Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Windows (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=93)
-   -   Pro Tools Ultimae 2019.6 - not responding blue circle (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=406121)

IntelDoc 08-28-2019 09:25 AM

Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6 - not responding blue circle

Hey all, it's been a long time.

Need to ask something. I am a 19 year Pro Tools user and have seen a bunch of madness with windows builds, etc but I have ALWAYS been a Windows user with Pro Tools. About a year ago I upgraded to HDX and a new Windows machine. I went with a AMD Ryzen chip (I know it is not officially supported) but it works really well when it works and it is fast as all hell and back.

When I upgraded to 2019.6 from 2019.5 things got a lot better, but recently I have been seeing random freezes where Pro Tools will get the Blue Circle and go unresponsive. This lasts about a minute or so and then goes back to normal. I have put is a ticket to AVID, but of course it comes back as a "This is not a supported machine" blah blah. I can say in 19 years I have never had a "supported machine" and have done just fine. This seems to be something weird, a setting maybe that I missed? I used all their configuration things minus the "Run as Admin" as that never seemed to be a problem and I am the admin on my user account.

Any thoughts would be great. I can run a 96k 24bit session with 128 tracks and have zero issues recording, mixing etc, then all of a sudden, blue circle, hang a bit, refreshes and back to normal. No real reason that I can see.

System is a

Pro Tools Ultimate HDX 2019.6
AMD Ryzen 2700X
64gb DDR4 3200 ram
M.2 Pro 960 (main OS)
All Drives are SSD Audio, Loop Libraries, etc

This happens with the smallest of session and zero plugins. But then it will happen with a moderate session

Thanks again for any help

Doc

FunkzzaJ 08-28-2019 11:00 AM

Re: Pro Tools Ultimae 2019.6 - not responding blue circle