Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools M-Powered (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=28)
-   -   Help? sudden error repeats: "access violation occurred" (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=237083)

jojo99 01-19-2009 08:57 PM

Help? sudden error repeats: "access violation occurred"
 
Hello again, I've been using everything inc. PTools Mpowered 7.4cs8 just fine, my system is tip top (and kept that way), and all of a sudden I'm getting the same error over and over upon launching PT 7.4cs

When it stops with the error it's always hanging upon plugin read of "Normalize-Gain Change.dpm" ...(could this be the problem? I believe it's one of the digi plug-ins)

Error pop-up msg is:
Could not complete your request because Access violation occurred".

...only choice is to hit "ok"

I've tried everything in the General Troubleshooting sticky
http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread.php?t=187759

Nothing - same error. All other apps (audio, everything) work fine.

The only thing I did was add 2 more gigs of ram (the exact same ram/brand/timings btw - now making it 4gigs of ram on this system). Nothing else changed with my system.

There's no code with the error, it's just a pop up and PT7.4cs8 sits there, idle (not closing or moving forward).

Any help please? It's strange that only pro tools is the problem right now.
I'm not very happy with this.

Do you think I could try and resolve by re-installing the cs8 update?
or am I looking at a re-install (which probably will show the same error again and again).

What am I looking at here? a complete reinstall?

System: (is fine - tip top)

Win XP pro sp2
AMD athlon X2 4400+ dual core
gigabyte k8ns ultra 939
4 gigs gskill dual-ch mem
2 large ide
1 sony dvd-rw dual layer
3 large sata hd's
2 delta 1010's (rackmounts - not LT vers)

jojo99 01-19-2009 10:38 PM

Re: Help? sudden error repeats: "access violation occurred"
 
Ok, I got it to load at least by disabling the plugins
Normalize-Gain Change.dpm
and
Normalize-Gain Change.dpm.rsr I guess

I'll reinstall these if I find they're compatible with PTools 7.4

jojo99 01-20-2009 01:01 PM

Re: Help? sudden error repeats: "access violation occurred"
 
The free plugins that came with PT..I can't find the info on this site.
Is the problem plugin in the digipack plugins, or bomb factory?

Do I use the PT mpowered 7.3 cd to reinstall all the digi plugins...or is there a new download to 7.4cs8 compatible plugins.

* I bought 7.3 (have all cd's that came with)...with a free upgrade to 7.4 btw (all of which was a download, + the cs8 update).
Not sure which plugins to reinstall, thought I'd ask you guys first.

thanks

jojo99 01-21-2009 09:54 PM

Re: Help? sudden error repeats: "access violation occurred"
 
bump

anyone know which 7.3/7.4 included plugin pkg the problem plugins belong to? is it bomb fac..or ?

or, is there a digi cust support I can contact/email?

thx

DigiTechSupt 01-26-2009 07:48 AM

Re: Help? sudden error repeats: "access violation occurred"
 
You should do an uninstall and reinstall of Pro Tools, which will reinstall those plug-ins.

Either that or find someone with the same version of Pro Tools that can send you the components for the Normalize-Gain Change plug-in.

Normalize-Gain Change is part of the included Digirack plug-ins.

And, for future reference, you can submit support requests using the Tech Support Request Form.

jojo99 01-26-2009 09:20 PM

Re: Help? sudden error repeats: "access violation occurred"
 
Ah, ok...so I can't just reinstall the plug-ins that came with the 7.3 disk (it requires a full reinstallation of everything Ptools 7.4?

...then do the cs8 update?
...then do the plugins updates (for bomb and digirack)?


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:18 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com