Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools | S6 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=120)
-   -   Unwanted behaviour-Most recently clicked (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=405949)

stefanboman 08-14-2019 03:55 AM

Unwanted behaviour-Most recently clicked
 
The "most recently clicked feature" is a great start and has a lot of potential!
I have two expand knob zones, one for EQ and one for most recently clicked...

But I have this issue where if I press for example an amp sim plugin, then the amp plugin flashes by really quickly then it opens the first EQ plugin window instead.
Then you have to click the amp plugin one again to open it. Not ideal.

I still want the EQ window to open up when I select a track but not when i specifically press a different plugin.
Any way to get around that?

creativecontrol 08-14-2019 07:00 AM

Re: Unwanted behaviour-Most recently clicked
 
Greetings,

A few things here...

(1) Does your amp sim plug-in have an EQ section in it and is it recognized as having dedicated EQ parameters? If you repeatedly press EQ on that channel do you get a magenta view for some of the params in that amp sim plug-in?

(2) 19.7 adds the ability to click on a Track Name and have the surface section as defined by the preference Display Knobs From Most Recently Clicked DAW Area fall back to showing the Primary and Backup Functions as set in the Home Page options: for Knobs: 1st Expand Knob Function and Backup Function Selection on Attention Change. Yeah, that's a mouthful. So much for brevity.

Basically if you explicitly click on a Pan, Plug-in or Send then the Clicked DAW prefs tell the surface to populate your module of choice with those functions. If you click on a Track Name, what to show? So, it reverts back to showing what you define in your on attention prefs for each module in the Home page local options.

(3) If your amp sim does have an EQ (or DYN) component then this brings up the initial concern which is the "auto" identification of a dedicated DYN or EQ plug-in. Let me know what you are observing and we can discuss further.


best,


Jeff

stefanboman 08-15-2019 01:40 PM

Re: Unwanted behaviour-Most recently clicked
 
Thanks Jeff,

The amp sim doesnít have an eq section and is not recognized as an eq plug by the console.
And I also noticed that this seems to happen to almost any type of plugin I press.

A scenario.
I have bx ssl channelstrip on all channels so that one pops up on my 1st expand knob module up as itís the first eq no matter what channel Iím working on.
Letís say Iím working on channel 1(kick) eq(BX ssl) then I realize I want to tweak the bass distortion on channel 15, so I click on that amp sim plugin on channel 15.
Then the amp plugin window flashes by for half a second then the BX ssl plugin for channel 15 replaces that window. Even thou I pressed the amp sim.
Not ideal.
I want the BX ssl window to open when I touch a knob on the expand zone module or clicking on that plugin.
But I canít figure out why it opens when Iím clicking on a totally different plugin.

Makes sense? How do I avoid this?

creativecontrol 08-15-2019 02:52 PM

Re: Unwanted behaviour-Most recently clicked
 
Understood. What version of PT and S6?


Jeff



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

stefanboman 08-15-2019 10:57 PM

Re: Unwanted behaviour-Most recently clicked
 
Latest on both. PT 19.6, S6 19.7

creativecontrol 08-16-2019 12:53 PM

Re: Unwanted behaviour-Most recently clicked
 
Thanks. Here's what I would check first...

Home page > Local Options:
Open Windows on Workstation When Knobs Assigned = Off.

Turn this off for now.

Next, from the Settings > User:

Open Windows When Editing Mode:

Choose what types of windows you want to have opened automatically. I would recommend at least doing plug-ins and perhaps Pan here.

Let me know if that addresses the specific odd behavior. I'm presuming your Open Windows on Workstation pref was overriding the thing you clicked on from Pro Tools.



Jeff

stefanboman 08-16-2019 01:40 PM

Re: Unwanted behaviour-Most recently clicked
 
Thanks Jeff!
Iíll try that first thing on Monday.

Now, have a nice weekend!

stefanboman 08-19-2019 04:50 AM

Re: Unwanted behaviour-Most recently clicked
 
Jeff,

turning "Open window on workstation..." did the trick. Thanks!!

But now I have to touch the knobs for the selected window to open up in Pro tools.
Workable, but can this be adressed in a future update?

It was nice before that the(channels trip in my setup)window opened directly upon selection without touching the knobs.

stefanboman 08-21-2019 01:35 PM

Re: Unwanted behaviour-Most recently clicked
 
Jeff,

Is this a ďfeature or a bug?Ē(for lack of a more suitable phrase).
Will this be addressed or is it intentional?

creativecontrol 08-24-2019 04:57 AM

Re: Unwanted behaviour-Most recently clicked
 
Sorry, just getting back from vacation. I think we need to do a series of tips on workflow strategies for managing the various preferences. We fully realize these can be rather daunting for many users. Iíll kick this off on Monday.


Jeff



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:17 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com