Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Digidesign Hardware & Software (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   192 Crackling on two channels (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=398656)

seanmccoy 04-14-2018 12:52 PM

192 Crackling on two channels
 
Hey all. Using a 192 slaved to an Omni. Recently started getting consistent crackling from input channels 7 & 8 on the 192. Sounds much like a clock problem, but the setup is correct and channels 1-6 are clean. I've never had the box open, and I'm wondering if there separate internal cards for each channel or pair of channels? If so, it could be just a seating issue, or a simple replacement. Hoping to avoid having to ship the whole box out. Any advice from experienced users welcome.

albee1952 04-14-2018 07:25 PM

Re: 192 Crackling on two channels
 
Not sure I would ship the box anywhere, but there are some things worth checking(assuming you have 2 BNC cables completing Loop Sync connections and the 192 has a Digital IO card in slot 3(IIRC, this is required). I would pull the unit out of the rack, pop the top panel and find the multi-pin connector on the Input card. Unplug it and do a thorough inspection of pins and sockets. Maybe hit it with some good contact cleaner and re-connect and test. If that makes no difference, instead of shipping the unit, I would just shop for a deal on another analog input card and replace the fouled card. If that fixes it, great. If that DOES'NT fix it, then you know its not the card, BUT, in that case, stick the old card in slot 4 and see if it works there(which might be worth a try anyway):o

seanmccoy 04-15-2018 07:23 AM

Re: 192 Crackling on two channels
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by albee1952 (Post 2484821)
Not sure I would ship the box anywhere, but there are some things worth checking(assuming you have 2 BNC cables completing Loop Sync connections and the 192 has a Digital IO card in slot 3(IIRC, this is required). I would pull the unit out of the rack, pop the top panel and find the multi-pin connector on the Input card. Unplug it and do a thorough inspection of pins and sockets. Maybe hit it with some good contact cleaner and re-connect and test. If that makes no difference, instead of shipping the unit, I would just shop for a deal on another analog input card and replace the fouled card. If that fixes it, great. If that DOES'NT fix it, then you know its not the card, BUT, in that case, stick the old card in slot 4 and see if it works there(which might be worth a try anyway):o

Excellent, thanks, I'll give it a look. I think I still have an ancient can of Cramolin sitting around here somewhere...

danyull 09-24-2018 02:10 PM

Re: 192 Crackling on two channels
 
Any luck fixing this? I have the same issue.

seanmccoy 09-24-2018 02:46 PM

Re: 192 Crackling on two channels
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by danyull (Post 2500778)
Any luck fixing this? I have the same issue.

Sorry, I confess I never followed up on it. It's so rare that I need more than the four channels on my Omni that I haven't gotten around to it. I do use the 192 as an input for my talkback channel, but I just moved that over to 5 and moved on.

jyt 11-04-2018 03:09 PM

Re: 192 Crackling on two channels
 
Hi, I have pretty much the same problem here, just bought a 192 unit of ebay with 8 a/d and 8 d/s and digital in/out, have test all the a/d and get crackling (like statics noise) on channel 1 and 2, the other 6 are perfect, i will try to dismantle the whole thing and give it a clean up, perhaps that will do the trick and i will let you know what i found. I will also try to card on slot 4 which is the slot below the digital in/out slot, right?

seanmccoy 11-08-2018 06:08 PM

Re: 192 Crackling on two channels
 
Well, my problem seems to be spreading. Channels 7 & 8 are extremely crackly, and now channels 5 & 6 are starting to crackle. Kinda like the unit has gangrene. :( Channels 1-4 are still clean, but I'm thinking now I better get this dealt with before the whole thing takes a dive. Weird stuff.

seanmccoy 11-17-2018 02:08 PM

Re: 192 Crackling on two channels
 
I spoke with Thermal Relief about repairing the 192, and they said they could do it but that the cost would be more than just buying another used unit. They also said replacing the malfunctioning analog input cards is such a cinch that I should do it myself, and that the cards are readily available on Ebay. I'm game for that, but I'm finding zero cards available on Ebay or anywhere else. Anybody aware of a source for old Digidesign components?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:25 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com