Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Digidesign Hardware & Software (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   ptf not working on my system (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=82351)

jaylen 08-30-2003 07:26 AM

ptf not working on my system
 
help!!! i recently recorded a band at my school with pro tools and i came home and tried to import it to ptf, but there everytime i played it i got a hardware buffer error...ive tried to lower it and raise it and nothing seems to improve it...i have an athlon xp 1.2 gig, usb soundblaster extigy, internal soundblaster live, 700 something ram, win me....any suggestions?

Stone Knife 08-31-2003 05:30 AM

Re: ptf not working on my system
 
RAM sizes over 512 MEGS under Win 9x/ME (ME is the most P.O.S. OS Microsoft ever wrote and it's a disater by itself, IMO) have been problematic. I'd reduce the RAM to 512, don't use the USB sound card at all, make sure you have the latest drivers for the PCI card, and confirm you've got DMA enabled on your hard drive- for starters.

Then take a look at your IRQ's to see if the soundcard is on the same IRQ as the Video card. If it is, then move the sound card to a different slot until it is (ideally) by itself or at least not sharing the video card IRQ.

Let us know how you're doing after you do that stuff- :-)


kmshroom 09-01-2003 09:17 AM

Re: ptf not working on my system
 
Quote:

Win 9x/ME (ME is the most P.O.S. OS Microsoft ever wrote and it's a disater by itself, IMO)

yeah, WinME is just the worst it gets.

cherrymetal 09-12-2003 06:09 AM

Re: ptf not working on my system
 
What chipset is your motherboard? Alot of mboards that work with AMD chips are VIA chipset which won't work with PTF....


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:29 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com