Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Getting Started (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=407671)

mophilly 01-06-2020 07:52 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Yamaha responded to my request for help. The driver suggested did add a Preference panel to the MacOS System Prefs. However, the pick list of devices is empty. PT still does not "see" the piano, and Audio MIDI Setup still has Yamaha as manufacturer but not the P-105 in the model list. I sent Yamaha support screen shots; perhaps that will spark an idea in their mind.

I am going to test the cable. I don't think it is faulty as it worked at one point. I still think the primary problem is between the chair and keyboard.

Ben, I set up a new track. No joy with the piano. However, I learned that for the direct line from the guitar amp I need to use an Instrument track. It now records as desired! I also learned to add a master fader. All clearly noob issues, so I need to go to school on this.

Southsidemusic 01-07-2020 12:39 AM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mophilly (Post 2550138)
... I set up a new track. No joy with the piano. However, I learned that for the direct line from the guitar amp I need to use an Instrument track. It now records as desired! I also learned to add a master fader. All clearly noob issues, so I need to go to school on this.

No, from the external guitar amp you need an Audio Track to record into. Instrument track is for internal Virtual Instruments, not external gear.

musicman691 01-07-2020 05:08 AM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Let's get back to basics. Once the P105 MIDI is connected to your computer download the free MIDI monitor program called snoize. Install it and run it outside of PT. Play the P105 and if things are connected right you'll see some items come up in the snoize display. For instance if you play some notes you should see an indication of that in snoize. Some keyboards that have both 5 pin MIDI and USB MIDI will only output on one or the other b ut not both at the same time - check the setup preferences on the P105.

Assuming you see activity in snoize then PT should automatically see input from the P105. I find these MIDI monitor programs like snoize on a Mac and MIDI-OX on Windows to be indispensible when tracking down MIDI issues.

mophilly 01-07-2020 05:00 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Thanks!

I will try setting up an Audio Track for the guitar amp.

Yamaha sent another note suggesting I try a different port, or a different cable. If that doesn't work, then try resetting the piano to factory defaults.

I downloaded snoise midi monitor. Great app! It doesn't see the piano either. It does see the Scarlett. Given the midi monitor doesn't see it, the cable is now suspect.

I am going to reset the piano. I don't have anything stored that I need to preserve. Then a new cable.

I appreciate everyone's help very much.

mophilly 01-08-2020 06:10 PM

Resolved: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Changing the guitar track to Audio Track worked well. :-)

I got a new USB 2.0 compatible cable (Amazon, US$8.00). This also worked; the digital piano now appears in Pro Tools, and in Audio MIDI Setup. It does not appear by name in the Yamaha preferences panel, but that doesn't matter now.

The track responds, but the volume is very low. If it was coming through the interface, I would increase the gain. I am now reading through the documents for the piano and PT to see where that control might be hiding.

Thank you all very much. I am excited to get started in earnest.

Southsidemusic 01-08-2020 07:36 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Great!

Thanks for letting us know the progress.

Is it the piano level thats low or guitar levels?

Ben Jenssen 01-09-2020 12:50 AM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Good to hear, mophilly.
I wish you all the best.

mophilly 01-09-2020 09:46 AM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Southsidemusic (Post 2550357)
Is it the piano level thats low or guitar levels?

The piano. The track volume fader is set to 0. When I play the piano the track level meter barely tips the 50 mark.

Southsidemusic 01-09-2020 11:13 AM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mophilly (Post 2550413)
The piano. The track volume fader is set to 0. When I play the piano the track level meter barely tips the 50 mark.

What Virtual Synth do you have on the instrument track?

mophilly 01-09-2020 02:41 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
I used Expand!2... However, I must have not set it correctly or something. I launched PT just now to check the setting, and there wasn't an insert at all. I added Expand!2 to Insert A and it now is playing at a proper volume.

Queue happy dance.

Thank you again for all the attention and advice. It really helped me.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:05 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com