Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   control 24 psu repair for $40! (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=296733)

Dan.TweekStudios 03-12-2011 09:59 PM

control 24 psu repair for $40!
 
Hello duc, I haven't posted too many times, but I've followed the boards for a long time and have gotten a ton of useful info from here. I just wanted to share a bit of info on my last control 24 psu experience. My psu took a dump on me for the first time. So I did what most people would do and contacted my local avid certified repair center. They said they could replace the psu for 500, or repair for 300. I was excited because from what I've seen on here that's a relatively cheap price. So I proceeded to pull the psu out to ship it. When I got it out I noticed a small company logo on the board by the name of "Skynet". I found their website and gave them a call. It turn out that they're the company that built and supplied the psu to digidesign when they built the control 24. And that they will repair any of they're produce, reguardless of make or model for only 40! I couldn't believe what I heard, so I sent it to then instead. Within two days they called me and informed me that they received the psu, repaired it, and shipped it back. I received it in the mail about 4 days later.. I installed it, and it has worked flawlessly ever since. If anyone was wondering, the report said the problem was the capacitor at "c20". From what I hear that's very common. I'm jot sire if this violates the forum rules, but I just wanted to share my experience and maybe help people save a few hundred bucks. You can find their website on google

andrew haller 03-12-2011 11:33 PM

Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!
 
Nice ..thanks for the info

Wayneisthemaster 03-18-2011 12:12 PM

Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!
 
Dan, thanks for some great information! I just mailed off my supply to SkyNet an hour ago, thanks to your post. If it returns and runs properly, I owe you dinner!

Wayne

Dan.TweekStudios 03-20-2011 09:29 AM

Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!
 
Haha no problem! I just wanted to share some good info. When my control 24 broke down the first place I looked for more info was here, and found that it was flooded with people experiencing the exact same problem. There's a ton of threads asking for the best/cheapest repair place for the dreaded PSU, but $40 is unheard of! I felt obligated to spread the word.

steveb48 03-22-2011 07:53 PM

Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!
 
Hi All,

I have a Control 24 that has just started reseting by itself. Tonight it won't even start up. It just sits there with all the LEDs lit. This had a new PS installed in Aug of '07. Of course today I just committed to record my son's HS jazz band. Sigh...

I was thinking of resetting the connectors to see if anything changes and if so use the deoxidizer on them. If not is it likely to be the PS again?

thanks
Steve

BaileyBass 03-23-2011 04:26 PM

Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan.TweekStudios (Post 1768907)
Haha no problem! I just wanted to share some good info. When my control 24 broke down the first place I looked for more info was here, and found that it was flooded with people experiencing the exact same problem. There's a ton of threads asking for the best/cheapest repair place for the dreaded PSU, but $40 is unheard of! I felt obligated to spread the word.

Thanks!! I thought I got off light for 150.00. I wonder if they built this "first edition" "stick out of the back panel" version of the PS? Do you have a contact there that I could reach? SB

Dan.TweekStudios 03-28-2011 03:39 PM

Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!
 
@BaileyBass - I believe their website is http://www.skynetusa.com and chances are if you take a quick look at your PSU, and it has "skynet" written on the of the large components or the board itself, that it was built by them and that they'll repair it.

@steveb48 - Im not so sure thats a PSU problem, at least not the most common one that people report. The most common issue with these PSU's is one of the capacitors going bad. When you try to switch the power on, the machine will just flash the LEDs for a split second and click over and over again. Sometimes its just a few clicks then it will actually power on, this is what happened to me. But it will get progressively worse until the unit just clicks and doesn't power on anymore.

Wayneisthemaster 03-30-2011 01:16 PM

Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!
 
UPDATE - I just received my repaired supply from SkyNet. Installed and working like a charm! Skynet and Dan are now on my Christmas list!

Wayne

Dan.TweekStudios 04-01-2011 09:11 PM

Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!
 
Haha thanks Wayne! I'm glad I could help out! I always get plenty of help from this board, I'm happy to return the favor.

Dan

opacheco 04-05-2011 06:15 AM

Re: control 24 psu repair for $40!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Dan.TweekStudios (Post 1765290)
Hello duc, I haven't posted too many times, but I've followed the boards for a long time and have gotten a ton of useful info from here. I just wanted to share a bit of info on my last control 24 psu experience. My psu took a dump on me for the first time. So I did what most people would do and contacted my local avid certified repair center. They said they could replace the psu for 500, or repair for 300. I was excited because from what I've seen on here that's a relatively cheap price. So I proceeded to pull the psu out to ship it. When I got it out I noticed a small company logo on the board by the name of "Skynet". I found their website and gave them a call. It turn out that they're the company that built and supplied the psu to digidesign when they built the control 24. And that they will repair any of they're produce, reguardless of make or model for only 40! I couldn't believe what I heard, so I sent it to then instead. Within two days they called me and informed me that they received the psu, repaired it, and shipped it back. I received it in the mail about 4 days later.. I installed it, and it has worked flawlessly ever since. If anyone was wondering, the report said the problem was the capacitor at "c20". From what I hear that's very common. I'm jot sire if this violates the forum rules, but I just wanted to share my experience and maybe help people save a few hundred bucks. You can find their website on google

Dan,

Do you remember the c20 capacitor value (microfarads and volts)??
Do you know what voltage supply is connected to this capacitor??....my 48 volts phantom power and the strip line yellow ligth is death in all channels!!...

My psu female connector have damage(the wires come from the toroidal transformer) is black color, like carbon deposit....I changed it and the psu problem is better now but the channel strip ligth and 48 Phantom Voltage is death until!!....

Thanks anticipated for your help.
Opacheco.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:01 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com