Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 11 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=115)
-   -   How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools systems? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=388755)

Michaelnacho 02-09-2017 09:32 AM

How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools systems?
 
How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools system?

Wizzoboy 02-09-2017 02:35 PM

Re: How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools systems?
 
More information such as what version to what version would help. I have opened PT8 sessions in 12 with no problem. Just be aware that PT11 and up use AAX plug-ins, so any RTAS plug-ins in your older sessions will not work.

Michaelnacho 02-09-2017 02:58 PM

Re: How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools systems?
 
I am currently using ProTools 11.3 and I recorded the old session on a ProTools 10. I have been trying to open up that session for so long now, but every time I do so, it would say that
"The document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Pro Tools."

Help me to please open up this old session that I recorded on ProTools 10. I want it to open up on my new version, which is ProTools 11.3.

Michaelnacho 02-09-2017 02:59 PM

Re: How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools systems?
 
I am currently using ProTools 11.3 and I recorded the old session on a ProTools 10. I have been trying to open up that session for so long now, but every time I do so, it would say that
"The document could not be opened because it was created with an older version of Pro Tools."

Help me to please open up this old session that I recorded on ProTools 10. I want it to open up on my new version, which is ProTools 11.3.

Wizzoboy 02-10-2017 04:24 AM

Re: How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools systems?
 
Are you trying to open the session and PT by clicking on the session icon, or from the open session command under the file drop down menu in PT? Also check that there are no illegal characters in the session name such as / & ) etc. Illegal characters will stop the session from opening.

albee1952 02-10-2017 08:24 AM

Re: How do I open older Pro Tools Sessions on newer Pro Tools systems?
 
One other trick that may help; hold down the SHIFT key while opening an old session. That will make all plugins inactive. If it opens that way, you just need to figure out which plugin is causing the problem(and I HOPE that's all it is). PT10 and up all use the same session file format so it is SUPPOSED to work:o


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:04 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com