Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Getting Started (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=407671)

mophilly 12-18-2019 05:05 PM

Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
I am setting up a new PT config. I have a Yamaha P-105, iMac Late 2013 running MacOS 10.13.6, and a Focusrite 18i8 2nd gen. I would love a link to step by step instructions that takes me from the MacOS set up for midi connect, through PT setup of hardware and Peripherals, and on to the I/O.

I have found set up vids for various parts but I am still missing a connection somewhere*.

The Focusrite software is installed and the USB connection light on the front indicate the computer knows about it.

I can see the keyboard and IAC in the Audio Midi Setup.

But... I don't get how to hook that to PT and test recording.

All help greatly appreciated.

*As aside, hopefully humorous for some, I got through this on my other system that is currently sidelined due to the Catalina update. This makes me feel like a real Homer Simpson... I just failed to take good notes.

Ben Jenssen 12-18-2019 07:29 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
What version of PT?
Are you using an instrument track and a VI, or trying to record the keyboard output?
Help Us Help You

mophilly 12-18-2019 11:02 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen (Post 2548192)
What version of PT?
Are you using an instrument track and a VI, or trying to record the keyboard output?
Help Us Help You

Thanks for the link to "help us help you". I will read through it. The "troubleshooting for Mac" looks like fertile ground to dig into.

I am using PT 2019.10.0.

Hardware Setup is set to Scarlett 18i8. When I open the Setup app, I see the Scarlett device. Not sure what to pay attention to there.

Playback Engine is set to Scarlet 18i8 USB, 512k samples, the rest default.

Peripherals MIDI controllers is set to HUI and Yamaha P-105 for input and output.

I/O has 4 stereo lines (eight total), one for SPDIF and four ADAT pairs for input, and 4 pairs for output.

When I open a test project, after a moment PT presents an alert that says PT cannot communicate with the HUI.

mophilly 01-03-2020 09:22 AM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
To follow up on this: I still haven't established the "right" way to connect the Yamaha digital piano P-105. I wrote to the folks at Focusrite, who replied that I need not connect the piano to the interface. Rather, set up midi on the Mac and Pro Tools should see it.

After a bit of fussing about I can see the piano listed in the Peripherals. So I set Midi Control #1 to HUI and selected the piano for send and receive. When I click Ok, Pro Tools says the device cannot be found at the path given. I tried M-Audio, too, with a similar result.

So... I followed instructions to reset the default I/O but no joy. I then searched for info about the P-105 and MIDI on Mac. Some articles said it doesn't work, so I wrote to Yamaha asking if the P-105 was compatible and if so how to connect. No reply yet.

Any tips, hints or wags warmly accepted. :-)

Ben Jenssen 01-03-2020 11:07 AM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
First, the keyboard is not a HUI controller, it's a midi device and it should be connected to the computer (not the interface) by USB.

PT should detect it automatically, and if you create a instrument track with a virtual instrument plugin inserted, it should make sound when the instrument track is selected and you press a key.

So deselect it in peripherals.

mophilly 01-03-2020 02:02 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen (Post 2549790)
First, the keyboard is not a HUI controller, it's a midi device and it should be connected to the computer (not the interface) by USB.

PT should detect it automatically, and if you create a instrument track with a virtual instrument plugin inserted, it should make sound when the instrument track is selected and you press a key.

So deselect it in peripherals.

Thank you! I am slowly getting my head around this.

Will any virtual instrument do? Any suggestion for one for a newbie? Sounds silly to ask but I was thrashing and that is rarely fun or satisfying.

Ben Jenssen 01-03-2020 02:07 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mophilly (Post 2549805)
Thank you! I am slowly getting my head around this.

Will any virtual instrument do? Any suggestion for one for a newbie? Sounds silly to ask but I was thrashing and that is rarely fun or satisfying.

Just insert one of the plugins you find under the "Instruments" sub-menu. Like XPand.

Southsidemusic 01-03-2020 02:24 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
1 Attachment(s)
Doesn’t the Focusrite Interface have midi in and out? If so just get 2 cheap 5 dollar midi cables and connect to the keyboard and if it doesn’t have midi in and out and you dont have USB Midi on the yamaha you need 2 cheap 5 dollar midi cables.

Does it look like this on the back?

Ben Jenssen 01-03-2020 02:33 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
The Yamaha P-105 has USB out, i think.

Southsidemusic 01-03-2020 02:37 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen (Post 2549813)
The Yamaha P-105 has USB out, i think.

Ok then PT should find that keyboard if connected correct and setup correctly in PT and the Mac. No drivers or HUI or anything like that.

Ben Jenssen 01-03-2020 02:40 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Southsidemusic (Post 2549815)
Ok then PT should find that keyboard if connected correct and setup correctly in PT and the Mac. No drivers or HUI or anything like that.

Which is what i said.

mophilly 01-04-2020 08:31 AM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Thanks to all who have posted. I really appreciate the suggestions and info.

For the record, here is the current details from my PT project.

-- Hardware and Software
Pro Tools 2019-12
iMac (late 2013) running MacOS Catalina (10.15.2)
Yamaha P-105
Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 2nd Gen

-- Pro Tools Setup
Hardware: Scarlett
Playback Engine: Scarlett, HW Buffer size 256 Samples, playback cache 1GB
Peripherals: installation defaults
I/O: default paths to Scarlett; all other settings default on installation
MIDI setup:
MIDI Studio: Scarlett and a general device that I named as piano. Manufacturer is Yamaha, nothing in model
MIDI Beat Clock: “Scarlett” enabled, “Expand!2 1” disabled
MIDI Fitler: defaults
MIDI Input Devices: Only Scarlett listed and it is selected

-- Track: 1 (works)
Input: Input 1 of Scarlett, connected to Shure microphone
Output: BO12 (Scarlett analogue 1)
Instrument: nothing
Inserts: AIR non-linear reverb
Sends: none

-- Track: 2 (not working)
Input: no input… what goes here? input, bus or plugin? plug in is greyed out.
Output: BO12 (Scarlett analogue 1)
Instrument: All, none
Insert: multi-channel input > EQ > AIR EQ Kill
Send: none

mophilly 01-04-2020 12:23 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Southsidemusic (Post 2549812)
Doesn’t the Focusrite Interface have midi in and out? If so just get 2 cheap 5 dollar midi cables and connect to the keyboard and if it doesn’t have midi in and out and you dont have USB Midi on the yamaha you need 2 cheap 5 dollar midi cables.

Does it look like this on the back?

Yes, the back of the Focusrite Scarlett does have the 5 pin DIN connectors for midi in and out.

However, the Yamaha P-105 has a USB type B connector. https://www.cablestogo.com/learning/...es/usb#!b-type

The cable I have is USB type B to USB type A, similar to this: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ..._0_Type_A.html

I have looked around for a USB to MIDI 5 pin DIN adapter without any luck.

The Yamaha P-105 does have auxiliary output, but that would not be MIDI.

Ben Jenssen 01-04-2020 12:45 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mophilly (Post 2549918)
The cable I have is USB type B to USB type A, similar to this: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ..._0_Type_A.html

And that's all you need. Plug it in the computer and get going.

mophilly 01-04-2020 02:21 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ben Jenssen (Post 2549921)
And that's all you need. Plug it in the computer and get going.

Yeah! Except it doesn't. I cannot "see" the piano in the PT input.

Ben Jenssen 01-04-2020 02:29 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mophilly (Post 2549930)
Yeah! Except it doesn't. I cannot "see" the piano in the PT input.

Like I said earlier; unless something is faulty, it should be automatically recognized by PT. Plug it in (the keyboard), restart pro tools, make a instrument track, insert a instrument plugin on it (to make the sound when you hit the keys), and make shure the instrument track is selected (its name is highlighted), and it should work.

mophilly 01-04-2020 02:52 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Thank you, Ben. I will try again.

Ben Jenssen 01-04-2020 02:54 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
I'm sorry, I should have pointed out; the piano will not show up in track input selectors. It's a midi controller, and the clue is to select the midi- or instrument track you want it to control.


I hope you're aware that as a midi device, it won't output its own sounds, it will only be a way to trigger instrument plugins.

Ben Jenssen 01-04-2020 03:06 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
So, if you want to use the piano as a sound source, just connect its stereo outputs, L&R, to your interface, make a stereo audio track with input set to 1-2, and rec enable it.

mophilly 01-05-2020 06:37 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Thank you, Ben, for taking time to help me through this.

You wrote, "It's a midi controller, and the clue is to select the midi- or instrument track you want it to control." Hm... somewhere along the line I got the impression that the digital piano was not a midi controller. I will work along that idea and set up a new track.

mophilly 01-06-2020 06:52 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Yamaha responded to my request for help. The driver suggested did add a Preference panel to the MacOS System Prefs. However, the pick list of devices is empty. PT still does not "see" the piano, and Audio MIDI Setup still has Yamaha as manufacturer but not the P-105 in the model list. I sent Yamaha support screen shots; perhaps that will spark an idea in their mind.

I am going to test the cable. I don't think it is faulty as it worked at one point. I still think the primary problem is between the chair and keyboard.

Ben, I set up a new track. No joy with the piano. However, I learned that for the direct line from the guitar amp I need to use an Instrument track. It now records as desired! I also learned to add a master fader. All clearly noob issues, so I need to go to school on this.

Southsidemusic 01-06-2020 11:39 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mophilly (Post 2550138)
... I set up a new track. No joy with the piano. However, I learned that for the direct line from the guitar amp I need to use an Instrument track. It now records as desired! I also learned to add a master fader. All clearly noob issues, so I need to go to school on this.

No, from the external guitar amp you need an Audio Track to record into. Instrument track is for internal Virtual Instruments, not external gear.

musicman691 01-07-2020 04:08 AM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Let's get back to basics. Once the P105 MIDI is connected to your computer download the free MIDI monitor program called snoize. Install it and run it outside of PT. Play the P105 and if things are connected right you'll see some items come up in the snoize display. For instance if you play some notes you should see an indication of that in snoize. Some keyboards that have both 5 pin MIDI and USB MIDI will only output on one or the other b ut not both at the same time - check the setup preferences on the P105.

Assuming you see activity in snoize then PT should automatically see input from the P105. I find these MIDI monitor programs like snoize on a Mac and MIDI-OX on Windows to be indispensible when tracking down MIDI issues.

mophilly 01-07-2020 04:00 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Thanks!

I will try setting up an Audio Track for the guitar amp.

Yamaha sent another note suggesting I try a different port, or a different cable. If that doesn't work, then try resetting the piano to factory defaults.

I downloaded snoise midi monitor. Great app! It doesn't see the piano either. It does see the Scarlett. Given the midi monitor doesn't see it, the cable is now suspect.

I am going to reset the piano. I don't have anything stored that I need to preserve. Then a new cable.

I appreciate everyone's help very much.

mophilly 01-08-2020 05:10 PM

Resolved: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Changing the guitar track to Audio Track worked well. :-)

I got a new USB 2.0 compatible cable (Amazon, US$8.00). This also worked; the digital piano now appears in Pro Tools, and in Audio MIDI Setup. It does not appear by name in the Yamaha preferences panel, but that doesn't matter now.

The track responds, but the volume is very low. If it was coming through the interface, I would increase the gain. I am now reading through the documents for the piano and PT to see where that control might be hiding.

Thank you all very much. I am excited to get started in earnest.

Southsidemusic 01-08-2020 06:36 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Great!

Thanks for letting us know the progress.

Is it the piano level thats low or guitar levels?

Ben Jenssen 01-08-2020 11:50 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Good to hear, mophilly.
I wish you all the best.

mophilly 01-09-2020 08:46 AM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Southsidemusic (Post 2550357)
Is it the piano level thats low or guitar levels?

The piano. The track volume fader is set to 0. When I play the piano the track level meter barely tips the 50 mark.

Southsidemusic 01-09-2020 10:13 AM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mophilly (Post 2550413)
The piano. The track volume fader is set to 0. When I play the piano the track level meter barely tips the 50 mark.

What Virtual Synth do you have on the instrument track?

mophilly 01-09-2020 01:41 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
I used Expand!2... However, I must have not set it correctly or something. I launched PT just now to check the setting, and there wasn't an insert at all. I added Expand!2 to Insert A and it now is playing at a proper volume.

Queue happy dance.

Thank you again for all the attention and advice. It really helped me.

Southsidemusic 01-09-2020 02:08 PM

Re: Focusrite 18i8, iMac High Sierra, Midi keyboard
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mophilly (Post 2550444)
I used Expand!2... However, I must have not set it correctly or something. I launched PT just now to check the setting, and there wasn't an insert at all. I added Expand!2 to Insert A and it now is playing at a proper volume.

Queue happy dance.

Thank you again for all the attention and advice. It really helped me.

We are all here to help eachother and in the future it might
be your turn to help :-)

Thanks again for the updates and for following our suggestions!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:40 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com