Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Third Party Interfaces (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=53)
-   -   Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=341885)

hermonmusic 07-16-2013 02:20 PM

Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
If you are using the Scarlett 18i20 and pro Tools 11, could you share your experience?
I have a DIGI 002 but I would like to get the Scarlett 18i20 from Focusrite, is it good or not? What about sound quality vs DIGI 002?
Sometimes I need more than 4 mic preamps.
Is USB 2 fast enough?
I already have Pro Tools 11.

Thank you for your help.

dave911 07-16-2013 06:53 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
As far as sound quality the Focusrite will be a big improvement over the 002.
I had a 002 but bypassed the audio chain quite a while back.
I use the Saffire line so I don't know about how the USB plays.

dr_daw 07-16-2013 06:55 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
I've opted not to go with PT 11, but the Focusrite pre's in their units are great. IF you have F/W, I would suggest a Saffire Pro 40 or Liquid Saffire 56 over USB 2 device.

cwsand 07-16-2013 08:35 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dr_daw (Post 2063587)
Focusrite pre's in their units are great. IF you have F/W, I would suggest a Saffire Pro 40 or Liquid Saffire 56 over USB 2 device.

+1 :D

Chris

nst7 07-16-2013 09:07 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
On the other hand, USB performance on newer interfaces is as good as firewire. People who have this unit are able to go down to a buffer of 32. The USB version will also keep your interface on a separate buss from your firewire drives if you have them. There's some positive discussion of the 18i20 on Gearslutz that you might check out.

hermonmusic 07-16-2013 10:15 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Thank you all for your input.
I have firewire drives, one for audio and one virtual instruments but when I have connected the DIGI 002, pro tools 10 and 11 act very slow, (I know my computer is a MacBook Pro 2009) and was wondering if a usb interface, this one in particular (18i20) would help until I buy a new computer. (the new mac pro)

Thank you again for all your help

TimothyJohn 07-23-2013 06:10 AM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nst7 (Post 2063625)
On the other hand, USB performance on newer interfaces is as good as firewire. People who have this unit are able to go down to a buffer of 32. The USB version will also keep your interface on a separate buss from your firewire drives if you have them. There's some positive discussion of the 18i20 on Gearslutz that you might check out.

I just got one-superb, couldn't be happier. Only had it a few days, but have been tracking drums, and recording 7 tracks simultaneously at a buffer of 32!

The only thing is, that when you register, the characters are case sensitive. And if you are instructed to update the firmware; well the Scarlett didn't work correctly until after I reinstalled the drivers as well. Smooth sailing ever since.

Oh, and one more thing. After start up, in mac's audio/midi app, the Scarlett defaults to a 14in/16 out device. I change it with the pulldown to 18i20. Minor hassle, but haven't figured out why this happens.

Good luck!
Tim

hermonmusic 07-25-2013 03:54 AM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
I need help! I would like to make a sound quality comparison between the DIGI 002 and the Scarlett 18i20. What's the best way to do it? I'm interested more in vocals. I do a lot of accapella stuff.
Thank you in advance.

nst7 07-25-2013 08:06 AM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
No need to do a comparison. The Focusrite units sound much better. You can ask anyone who's switched.

albee1952 07-25-2013 04:41 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nst7 (Post 2066623)
No need to do a comparison. The Focusrite units sound much better. You can ask anyone who's switched.

Have to agree. Consider, the 002 is a 10 year old device with 10 year old technology. Scarlett is all new. Nobody EVER acused the 002 of being a great sounding unit. It was and is a functional device, and anyone concerned about audio quality, would bypass the 002'a analog circuitry whenever possible:o

Jacksonland 08-02-2013 01:52 AM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
I recently switched from an 002 to the 18i20. There is almost no comparison in the sound. The Focusrite sounds like an audiophile product compared to the 002. Even playback from the outputs is amazingly better, not to mention the mic pre's, and it is less than half the price with 8 pre's and 2 good DI inputs, two headphone mixes, dim and mute; and you can always add another 8 mic pre's with an optical cable.

DonaldM 08-03-2013 07:07 AM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jacksonland (Post 2069154)
I recently switched from an 002 to the 18i20. There is almost no comparison in the sound. The Focusrite sounds like an audiophile product compared to the 002. Even playback from the outputs is amazingly better, not to mention the mic pre's, and it is less than half the price with 8 pre's and 2 good DI inputs, two headphone mixes, dim and mute; and you can always add another 8 mic pre's with an optical cable.

I had the same experience with the 8i6 I just got. Couldn't believe the difference in sound quality. Its like I'm hearing mixes in my sessions for the very first time!

ron_from_RIFAS 08-29-2013 06:46 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
I have an 18i20 and an 18i8. I link them via the optical and record 12 tracks at 128 on an older Dell laptop. We have an 002 and the sound is definitely fuller with a more pleasing bass response.



Keep in mind the future. FireWire is on its way out. USB is apparently here to stay and Thunderbolt has yet to catch on in audio devices. Since my next laptop is guaranteed NOT to have Firewire I went with the Scarlett series instead of the Saffire.





Sent from my HTC 8X using Tapatalk

DonaldM 08-30-2013 08:06 AM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ron_from_RIFAS (Post 2077846)
I have an 18i20 and an 18i8. I link them via the optical and record 12 tracks at 128 on an older Dell laptop. We have an 002 and the sound is definitely fuller with a more pleasing bass response.



Keep in mind the future. FireWire is on its way out. USB is apparently here to stay and Thunderbolt has yet to catch on in audio devices. Since my next laptop is guaranteed NOT to have Firewire I went with the Scarlett series instead of the Saffire.





Sent from my HTC 8X using Tapatalk

I notice you're using a Windows system like me. How has your experience been with the Scarlette and the Mix Control Program? I've had major issues with it when having to switch sample rates from one session to another. I have to completely exit PT (10 or 11), then set the sample rate in the MC program, then re-open PT. I have to do this because I have some older sessions I did in 44.1k instead of 48k (mostly because I forgot to switch it!). Instead of the MC program just reading the new sample rate, and everything goes fine, it switches the rate, but then PT can no longer access the Scarlette 8i6. So I'm wondering how your experience with that has been?

ron_from_RIFAS 09-02-2013 08:29 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Its been hit or miss for me. If I'm using the two units together then I need to switch before launching pro tools. Focusrite has on going beta drivers for the MC in which their trying to weed out issues like that. USB 3.0 also seems to be a hot issue for them. It's only annoying to me when the sample rate or "lost connection" issues aren't consistent.





Sent from my HTC 8X using Tapatalk

DonaldM 09-03-2013 01:01 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ron_from_RIFAS (Post 2078952)
Its been hit or miss for me. If I'm using the two units together then I need to switch before launching pro tools. Focusrite has on going beta drivers for the MC in which their trying to weed out issues like that. USB 3.0 also seems to be a hot issue for them. It's only annoying to me when the sample rate or "lost connection" issues aren't consistent.

Sent from my HTC 8X using Tapatalk

Thanks for the info. I've gone back and forth with their tech assistance trying to get this sorted. The bottom line is they are saying that the issue lies with Pro Tools, and not their MC software or the focusrite driver. Apparently this issue doesn't crop up with other DAWs that use the same Focusrite set-up, though I haven't verified that independently.

So, the options are to either, return the 8i6 and go for a different brand altogether or live with it until such time as Focusrite and/or Avid can solve it. I'm reluctant to abandon the 8i6 because it sounds so good, so as long as I remember to jump through these extra hoops, I should be okay for now. Its a PITA, but perhaps a better tradeoff for now. Still..be nice if they could fix it!

I also am told that it is not an issue with Mac systems.

ron_from_RIFAS 09-04-2013 06:16 AM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Avid really has its hands full of device issues on Windows. Search the DUC for threads about any of the Roland interfaces. Yikes! In general, I find the issues to be manageable. I like the Scarlett interfaces and am confident that I'll be dead before Avid figures out how to make Pro Tools stable with Windows drivers.





Sent from my HTC 8X using Tapatalk

DonaldM 09-04-2013 12:26 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by ron_from_RIFAS (Post 2079323)
Avid really has its hands full of device issues on Windows. Search the DUC for threads about any of the Roland interfaces. Yikes! In general, I find the issues to be manageable. I like the Scarlett interfaces and am confident that I'll be dead before Avid figures out how to make Pro Tools stable with Windows drivers.
Sent from my HTC 8X using Tapatalk

That may be the post of the year! :D:D

BLUNTBRAD 11-23-2013 11:01 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
GEEz, Im going insane over here. Everytime I open a session now. It doesn't matter how i start, I might be able to record, or play for 20 seconds, i might get 3 minutes. Error, Pro Tools can't find, scarlet.. Please restart pro tools. I have updated my driver, I have tried to disable midi in the activity. Nothing.. It wasn't even near this bad just a week ago, i have all the newest stuff. Which should show on my signature. Please help!!!!!

BLUNTBRAD 11-23-2013 11:04 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
I don't see my equipment listed. So its a Focusrite 18i20, A brand new Mac running OS x 10.9, 2.6 ghz intel core i7, 16gb 1600 mhz DDR3, running pro tools 11 LE.

Ps yesterday, it would say it couldn't see my Ilok, and kept asking me to plug it in, when it was, and was on. After i turned everything off for a couple minutes, and back on, it stopped that crap, and then started this. I have tried everything, turning things on in a different order, anything!!!

BLUNTBRAD 11-26-2013 02:44 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Still no help on this? Geez

kaibosh 03-05-2014 03:52 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
If you run into a record/playback issue with PT11/Scarlett - here's a possible fix for Windows.

The "Dynamic plug-in processing" feature will prevent a Scarlett interface from being able to record or playback audio in Pro Tools 11 running on Windows systems.

To overcome this switch off "Dynamic plug-in processing" in Setup > Playback Engine.

Katherine_Focusrite 03-13-2014 12:13 PM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Hi Everyone,

I see that a lot of you have very different types of issues on Macs and PCs. Most of the issues I see here look unrelated user to user.

If you need assistance it would be great if you can contact us directly so we can take a look at your individual computer setup and assist you better.

Here is our direct contact info, and also I will try to answer some of these individual questions about drivers, etc, below.

http://us.focusrite.com/answerbase/contact
(If you are looking for the US Tech Phone click the Focusrite Distributor link, choose US)

Quote:

Keep in mind the future. FireWire is on its way out. USB is apparently here to stay and Thunderbolt has yet to catch on in audio devices. Since my next laptop is guaranteed NOT to have Firewire I went with the Scarlett series instead of the Saffire.
Here I can say Firewire is not on it's way out. You will likely see Firewire products continue for a long while.

Firewire does offer higher bandwidth and better isochronus (two way stream) transfer than USB. It is more of a "pro" connection than USB, which is why you are not as likely to see it on consumer level computers.

Note that you can use the Firewire Saffire line in Dual Unit configurations, but not the Scarletts, as Firewire is more capable of this.

Still we would never make a unit that can't pass it's own channel count well, so you can rely on the 18i20 to be able to run all it's channels at the same time efficiently.

Thunderbolt is a direct connection into the PCI bus. So using a Firewire to Thunderbolt adapter is the same as your old Firewire PCI or PCIe card you used to have to get.

I really think computers are just moving to the mobility of having one or two thunderbolt ports and then a dock that offers you all the ports you lost for when you are at home.

Here are some links on the matter.

http://us.focusrite.com/answerbase/s...nderbolt-on-pc

http://us.focusrite.com/thunderbolt-compatible

http://www.sonnettech.com/product/ec...rboltdock.html

http://www.belkin.com/us/p/P-F4U055/

Quote:

Focusrite has on going beta drivers for the MC in which their trying to weed out issues like that. USB 3.0 also seems to be a hot issue for them.
We will always have more and more drivers in beta due to the constant release of other updates to OSes, hardware, etc in the market. When you fix one issue then someone else releases another update and you have ten more to fix. Nature of computers really. Just know that if something happens we are happy to get to work it for you!

USB 3.0 comes with the main issue that while these ports SHOULD be fully backwards compatible to USB 2.0 that is not always the case. With so many different manufacturers of USB 3.0 ports on various PC hardware you may see some that aren't as good as others.

That being said lately we have found that in many cases updating the USB 3.0 controller drivers from the motherboard or computer manufacturer resolves these types of issues.

Quote:

The bottom line is they are saying that the issue lies with Pro Tools, and not their MC software or the focusrite driver. Apparently this issue doesn't crop up with other DAWs that use the same Focusrite set-up, though I haven't verified that independently.
As I'm sure some of you have noticed we are finding a lot of Pro Tools users who have better luck with issues like "Unable to Initialize Audio Device" on the beta 2.5b4 driver than the 2.5.1 driver.

We are looking into what reasons for this may be with Avid's help.

Quote:

GEEz, Im going insane over here. Everytime I open a session now. It doesn't matter how i start, I might be able to record, or play for 20 seconds, i might get 3 minutes. Error, Pro Tools can't find, scarlet.. Please restart pro tools. I have updated my driver, I have tried to disable midi in the activity. Nothing.. It wasn't even near this bad just a week ago, i have all the newest stuff. Which should show on my signature. Please help!!!!!
This sounds like it could a number of things, so please contact directly so we can get your System Reports, etc, and help you sort this out.

Please let me know if I can assist you guys further.

Kat

hooksound 06-26-2015 02:58 AM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Hello.

I bought the Focusrite Scarlett 18i20 a couple of months ago. You will have to look very hard to find such a price friendly combo of specs and features and it looks awesome too. Unfortunately, it was a great disappointment to me. I never got it up and running stable with any of the (also beta) drivers. I have an Intel based Fujitsu laptop, that runs with everything else I connect to it. The 18i20 lost the USB connection spontaneously and hence PT10 or PT11 wouldn't run stable with it as well. I'm not against using some time to optimise stuff, but if the unit does not run decently out-of-the-box, I'm out. Another irritating thing was that some of the the buttons on the front plate went very light and some very tight. Sorry, it had to go for a refund.

Anyway, regarding FW vs. USB, I agree with Katherine on the tech side. Only thing is that it seems to me that the PC manufacturers doesn't care, so especially with laptops, this is a problem. Very few of them has on-board FW and if they have, it's very often not based on an "audio friendly" chipset. Then the laptop will have to at least have a PCI ExpressCard slot and many of them don't have that either.

ShiftStudios 06-27-2015 08:53 AM

Re: Pro Tools 11 with Focusrite Scarlett 18i20?
 
Just throwing my hand up to vouch for Focusrite gear. I have a Liquid Saffire 56 and an Octopre Dynamic MkII. Having been using both constantly for years for many projects. Both great units. Currently connected to my MOTU 16A bypassing the A/D converters on the Focusrite gear for the Sabre32 converters in the MOTU. No complaints here! :D


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com