Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=94)
-   -   Thunderbolt Version For TB Native (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=403463)

Sugarnutz 02-18-2019 07:13 PM

Thunderbolt Version For TB Native
 
Search high & low but canít find the Thunderbolt version implemented in TB Native. Is it Thunderbolt 1 or 2? Thanks!

Darryl Ramm 02-18-2019 08:16 PM

Re: Thunderbolt Version For TB Native
 
Thunderbolt 1, but why does it matter?

Thunderbolt 2 is Thunderbolt 1 with the data links bridgeable to give double the bandwidth. They are fully compatible both ways unless a device needs the extra bandwidth, and Pro Tools does not need all the bandwidth in Thunderbolt 1 let alone Thunderbolt 2. And the Apple Thunderbolt adapter will give you compatibility with Thunderbolt 3 as well, so the Thunderbolt HD Native is fully compatible with any Thunderbolt equipped computer.

Sugarnutz 02-18-2019 11:22 PM

Re: Thunderbolt Version For TB Native
 
It matters because even though I use it with my MacBook Pro, Iím building a PC using a Gigabyte z390 Designare motherboard that has TB3 and issues with TB1 devices at the moment (Itís a BIOS issue, beta BIOS fixes it but not signed by Intel yet). I could have posted this Mac or Win, but since Iím on a rMBP I posted here. If not fixed soon, Iíll get a used HDX card (I was saving that money for a D-Command fader pack). Thanks!

Sugarnutz 03-10-2019 01:55 AM

Re: Thunderbolt Version For TB Native
 
Works fine now that I got everything together, much ado about nothing.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:15 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com