Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Post - Surround - Video (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   ProTools 7.3.1LE Normalize Bug (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=211793)

Curtis Marolt 12-14-2007 09:15 AM

ProTools 7.3.1LE Normalize Bug
 
We have found an odd problem with Audiosuite's "Normalize" processor. When we try and process multiple regions with "Normalize". Pro Tools will not normalize the files that reside below the normalize level.

For example:

I have 30 files/regions on a track. 15 are peaking at 0 and 15 are peaking at -6db (their order is mixed up). I want to bring all files up to 0. So I highlight all 30 files and set Normalize to the following.... "region list" (or playlist), use in playlist is selected, create individual files, and "individual Level"

After I hit process, the files remain exactly the same. The normalize function is behaving as if "all relative levels" is selected. Because if I were to reduce the gain of the 15 files from 0 to -3, all the files will raise by 3 db. We have tried every combo of parameters and it always malfunctions.

This function has worked fine in older versions. Currently we have seven PTle7.3.1 le dv toolkit rigs (of various cs updates) where this function seems to be broken. But on our 6.9.2 HD rig, it works fine.

My system is configured as follows...

MacPro 2x2 Dual Core, 4 gig ram, PTle 7.3.1 cs2, dv toolkit2, os10.4.8


Any help would be great!

Curtis Marolt 12-14-2007 09:16 AM

Re: ProTools 7.3.1LE Normalize Bug
 
To follow up...

I also contacted Digi tech support and the Digi bug report. I received two different answers.........

"Hi,

Make sure that you have "Region by Region" selected and not "Entire
Selection". This should resolve the issue. You can find information
about this setting on page 34 of the Digirack Plug-ins guide linked
to your help menu.

Best regards,
Digidesign Technical Support"

AND

"Hi,

We are aware of the change in behavior and are hoping to address it
in a future release. Thanks for you patience with this issue.

Best regards,
Digidesign Technical Support"


Which is it?

I have tried every possible setting and Normalize does dose behave properly on our 7.3.1 LE systems.

Any help ideas? Does 7.4 fix this? Or does it just improve my ability to "make beatz"???


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:00 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com