Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Virtual Instruments (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   AIR Patchbay (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=250122)

RussUK 07-15-2009 04:37 PM

UPDATED:: AIR Patchbay
 
Do you want access to thousands of patches for your AIR instruments and plug-ins? The AIR Patch-bay is a public ftp for anyone to share their patches and to try out new ones from users around the world. It's simple to use, find out more here...

http://blogspot.us1.list-manage.com/track/click?u=d9dbbe046af2c4c785475a28b&id=3080ac2c1c&e= a65eaabf58

StinkyStan 07-15-2009 04:42 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Cool idea!

Sardi 07-15-2009 09:26 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Yeah this is really a great idea.

One suggestion, perhaps we should come up with a standardized naming convention for the folders containing user created patches. I notice that there are some folders with full name containing patches inside. May I suggest going with this method, followed by the date they were added?

So I guess something like:

Sardi - Hybrid Patches 16.07.09

The inside that folder you can be as descriptive as you like in terms of separating the patches into categories. Bass/Pads/Leads etc etc.

I think it would be good from an organizational point of view. Especially when you start to get a big database of patches over time.

Thoughts?

M_S_D 07-16-2009 02:05 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Just had a quick look, now that is a good idea!

RussUK 07-16-2009 02:33 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Sardi good idea, contributors please note.

ankely 07-16-2009 03:30 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Russ, you Rock !!!

So many helpful things you have brought to the table.

RussUK 07-16-2009 05:35 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ankely (Post 1426398)
Russ, you Rock !!!

So many helpful things you have brought to the table.

Ah thanks, although not according to some... http://duc.digidesign.com/showthread...248188&page=10

Oh well who was it Lincoln who said about pleasing all the people...

DonaldM 07-16-2009 05:58 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Okay. I have a dumb question. Where do we save the files on our computers so that Xpand, or Hybrid, etc, can find them? I can't find the factory set...

crizdee 07-17-2009 04:00 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DonaldM (Post 1426752)
Okay. I have a dumb question. Where do we save the files on our computers so that Xpand, or Hybrid, etc, can find them? I can't find the factory set...

system drive/library/app suport/digidesign/plugin presets

There you will find all the presets folders for every plugin.

Chris

drummer9 07-17-2009 05:09 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
This is a terrific idea!

I'm a bit new to FTP -On my Mac I tried Finder-Go-Connect to Server - typed in address but it would not connect. Anyone have a link to a tutorial on configuring FTP server or have any suggestions?

Rubicon 07-17-2009 10:48 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Hi Russ!

Thanks for everything! Is there any way to access this with the good old OSX finder? I don't want to install any 3rd party ftp app.

Thanks again!

Rubicon

audiogeekzine 07-17-2009 11:29 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
I uploaded my snare reverb starting point in the AIR Reverb folder

I like FireFTP firefox extension.

RussUK 07-17-2009 01:41 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by audiogeekzine (Post 1427054)
I uploaded my snare reverb starting point in the AIR Reverb folder

I like FireFTP firefox extension.

+1 http://fireftp.mozdev.org/

RussUK 07-17-2009 01:46 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
BTW I'm also going to try and get some signature sets created by well known engineers and producers, watch this space.

DonaldM 07-17-2009 08:56 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by crizdee (Post 1426896)
system drive/library/app suport/digidesign/plugin presets

There you will find all the presets folders for every plugin.

Chris

Okay, thanks. I just didn't know what file they were lurking in!

DonaldM 07-17-2009 09:15 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RussUK (Post 1426215)
Do you want access to thousands of patches for your AIR instruments and plug-ins? The AIR Patch-bay is a public ftp for anyone to share their patches and to try out new ones from users around the world. It's simple to use, find out more here...

http://airvirtualinstruments.blogspo...ound-bank.html

Well I used the firefox FTP client, put in the loginID and PW as shown, but it won't let me in. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. The login box pops up correctly within the FTP client, but the login and pw shown on the AIR users blog doesn't work. :confused:

audiogeekzine 07-17-2009 10:43 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by crizdee (Post 1426896)
system drive/library/app suport/digidesign/plugin presets

There you will find all the presets folders for every plugin.

Chris

Thanks Chris, That's a hard to find folder! I nearly had to open up the manual :eek:

Specifically:
Macintosh HD/Library/Application Support/Digidesign/Plug-In Settings

WHY can't spotlight or the finder FIND this folder!?

On PC it is:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Digidesign\DAE\Plug-In Settings

Quote:

Originally Posted by DonaldM (Post 1427257)
Well I used the firefox FTP client, put in the loginID and PW as shown, but it won't let me in. I have no idea what I'm doing wrong. The login box pops up correctly within the FTP client, but the login and pw shown on the AIR users blog doesn't work. :confused:

I was having trouble getting it working on my Mac, seemed to only work if I typed in the password rather than copy+paste.

DonaldM 07-18-2009 08:05 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by audiogeekzine (Post 1427274)
Thanks Chris, That's a hard to find folder! I nearly had to open up the manual :eek:

Specifically:
Macintosh HD/Library/Application Support/Digidesign/Plug-In Settings

WHY can't spotlight or the finder FIND this folder!?

On PC it is:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Digidesign\DAE\Plug-In Settings



I was having trouble getting it working on my Mac, seemed to only work if I typed in the password rather than copy+paste.

Right. I have the PC, too and that's exactly where I finally found mine. I did a search using "Hybrid" and finally found it! But everything's there! Imported a couple of the new patches from the FTP sight and uploaded one for Xpand2.

Might be a good idea to use this thread to let folks know when new stuff is uploaded.

RussUK 07-18-2009 09:05 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Just dropped 10 new patches for Eleven FREE, there's a readme file to let people know the SP.

audiogeekzine 07-18-2009 09:40 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Anyone have an idea how to get these folders synched between my mac and PC automatically?

RussUK 07-18-2009 10:25 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DonaldM (Post 1427356)
Might be a good idea to use this thread to let folks know when new stuff is uploaded.

DTS any chance of making this thread a sticky? Anyone else agree?

RussUK 07-18-2009 10:38 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by audiogeekzine (Post 1427381)
Anyone have an idea how to get these folders synched between my mac and PC automatically?

Found these for PC...
http://www.goodsync.com/land/land.ph...paign=goodsync

http://www.risefly.com/

For Mac...
http://www.apple.com/downloads/macos...ftpformac.html

http://www.apple.com/downloads/macos...aptainftp.html

http://www.panic.com/transmit/

audiogeekzine 07-18-2009 11:54 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Thanks Russ!
Good Sync looks perfect.

DonaldM 07-18-2009 04:43 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by RussUK (Post 1427393)
DTS any chance of making this thread a sticky? Anyone else agree?

Yes. Either that or set up a specific sticky thread for that purpose.

RussUK 07-19-2009 07:06 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Some Strike patches have been uploaded. :-)

audiogeekzine 07-21-2009 08:37 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
I've added 3 of my "80's Horror String Pad" Hybrid patches.

They're a bit cheesy but they make me smile. :)

Paul S-Tone 07-21-2009 09:17 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by drummer9 (Post 1426905)
This is a terrific idea!

I'm a bit new to FTP -On my Mac I tried Finder-Go-Connect to Server - typed in address but it would not connect. Anyone have a link to a tutorial on configuring FTP server or have any suggestions?

is simple if you have Firefox Mozilla browser , simply add the "FireFTP" plugin in the browse
( inside Firefox go to tools /add componenet / display all componet addons)

:)

drummer9 07-21-2009 05:25 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Added a reverb patch - good on toms

RussUK 07-23-2009 03:39 PM

Brilliant!
 
From spkguitar - a medal I think!

I posted patches to the XPand2 folder today; a GM Bank Basic.

I'm asked a lot of times by new users (and old ones) how to use GM MIDI files with Pro Tools. Most of the time my reply is "You are going to need to get a GM sound module, either hardware or software" since Pro Tools doesn't come with any GM modules out of the box.

Until now.

With this bank, users can assign the outputs of GM MIDI files directly to corresponding XPand2 patches. The patches themselves are mostly direct copies of the factory banks, just organized into the GM specification. There were some I had to "tweak", 3 that are "almost" what they need to be, and there are 8 (all FX patches) that just aren't possible with XPand2.

I hope someone finds them useful.

spkguitar 07-23-2009 05:10 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
:D;):cool:

nod25 07-23-2009 06:41 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Bloody great idea Russ.

RussUK 07-27-2009 03:16 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Just posted the beatcutter settings.

ankely 08-05-2009 04:55 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
I added a bunch of Structure Presets to the AIR Patchbay.

These are the current Air Blog, Goliath and Structure Free and Structure Factory Libraries saved as Settings/Presets.

You may have to direct Structure to your patches depending on where they are located on your hard drives and then re-save, Save Settings (Command/Control+Shift+S) the preset and you should be fine.

Hope this helps.

RussUK 08-23-2009 01:51 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Community member Martin has created a nice set of Moog type sounds for Vacuum which are now on the patchbay

Bob Simpson 08-31-2009 12:49 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
So, I know I'm being dense, but how do I get to this patchbay / ftp site?


Bob Simpson

RussUK 08-31-2009 12:59 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Bob Simpson (Post 1450271)
So, I know I'm being dense, but how do I get to this patchbay / ftp site?


Bob Simpson

Here are the instructions Bob http://airvirtualinstruments.blogspo...ound-bank.html :-)

Bob Simpson 09-01-2009 10:27 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
I went to the website...

Entered info into FileZilla, keyed in the password, and got this:

Status: Connected
Status: Retrieving directory listing...
Command: PWD
Response: 257 "/" is your current location
Command: TYPE I
Response: 200 TYPE is now 8-bit binary
Command: PASV
Response: 227 Entering Passive Mode (69,175,8,218,91,56)
Command: MLSD
Response: 550 Access is denied.
Error: Failed to retrieve directory listing

Any pointers on how the make this work?

TIA

Bob Simpson

RussUK 09-01-2009 10:31 AM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Here you go...


Filezilla (for Windows)
FTP configuration
SFTP configuration
Instructions (new window)

DonaldM 09-02-2009 01:19 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by audiogeekzine (Post 1428948)
I've added 3 of my "80's Horror String Pad" Hybrid patches.

They're a bit cheesy but they make me smile. :)

Finally got round to trying these out. I really like them. Now, I need to find some way to use them in something I'm working on!

ankely 10-20-2009 11:18 PM

Re: AIR Patchbay
 
I updated the info and instructions for the Structure collection of settings called, Structure Presets 09082009:

-----

These are the current Air Blog, Goliath, Structure Free and Structure Factory Libraries saved as Plug-in Settings.

For these Plug-in Settings to work, you need to have these sample libraries loaded onto your hard drive.

These Plug-in Settings will need to be unzipped and copied into your Plug-In Settings folder located here:

On the Mac:
Library/Application Support/Digidesign/Plug-In Settings/Structure

On the PC:
Program Files\Common Files\Digidesign\DAE\Plug-in Settings\Structure

(See Chapter 41: Plug-in and Hardware Inserts, pg. 887, of the Pro Tools Reference Guide for more information).

As you load these Plug-in Settings from the Structure Plug-in Settings Menu, you may need to redirect Structure to where the Structure sample libraries are located on your hard drive so that Structure can load the samples.

If a dialog opens asking you to "Choose a Root Directory for xxx missing audio files", choose the folder containing your samples, check "Full Recursive Search," and click "OK."

(See Chapter 5: Structure Parameters, pg. 43, of the Structure Plug-in Guide, for more information).

Once the samples are loaded, you will then need to re-save the Plug-in Settings using, Save Settings (Command/Control+Shift+S), so that Structure will now be able to load the samples properly for your setup.

More info here:
http://airvirtualinstruments.blogspo...ick-video.html

------

Hope this helps.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:18 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com