Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Snow Leopard to Lion (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=328487)

stevegalante 09-23-2012 06:58 PM

Snow Leopard to Lion
 
Is it still possible to upgrade from SL to Lion without going to Mountain Lion ?

John_Toolbox 09-24-2012 09:30 AM

Re: Snow Leopard to Lion
 
I don't think you can buy it from apple anymore, and since it was sold only as a download, it's not likely you'd be able to find a legal copy.

The real question is, why would you want to? Lion has absolutely nothing special related to audio, and IMO is not worth upgrading to... I had to make a bunch of tweaks to it just so I could find my files, and still only ever booted it for testing purposes. I still haven't tried mountain lion yet, hopefully it's better.

stevegalante 09-24-2012 09:45 AM

Re: Snow Leopard to Lion
 
Apparently you can... this is what I got from Apple Support Communities :
"Yes. Call 1-800-MY-APPLE, pay $19 for a download code to use in the App Store."
The reason I would do it is that I already have a perfectly working partition with SL and PT8, and I wanted to prepare a partition for PT10, which is not qualified for ML yet (afaik)...

John_Toolbox 09-24-2012 11:07 AM

Re: Snow Leopard to Lion
 
PT 10.3 is officially qualified for Mountain Lion according to the download page:

http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/d...10-3-Downloads

It is also still qualified to run on Snow Leopard 10.6.7 just so you're aware... I would either go with Mountain Lion or stick with Snow Leopard.

stevegalante 09-24-2012 12:01 PM

Re: Snow Leopard to Lion
 
So apparently I have to go with SL because my Macpro is a "Harpertown" model and though it supports ML it does not support ML + PT10... !

John_Toolbox 09-24-2012 12:24 PM

Re: Snow Leopard to Lion
 
Yeah, I would just stick with SL then. The newest mac pros are still based on the 2009 architecture, so I would just hold out on your harpertown with SL until an actual update(not just a refresh) happens to the mac pro line. Rumor has it there will be a new mac pro line in 2013, that would be the time to upgrade.

Pete Gates 09-24-2012 04:14 PM

Re: Snow Leopard to Lion
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by stevegalante (Post 1967004)
So apparently I have to go with SL because my Macpro is a "Harpertown" model and though it supports ML it does not support ML + PT10... !

I didn't see that document till after going OSX 10.8.2 and PT 10.3 on an HD3 8x3.2GHz Harpertown. It's been fine so far - whether that means it's worth the risk for you...

Pete

John_Toolbox 09-25-2012 07:14 AM

Re: Snow Leopard to Lion
 
I think that the requirement for nehalem(2009) mac pros is actually only relevant for HDX cards. Apparently the firmware in the HDX card can't update correctly without the newer revision of pcie slots. My guess is that the TDM cards will still work with the older mac pros since they always have, but that AVID simply never tested a TDM/10.3/Early Mac Pro config since the TDM cards are EOL.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:40 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com