Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Help! 99% CPU (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=114303)

Jrusty 08-25-2004 08:34 AM

Help! 99% CPU
 
Hi!

I have a problem with my Audiomedia III setup.

When i play something out of Pro Tools LE 5.3.1 it sounds distorted.
The level meters where ok, so i checked the CPU meter.
When i start Pro Tools LE, the CPU meter is on 0 in Pro tools but when i use the Windows task manager the Pro tools LE process takes up steady 93-99% of the CPU.

I knwo the card isnt damaged cause when i play back what i recorded using a media player, it comes out with no distortion.

When i import an audio file into pro tools, at the preview, the distortion is there, but limited, but when i import it and let it play, its heavily dostorted.

Is it the 99% usage thing?How can i fix that?

I have a:
Windows XP Pro
Athlon CPU at 2.4Ghz
512 MB RAM
ASUS A7V333 "VIA KT333"
Audiomedia III card

Thanks in advance.

crs117 08-25-2004 09:15 AM

Re: Help! 99% CPU
 
100% cpu usage in the task panel is normal for protools 5.3.

I dont know whats going on, but i wanted you to understand that.

Christian

Jrusty 08-25-2004 10:17 AM

Re: Help! 99% CPU
 
Thank you for your reply.

The strange thing is that when i play around with inserts the left channel stops distorting....

tele_player 08-25-2004 10:24 AM

Re: Help! 99% CPU
 
Are you trying to play 24-bit audio? I think the Audiomedia III is a 16 bit interface. Try lowering a master fader so your output fits in 16 bits.

Jrusty 08-25-2004 12:51 PM

Re: Help! 99% CPU
 
No not really.

You can select while starting a new project and i always select 16 bit on that.

I tried the following:

Playing back with lower volume.
Format and install everything from scratch.
Tried out the Hardware/Playback settings.

Its funny cause when i put a dither plugin on the channel thats playing, the left channel stops distorting while the right keeps on distorting.IAfter a system restart, its the opposite, after using a dither plugin, only the left distorts wihle the right sounds right...I tried putting the dither plug on the master fader but its the same left/right thing.

Thank you for your replys and i hope that someone has experienced something like that and can help.

DigiTechSupt 08-25-2004 05:13 PM

Re: Help! 99% CPU
 
Hi,

Has it worked on this system previously? If yes was it with an earlier version of Pro Tools? You may need an AMCC chip update. Check out this information here:

http://www.digidesign.com/compato/xp/tb/am3.cfm

Let us know what version AMCC chip you have.

Thanks,

Digidesign Tech support


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:06 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com