Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 9 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=401646)

Mustaucheman 10-24-2018 04:56 PM

Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up
 
Hey all,
As said in the title, when booting up Pro Tools 9 or the software updater on a Windows 7 Pro 64 bit machine, I'm welcomed to a BSOD. After 3 years of trying dozens of solutions (it worked from 2011 when I got it until late 2014), I've narrowed it down to most likely being the ilok/pace drivers. It is good to note that if I install the pace drivers before Pro Tools, the BSOD occurs when starting the computer. If after, only when starting the AVID software. Strangely, when the drivers aren't installed the License Manager still picks up the ilok key (which is a first gen). Obviously, when this is the case starting Pro Tools gives the "Initialization Error: This software requires installation of the InterLock device..." which is why I presume its the drivers and not the pro tools itself. I have tried installing both the regular and legacy versions of both the 64 bit and 32 bit zip file downloads from the PACE website, but to no avail. Before asking, yes I did a full uninstall of all programs for each driver version (I wish the had all the legacy versions on the website). If anyone has any older versions I'd be happy to try them out.

Also where can I upload the BSOD dump file? The file attach system calls it an 'invalid file'.

SiSoftware Sandra

ID
Host Name : Owner-PC
Workgroup : WORKGROUP

Computer
Model : ASUS All Series ASUS MB
Serial Number : System Ser**********
Chassis : Desktop
Mainboard : ASUS Z87-PRO
Serial Number : 1309154********
BIOS : AMI (OEM) 2005 06/04/2014
Intel vPro : 9.0.30.1482
Total Memory : 20GB DIMM DDR3

Processors
Processor : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790K CPU @ 4.00GHz (4C 8T 4.4GHz/4.6GHz, 4GHz IMC, 4x 256kB L2, 8MB L3)
Socket/Slot : FC LGA1150

Chipset
Memory Controller : ASUS Core (Haswell) DRAM Controller 100MHz, 2x 10GB DIMM DDR3 1.6GHz 128-bit

Memory Module(s)
Memory Module : Kingston/Hynix (Hyundai) KHX1600C10D38GX 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)
Memory Module : Corsair CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9 4GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-14200U DDR3-1778 (9-9-9-25 4-33-10-5)
Memory Module : Kingston/Hynix (Hyundai) KHX1600C10D38GX 8GB DIMM DDR3 PC3-12800U DDR3-1600 (9-9-9-25 4-34-10-5)

Video System
Monitor/Panel : ACI VX238
(1920x1080, 23.1")
Video Adapter : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (6CU 1152SP SM5.0 1.19GHz/1.29GHz, 512kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 256-bit, PCIe 3.0 x16)

Graphics Processor
CUDA : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (1152SP 6C 1.19GHz/1.29GHz, 512kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 256-bit)
OpenCL : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (1152SP 6C 1.19GHz/1.29GHz, 96kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 256-bit)
D3D 11 : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (1152SP 6C 1.19GHz/1.29GHz, 512kB L2, 2GB 6GHz 256-bit)
OpenGL : GeForce GTX 760/PCIe/SSE2 (2GB)

Storage Devices
WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm) : 932GB (C:)
Seagate ST8000AS0002-1NA17Z (8TB, USB2/SATA300/600, 5980rpm, 16MB Cache) : 7TB (E:)
HL-DT-STDVDRAM GH24NS95 (SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW) : N/A (D:)

Logical Storage Devices
System Reserved : 100MB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
8TB (E:) : 7TB (NTFS, 4kB) @ Seagate ST8000AS0002-1NA17Z (8TB, USB2/SATA300/600, 5980rpm, 16MB Cache)
Hard Disk (C:) : 931GB (NTFS, 4kB) @ WDC WD1002FAEX-00Z3A0 (1TB, SATA600, 3.5", 7200rpm)
Optical Drive (D:) : N/A @ HL-DT-STDVDRAM GH24NS95 (SATA, DVD+-RW, CD-RW)

Peripherals
LPC Hub Controller #1 : ASUS Lynx Point LPC Controller
Audio Device : ASUS Lynx Point HD Audio Controller
Audio Codec : Realtek Semi 0900
Audio Device : EVGA GK104 HDMI Audio Controller
Audio Codec : nVidia GeForce 6800 Ultra [NV40.0]
Disk Controller : ASUS Lynx Point 6-Port SATA AHCI Controller
Disk Controller : ASUS Asmedia 106x SATA Controller
USB Controller #1 : ASUS Lynx Point USB xHCI Host Controller
USB Controller #2 : ASUS Lynx Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #2
USB Controller #3 : ASUS Lynx Point USB Enhanced Host Controller #1
SMBus/i2c Controller #1 : Intel ICH SMBus

Network Services
Network Adapter : Intel(R) Ethernet Connection I217-V (Ethernet, 1Gbps)
Network Adapter : VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter (Ethernet, 1Gbps)
Network Adapter : TAP-NordVPN Windows Adapter V9 (Ethernet)

Operating System
Windows System : Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.1.7601 (Service Pack 1)
Platform Compliance : x64

jeam25 10-24-2018 05:11 PM

Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up
 
Hi ! doesn't know if you ever tried this but ,
when you downlad the pace interlock file there is some files inside . Try this :

1.Unistall from control panel everything related to ilok and pace .

2.Then from the files downloaded use the cleaner utility to clean any left file .

3.Restart

4.Make an installation from the " extras " folder ( i think that is how is named ) and install the " driver only " installer .


Another thing to try is the changing the DEP states on windows . You migth want to try all the options to see if any help .

https://www.thewindowsclub.com/disab...ion-prevention

Google it for more info .

albee1952 10-24-2018 07:15 PM

Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up
 
I would also pull the single odd stick of RAM(mixing brands is not a good idea, and mixing sizes negates any dual mode RAM usage and may hurt performance instead of helping):o

Mustaucheman 10-24-2018 07:35 PM

Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up
 
Thanks for the quick response.

Already did the drivers only, and just tried with DEP enabled and disabled on four driver packs (two each) to no avail.

Any other fixes are very welcome, and thanks again for the speedy reply.:-)

jeam25 10-24-2018 07:37 PM

Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up
 
Ok and what about albee suggestion about memory ?

Mustaucheman 10-24-2018 09:03 PM

Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up
 
Just took the extra stick out, BSODs galore tonight, same error (INVALID_KERNEL_HANDLE)

jeam25 10-24-2018 09:04 PM

Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up
 
Ok sorry to hear that . Did you tried clearing the Bios ?

jeam25 10-24-2018 09:25 PM

Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up
 
Also Bios updated ? And if possible take a picture of the blue screen :-) .

Mustaucheman 10-25-2018 07:49 AM

Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up
 
1 Attachment(s)
Cleared the BIOS overnight, tried again this morning to BSOD, here's the picture.

Also the most current BIOS doesn't work with my CPU, it doesn't post, so I have the version three versions back, but I was using the newest BIOS up until i got the new one (about a month ago).

Thank you guys for all the suggestions thus far.

TOM@METRO 10-25-2018 11:06 AM

Re: Pro Tools 9 BSOD at start up
 
Try downloading and installing the PT11 free trial. This may offer clues.

https://connect.avid.com/Pro-Tools-Trial.html


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:51 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com