Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 9 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   PT 9.0.6 / High Sierra 10.13.6 ? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=400732)

basslik 08-22-2018 08:19 PM

PT 9.0.6 / High Sierra 10.13.6 ?
 
Good evening folks, I'm far behind the times, still on PT9.0.6. Anyhow I just acquired Mac Pro 2010, 2.8 quadcore. I simply swapped drives from my 2008 Mac pro and put in the 2010 pro, and fired up with no issues. So seems everything working fine with PT9. Although through the software update, apple is offering free upgrade to High sierra 10.13.6.


I aware it's not approved, but has anyone in the past had luck running this combo ?. THANK YOU VERY MUCH

musicman691 08-30-2018 06:12 AM

Re: PT 9.0.6 / High Sierra 10.13.6 ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by basslik (Post 2497629)
Good evening folks, I'm far behind the times, still on PT9.0.6. Anyhow I just acquired Mac Pro 2010, 2.8 quadcore. I simply swapped drives from my 2008 Mac pro and put in the 2010 pro, and fired up with no issues. So seems everything working fine with PT9. Although through the software update, apple is offering free upgrade to High sierra 10.13.6.


I aware it's not approved, but has anyone in the past had luck running this combo ?. THANK YOU VERY MUCH

Won't work without issues. I assume you've seen this page: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart

Even more modern versions of PT like PT10 won't work on High Sierra. For example with PT10 the last known workable OSX is 10.9.5; go past that and there are problems like blank insert menus until you mouse over an insert.

Also it sounds like you'd be doing an in-situ OSX 'upgrade' which while being the Apple Way is not recommended. You always want to do a clean install of a new OSX to a clean drive. That means installing everything from new - PT, plugins, etc. If you do that you won't be able to install PT9 on High Sierra.

The question becomes - why would you want to go to HS anyways?

edit for additional:
Also consider yourself you have PT9.06 running on Mountain Lion as the last compatible combo is PT9.06 and OSX 10.7.4 (Lion)

basslik 09-04-2018 05:58 PM

Re: PT 9.0.6 / High Sierra 10.13.6 ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2498200)
Won't work without issues. I assume you've seen this page: http://avid.force.com/pkb/articles/e...tibility-Chart

Even more modern versions of PT like PT10 won't work on High Sierra. For example with PT10 the last known workable OSX is 10.9.5; go past that and there are problems like blank insert menus until you mouse over an insert.

Also it sounds like you'd be doing an in-situ OSX 'upgrade' which while being the Apple Way is not recommended. You always want to do a clean install of a new OSX to a clean drive. That means installing everything from new - PT, plugins, etc. If you do that you won't be able to install PT9 on High Sierra.

The question becomes - why would you want to go to HS anyways?

edit for additional:
Also consider yourself you have PT9.06 running on Mountain Lion as the last compatible combo is PT9.06 and OSX 10.7.4 (Lion)

Thanks musicman691,


Yeah I got a deal on a 2010 quadcore, and wanted to see what is my best options. From what I been able to research PT10 is the best option for my 2010 singlecore. Also notibles of hyperthreading cores.

musicman691 09-04-2018 06:32 PM

Re: PT 9.0.6 / High Sierra 10.13.6 ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by basslik (Post 2498684)
Thanks musicman691,


Yeah I got a deal on a 2010 quadcore, and wanted to see what is my best options. From what I been able to research PT10 is the best option for my 2010 singlecore. Also notibles of hyperthreading cores.

PT10 is pretty good but limited compared to PT11 and above. One of the main limitations is the memory address space. With PT10 non-HD you're limited to something less than 4 gig. PT11 and above you can use as much ram as your computer can hold. The ultimate answer kind of depends on a couple of things - do you use many sample-based vi's? Do you run large sessions (like 60+ tracks)? For what I run with sample based vi's and large sessions I could never go back to PT10. Take a look at my profile page to see what I'm using with my 2012 hex core cheesegrater.

basslik 09-04-2018 07:50 PM

Re: PT 9.0.6 / High Sierra 10.13.6 ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2498689)
PT10 is pretty good but limited compared to PT11 and above. One of the main limitations is the memory address space. With PT10 non-HD you're limited to something less than 4 gig. PT11 and above you can use as much ram as your computer can hold. The ultimate answer kind of depends on a couple of things - do you use many sample-based vi's? Do you run large sessions (like 60+ tracks)? For what I run with sample based vi's and large sessions I could never go back to PT10. Take a look at my profile page to see what I'm using with my 2012 hex core cheesegrater.

Wow, nice setup. I'm not using any VI's, and strictly audio recording, hover around 32 tracks or less. I thought PT10 used all ram on PT10 HD ?


So to get the most out of my ram 32gigs, I will need PT11 ?. I also plan on ordering a X5690 cpu, to get 3.46mhz too. Currently 2.80

musicman691 09-05-2018 05:46 AM

Re: PT 9.0.6 / High Sierra 10.13.6 ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by basslik (Post 2498695)
Wow, nice setup. I'm not using any VI's, and strictly audio recording, hover around 32 tracks or less. I thought PT10 used all ram on PT10 HD ?


So to get the most out of my ram 32gigs, I will need PT11 ?. I also plan on ordering a X5690 cpu, to get 3.46mhz too. Currently 2.80

PT10HD uses a ram cache for audio so you could have a full session's worth of recorded audio available without data being swapped in and out of ram & disk. But you need the PT10HD license asset to do that. Non-HD you'll need PT11 to use all your ram.

basslik 09-16-2018 07:47 PM

Re: PT 9.0.6 / High Sierra 10.13.6 ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by musicman691 (Post 2498740)
PT10HD uses a ram cache for audio so you could have a full session's worth of recorded audio available without data being swapped in and out of ram & disk. But you need the PT10HD license asset to do that. Non-HD you'll need PT11 to use all your ram.

Thanks musicman691.


I've asked before on another post, so please forgive me to just double check. If I move to PT11, will I be able to use my old rtas plugins ?

Southsidemusic 09-16-2018 08:23 PM

Re: PT 9.0.6 / High Sierra 10.13.6 ?
 
No RTAS plugins or AAX32 bit plugins will work in PT11 and up. There is only one format that works with 11 / 12 / 2018 etc and that is AAX64 bit format.

I dont know what hosts you can buy to use rtas format inside PT11 but VST and AU on Mac you can use Bluecat MB-7 MK2 or Patchwork both cost money, around $100 normally but lowered deals can be found online for one of those sometimes.

So PT11 and up No RTAS plugins will work without above workaround.

musicman691 09-17-2018 05:16 AM

Re: PT 9.0.6 / High Sierra 10.13.6 ?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Southsidemusic (Post 2500003)
No RTAS plugins or AAX32 bit plugins will work in PT11 and up. There is only one format that works with 11 / 12 / 2018 etc and that is AAX64 bit format.

I dont know what hosts you can buy to use rtas format inside PT11 but VST and AU on Mac you can use Bluecat MB-7 MK2 or Patchwork both cost money, around $100 normally but lowered deals can be found online for one of those sometimes.

So PT11 and up No RTAS plugins will work without above workaround.

To amplify on what Christopher wrote maybe the third party plugins you have have a low or no cost upgrade to 64 bit aax/au/vst. A lot of times third party plugins will have multiple plugin formats; check those that you have as you may have installed those other formats as well as rtas. Problem with that is they're 32 bit and in addition to either of the BlueCat products mentioned you'll need some kind of bit-bridge to up them to 64 bits. All in all it's a cleaner deal to just seek out modern/current versions of your plugins.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com