess I'm not the only one that expected something between S3 and S6, not a reworked cheaper S6.

S1 is a winner if it's not too expensive. But going by the S3 price they'll have it at $3k.

BScout 07-18-2019 08:54 PM

Re: Avid S1 & S4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by smurfyou (Post 2533148)
S1 is a winner if it's not too expensive. But going by the S3 price they'll have it at $3k.

They've said it'll be near the Artist Mix pricing. Which puts the S1 near $1k. Rumour was around $1.3k.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:17 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com