Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 12 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=142)
-   -   Internet connection REQUIRED for subscription (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=364926)

lexaudio 03-01-2015 01:36 AM

Internet connection REQUIRED for subscription
 
So, it is true. Subscription is cloud licensing.

As AVID knows, most of you do not read the terms. You click OK and go about your business.

Well, I have started to read those. AVID has been "shut mouth" about this too. Pointing to the "benefits" and being vague.

Here is the truth:

Quote:

1.8. Subscription. For software available on a subscription basis, you may install
and use the most current version of the software during the term of your
subscription on one or more hardware devices, as permitted by and subject
to the restrictions of the relevant license type. Subscription based software
requires an Internet connection
. Upon expiration of the subscription period or
non-payment of the subscription fee, the software may become inactive
without notice
and will not be reactivated until the subscription is renewed,
Avid receives payment, or a new subscription is purchased. Use of Software
on a subscription basis is subject to additional terms and conditions available
at www.avid.com/subscription.
the full License agreement is here:
http://www.avid.com/static/resources...te/LICENSE.pdf

I suggest you download it not just read it online. Then you have a hard copy.

Those who don't see, do you see now?

This is bad for the users. Internet isn't guaranteed. So neither is your license.

Keep reading, because I am.

And Don't Let these "its media composer" sidecars detract. This is, in all way, the AVID license contract for ALL of AVID's software

Buccanears 03-01-2015 01:50 AM

Re: Internet connection REQUIRED for subscription
 
This is for Media Composer.

"Last Updated : January 5, 2015
Products Affected : Media_Composer, NewsCutter, Symphony"

lexaudio 03-01-2015 01:59 AM

Re: Internet connection REQUIRED for subscription
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Buccanears (Post 2237508)
This is for Media Composer.

"Last Updated : January 5, 2015
Products Affected : Media_Composer, NewsCutter, Symphony"

Ok, well then I am the fool. But isn't AVID basing PT off of what they did with Media composer?

Where is there a license agreement then.

There is no where in this that states it is for media composer:

Quote:

AVID SOFTWARE LICENSE AGREEMENT
This agreement is between Avid Technology, Inc. (together with its affiliates) and you. Please read this agreement carefully. These terms apply to the Avid software, along with the media on which you received it (if any). These terms also apply to any updates, support services, or Internet services for the software, unless other terms accompany those items. If so, those terms apply. The Avid software you have licensed may include locked software that you may choose to license and activate in the future. If you choose to do so, these terms will apply, unless other terms are presented to you when you license and activate the software.
By using the software, you accept these terms. If you do not accept them, do not use the software. Instead, return it to the reseller for a refund or credit. If you cannot obtain a refund from the reseller, or if you purchased your software license directly from Avid, contact Avid for information about Avid’s refund policies. Please visit www.avid.com/avidlicensing for details.
If you are a consumer, you may have additional or different rights. Please read this entire agreement, including section H (Consumer Rights Not Affected), for more information.
The software may be distributed with components from other vendors that are subject to different terms. Please read this entire agreement, including sections 7 (Third Party Software) and 8 (Third Party Information), for more information.
I do find the bold term kind of "funny" as no retailer ever excepts software returns. SO you if you don't agree, you are stuck.
Double standard.

Either way, show there are different terms that apply to Pro Tools that are different from media composer.

Josh Voyles 03-01-2015 01:59 AM

Re: Internet connection REQUIRED for subscription
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by lexaudio (Post 2237505)
So, it is true. Subscription is cloud licensing.

As AVID knows, most of you do not read the terms. You click OK and go about your business.

Well, I have started to read those. AVID has been "shut mouth" about this too. Pointing to the "benefits" and being vague.

Here is the truth:



the full License agreement is here:
http://www.avid.com/static/resources...te/LICENSE.pdf

I suggest you download it not just read it online. Then you have a hard copy.

Those who don't see, do you see now?

This is bad for the users. Internet isn't guaranteed. So neither is your license.

Keep reading, because I am.

An internet connection requirement is to be expected.

What I'm more interested in is does Avid check every time you run the software or is it periodically? And if it's periodically, how often?

Adobe does the same thing, but Adobe only checks like once a month or something like that and I think every time you login your buffer is renewed. Idk...it's been a while.

lexaudio 03-01-2015 02:03 AM

Re: Internet connection REQUIRED for subscription
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Josh Voyles (Post 2237514)
An internet connection requirement is to be expected.

What I'm more interested in is does Avid check every time you run the software or is it periodically? And if it's periodically, how often?

Adobe does the same thing, but Adobe only checks like once a month or something like that and I think every time you login your buffer is renewed. Idk...it's been a while.

Its AVID. Like the ilok, everytime you boot Pro Tools.

To be expected, sure. But it has been presented by Mods here that it wasn't the case.
People have asked and haven't gotten the answer either.

AVID is being aloof here. They are really trying to keep the users in the dark rather than being open.
This is why.

Buccanears 03-01-2015 02:05 AM

Re: Internet connection REQUIRED for subscription
 
Read the link. www.avid.com/subscription

Media Composer | Software (v8) FAQ

We don't yet know what they're going to do with PT, so it would help if misinformation was not spread. We need to wait and see, that's a bit of a bugger, as we're all in the same boat here, Lex.

lexaudio 03-01-2015 02:16 AM

Re: Internet connection REQUIRED for subscription
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Buccanears (Post 2237517)
Read the link. www.avid.com/subscription

Media Composer | Software (v8) FAQ

We don't yet know what they're going to do with PT, so it would help if misinformation was not spread. We need to wait and see, that's a bit of a bugger, as we're all in the same boat here, Lex.

Sorry to burst your bubble.:

http://www.avid.com/US/about-avid/le...Avid-Licensing

Quote:

Avid Licensing
The following information is provided in order to assist in the activation of your Avid software licenses. Avid is currently developing a Unified Licensing platform that will be utilized across all software products, making it easier for users to activate their Avid products, providing additional options for license types, and offering tools for managing existing licenses. Starting with Media Composer 6.0, Avid will slowly migrate all products to this updated licensing platform. As more products migrate to this new technology we will be releasing additional information to this site to assist our customers.
the licensing for protools will be no different.

Ergo, read what I posted. You really think AVID is going to have a different policy with MC over PT?

That's 420 dreaming

Buccanears 03-01-2015 02:18 AM

Re: Internet connection REQUIRED for subscription
 
That's all currently for Media Composer...

http://www.avid.com/US/about-avid/le...ing/activation

lexaudio 03-01-2015 02:22 AM

Re: Internet connection REQUIRED for subscription
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Buccanears (Post 2237521)
That's all currently for Media Composer...

http://www.avid.com/US/about-avid/le...ing/activation

read:
http://www.avid.com/US/about-avid/le...Avid-Licensing

All going this way

Quote:

The following information is provided in order to assist in the activation of your Avid software licenses. Avid is currently developing a Unified Licensing platform that will be utilized across all software products, making it easier for users to activate their Avid products, providing additional options for license types, and offering tools for managing existing licenses. Starting with Media Composer 6.0, Avid will slowly migrate all products to this updated licensing platform. As more products migrate to this new technology we will be releasing additional information to this site to assist our customers.

Again, Sorry but you aren't reading the BOLD print.

I'm not so much the dumbass anymore am I

Buccanears 03-01-2015 02:25 AM

Re: Internet connection REQUIRED for subscription
 
Yup. I have. But we need to wait for PT info. All your links point to a system that has been in place for MC for some time. We don't yet know exactly how Avid will deal with PT. Chill.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:11 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com