Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Why is there no playlist view for midi? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=284050)

usastra 10-13-2010 01:11 PM

Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Sometimes I'd like to try out different ideas with midi and comp them to a new part.
I love the new playlist view and edit functions for audio in PT8 and it would be great to do the same thing with midi.

daeron80 10-13-2010 06:30 PM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
You can still create multiple MIDI playlists, right? We've been able to do that for some time. They haven't removed that, I hope. You just mean being able to see several at once, like with audio? You can always flip between the takes, copy, and paste into a comp playlist. I hope you can do that with 8! Surely someone else would have complained by now.

usastra 10-13-2010 07:28 PM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Yes, I meant to option to see several playlists at once. That way I can move between playlists with shortcuts and use the move to top playlist comping feature.

snake doc 10-13-2010 07:40 PM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by usastra (Post 1681253)
Yes, I meant to option to see several playlists at once. That way I can move between playlists with shortcuts and use the move to top playlist comping feature.

YESSS!!! this is a must. It's a no brainer. It's no different than the function for audio playlist view for a guitar or vox take. I'd like to loop around a section and lay down strike, or velvet, or whatever midi a couple of different ways and then comp together the best parts.

Please fix this... and then at a shortcut or at least some way to quickkey a "new playlist" function so I don't have to mouse over to it

Dizzi45Z 10-13-2010 08:06 PM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
I agree. It was the first disappointment that I posted about here on the forum after I installed Pro Tools 8 a couple years ago.

tonwurm 10-14-2010 01:13 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
I suspect they just forgot to implent it ... or should it have been too much work ? :rolleyes:

myhrik 10-14-2010 06:43 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
YES, I have been missing this function as well!!

I am recording electric drum pads (through Superior Drummer 2) with acoustic cymbals, and although I can group the stereo audio and the midi tracks together, I cannot use playlist view since then it "splits" the takes and only changes the audio takes, not the midi ones. So I have to comp the tracks using the old method...

daeron80 10-15-2010 02:04 PM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Whew! You know, the old method works great. I've been doing it since, what was it, 5.0 that introduced playlists? So it's not like you can't comp MIDI. It just takes a little longer. No pun intended. We should be glad we don't have to do it the really old way of dragging takes from the Regions bin one by one and spotting them into place. Or the really really old method of having a separate track for each take and muting/unmuting regions.

uno1234 10-15-2010 06:12 PM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Wait, what are midi tracks?

guitarman6 11-21-2010 10:05 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Bump. Working on a session now and really wish this feature was available. in instrument and midi tracks.

Rail Jon Rogut 11-21-2010 11:51 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
I'm sure this is on the books to be implemented... I'd personally like them to extend it to not only being able to expand to view playlists, but a method to expand a MIDI Track which would show each note on a separate Playlist.

Rail

meech 11-21-2010 12:20 PM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rail Jon Rogut (Post 1707662)
I'm sure this is on the books to be implemented... I'd personally like them to extend it to not only being able to expand to view playlists, but a method to expand a MIDI Track which would show each note on a separate Playlist.

Rail

That would also be a welcome feature! I occasionally have to do this manually and it can be time consuming with a lot of notes.

daeron80 11-22-2010 06:35 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rail Jon Rogut (Post 1707662)
a method to expand a MIDI Track which would show each note on a separate Playlist.

Not for each individual played note, obviously, but for each MIDI note number? That would be OK for drum/perc tracks, provided that there were an option to play all playlists at once. :eek:

I can't think of any relevance to tonal instruments. But a related concept might work. We've long been able to split by highest note/lowest note. It's never perfect, and can't be, but if it could be done automatically into playlists (that all played at once) and you could then click-n-drag notes from list to list with a flick of the wrist, that could tidy up the operation neatly. Much more efficient than select-cut-moveUp/Down-paste.

Rail Jon Rogut 11-23-2010 10:16 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by daeron80 (Post 1708133)
Not for each individual played note, obviously, but for each MIDI note number?

Obviously. Yes, it can be done now, but my idea would streamline the process.

Rail

rab523 06-16-2011 10:23 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Any word on this? I am also using Superior Drummer 2 to track midi and would love to be able to use playlist view. Software instruments need to have the same features as audio tracks.

matthias.matthias 07-19-2011 12:44 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
I'm all for this feature! Did you vote in the ideascale already? If not, please do.

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/...DI-/30551-3779

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/...ts./13542-3779

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/...ing/19984-3779

They are basically all asking for the same thing. Would be nice if they could be consolidated into one.

midnightrambler 07-19-2011 02:46 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Just use a few MIDI tracks routed to the same instrument, comp onto main track, then hide the MIDI tracks. Which is more or less exactly the same thing as seeing/hiding playlists.

Honestly, you lot'd moan if ProTools gave you free backrubs.

daeron80 07-19-2011 06:06 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by midnightrambler (Post 1816516)
Honestly, you lot'd moan if ProTools gave you free backrubs.

But then the third-party back rub plug-in manufacturers would pitch a fit.

Seriously, though. Playlists are the best idea since sliced waveforms. Having MIDI tracks work as described in this thread would turbo-charge workflows. I suppose we could keep riding horses to work and demean people who drive cars, too, but...

brianjanthony 07-21-2011 05:55 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
I use Reaper to split drum tracks into playlists. In Reaper, drag in your drum midi track (something a client might have done in Addictive drums, EZdrummer,etc). Right click and separate each note into tracks. Re-export the Midi and import into pro tools. It takes like a minute tops. I hate to need external DAWS as work arounds, but this one rocks.

In Reaper too, I usually load up Addictive Drums or Superior and export those individuals as audio files as well, in case I need/want a timing reference.

Rail Jon Rogut 07-21-2011 10:49 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by brianjanthony (Post 1817267)
I use Reaper to split drum tracks into playlists. In Reaper, drag in your drum midi track (something a client might have done in Addictive drums, EZdrummer,etc). Right click and separate each note into tracks. Re-export the Midi and import into pro tools. It takes like a minute tops. I hate to need external DAWS as work arounds, but this one rocks.

In Reaper too, I usually load up Addictive Drums or Superior and export those individuals as audio files as well, in case I need/want a timing reference.

Pro Tools has the ability to split a MIDI Track into separate tracks... no need to switch apps for that... and that has nothing to do with playlists.

I would like an option in Pro Tools though where you could hit a caret on a MIDI Track and it puts (displays) each note on a separate track for editing, then hit the caret again and the track reverts to a single MIDI Track.

Rail

SigFriedChicken 03-11-2017 12:17 PM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
I'm amazed that this hasn't been added yet. This is basic stuff for virtually all other DAWs.

http://protools.ideascale.com/a/dtd/...ts./13542-3779

DarklightAudio 12-01-2019 01:49 PM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Dear Avid,
It's 2019 and this feature would still be very useful. PLAYLIST VIEW for Instrument tracks or other tracks with MIDI info.

daeron80 12-02-2019 11:10 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
That meme with the cobweb covered skeleton slumped over on the mixing desk:

Me waiting for Avid to implement MIDI playlists.

DarklightAudio 12-08-2019 10:28 AM

Re: Why is there no playlist view for midi?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by daeron80 (Post 2546323)
That meme with the cobweb covered skeleton slumped over on the mixing desk:

Me waiting for Avid to implement MIDI playlists.

:D:D:D so true!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:22 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com