Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Upgrading MOBOs in laptops? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=97000)

BioFeedback 02-11-2004 07:34 AM

Upgrading MOBOs in laptops?
 
Does anyone have any experience upgrading laptops, or building them??? I have a crappy, full size, toshiba satillite, that I would love to turn into an AMD music machine. Right now, it's a sad celeron.

Finding mobile amd processors is easy..but what the heck MOBO do you use? I'm guessing its not as cut and dry as the ATX format is. Someone please school me!

MrJoshua 02-11-2004 08:37 AM

Re: Upgrading MOBOs in laptops?
 
I've never, ever been able to find a motherboard for a laptop, and I've looked. I have an extremely ancient HP laptop sitting around that I wanted to up grade quite a while back, and never could find anything. I think you may be out of luck.

But I'm no expert, so maybe someone else will prove me wrong.

SSRJazz 02-11-2004 10:55 AM

Re: Upgrading MOBOs in laptops?
 
Laptops by their very nature are inherently non-upgradable due to the custom cases, custom motherboards, custom everything.


BioFeedback 02-11-2004 06:31 PM

Re: Upgrading MOBOs in laptops?
 
Aww dag narnit! (throws hat down and jumps up and down on it!) I have to do more searching!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:25 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com