Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 9 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...) (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=288391)

SD2 11-27-2010 11:52 AM

PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)
 
Hello there,

I have a question and can't find a precise answer.
here's the scenario.
I have two stations: one PTLE and one PTHD(3).

I've just bought the PT9 upgrade and also bought the DVToolkit to CPTK upgrade.
The question is: what will happen to both DVToolkit2 and Digitranslator licences?
Will they both be replaced (=trashed) by the CPTK on my Iloks?...

If so, I'm afraid it will mean that I wont be able to:
1/Open PTLE8 (with DvToolkit options), which I still wish to use for a week or two (until PT9 is fully functionnal on it's dedicated drive and OS).
2/Use Digitranslator to open OMF/AAF on the HD station.

Any idea/experience?
Thanks

Keybeeetsss 11-27-2010 11:57 AM

Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)
 
Well u do realize that u hav all the same functions with the CPTK rite? So u aren't losing anything although u will lose the license but I'm not sure that should be much of a worry...

Toolkit works with 9 as well... & are these 2 different iloks?

sunburst79 11-27-2010 12:10 PM

Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SD2 (Post 1711497)
Hello there,

I have a question and can't find a precise answer.
here's the scenario.
I have two stations: one PTLE and one PTHD(3).

I've just bought the PT9 upgrade and also bought the DVToolkit to CPTK upgrade.
The question is: what will happen to both DVToolkit2 and Digitranslator licences?
Will they both be replaced (=trashed) by the CPTK on my Iloks?...

If so, I'm afraid it will mean that I wont be able to:
1/Open PTLE8 (with DvToolkit options), which I still wish to use for a week or two (until PT9 is fully functionnal on it's dedicated drive and OS).
2/Use Digitranslator to open OMF/AAF on the HD station.

Any idea/experience?
Thanks

You get to keep Digitranslater. You will have to surrender the DVTK2 asset to get the CPTK2 asset. If you need to continue working in PTLE 8.0 with the DVTK2 you should get a hold of Avid CSA and they will deposit a 2 year NFR DVTK2 asset to your iLok account to use with PTLE 8.0

IHTH

mykhal c 11-27-2010 12:18 PM

Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)
 
to add...there was another cat in the same bind and he called Avid support, and IIRC they issued him a 2 yr DVTK NFR license since he would lose that functionality on his PT8 system once he surrendered the DVTK for his CPTK2 upgrade. i would think the same type of call would be the only way to 'try' to maintain your current functionality on both systems as you upgrade;)

nst7 11-27-2010 01:40 PM

Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)
 
Unless you need to use the HD and the LE at the same time, it would have made more sense to just buy the PT9 HD upgrade. That way you'd have the functionality of CPTK and Digitranslator on both setups. You would just install the PT9 HD software on your computer that uses LE, and you could run the software that way, with all functionality, with whatever interface you want, including your current LE interface.

SD2 11-29-2010 03:35 AM

Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)
 
Thanks for the heads up guys.
That confirms what I thought. I'll try asking for a NFR, sounds like a good idea.
As far as PT9 is concerned, I have to admit that, when I picked the upgrade, I thought V9 now included both the LE and HD version. And then I saw there was also a HD upgrade... :mad:
Anyway, not that bad since I can't use PTHD9 right now. PTHD runs on a G5 (PCI ports) and I've planed a hardware upgrade to PCI-e cards but not before one month or two (and my rseller says PT9 should come along with the new cards).

L-Dogg 11-29-2010 05:01 PM

Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)
 
They gave me one year for some reason.

SD2 11-30-2010 07:22 AM

Re: PT9 and its options (CPTK, Digitranslator...)
 
Now, I have to find a way to reach AVID....
Support seems to be kinda overwhelmed.
All I could do was to leave a message. Two days ago...
Will it be answered?... :rolleyes:


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:07 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com