Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   Best Desktops for Pro Tools LE (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=62234)

Allen Hallada 02-13-2002 09:02 PM

Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00
 
Like I said, the KT266a chipset has not outperformed the AMD760 chipset with digi001 and in some cases underperformed it. So we are not seeing the correlation between the study done at www.tomshardware.com and here.

You will not need a Promise card with either the GA7DXR or the A7V266E.

You can disable onboard sound in bios so don't worry about that.

Yes you need a dedicated audio drive for optimal performance. You could go with a 20GB system drive or smaller and an 80GB or bigger audio drive if you want. Stick with the IBM 60GXP series and avoid the IBM 75GXP series and the new Seagate drives.

YOu can mention my name if you want, I don't make any commission and they don't know who I am anyway. [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img]

Allen

digitaltoast 02-14-2002 11:15 AM

Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00
 
It'll raise the price a bit, but the Enlight Desktop Case Model EN-7200AM as seen on newegg (thanks for the link allen forgot all about that one) is "rackmountable" no ears but fits. 4 spaces leaves room for my keyboard on top.

digitaltoast 02-14-2002 11:45 AM

Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00
 
Hey Allen read this...

Now for the reason that brought me here. I need a new motherboard ... mine died and I bought a new one (w/o looking/thinking) and it is incompatible with Digi. I got rid of all the -6002 errors but it only works for about 20 minutes without hanging. Having just been "burnt" by a bad mobo, I'm tenative to head away from the Digi recommendations. Although the power shown above sure is tempting. I really curious about the performance difference of a supported SDRAM mobo vs. unsupported DDR mobo. I have a 733Intel chip now, but since I need another new mobo anyway, it looks like I'll get a 1700+. Time is of the essence here, as I can't work until a new board is in place. Allen seems to be the guru here so anything you (or anyone) can tell me would be appreciated. If you could send me a private email that'd be appreciated, my email is digitaldan@mailandnews.com

Thanks all...

APAULOS 02-14-2002 04:55 PM

Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00
 
Allen, I think you said that you use the Koolance case right? Is that the rackmountable one? I would really like to have one of those!
I haven't hooked up with my friend yet but I still plan to send your your belated birhtday present. [img]images/icons/wink.gif[/img]

Allen Hallada 02-14-2002 05:17 PM

Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00
 
I'm using the desktop case version. I don't think the rack mount is being sold yet even though they show the picture on their site. I would definitely put it at the bottom of the rack. I guess you know why.

Yes, I've been waiting for that belated B-day present. Hea hea.
Allen

musikman 02-15-2002 08:17 AM

Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00
 
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by Allen Hallada:
That is right. You can build the best performing system now for under 900.00. I used the GA7DX as it is one of our top performers, and is the least expensive of the top performers. Add about 20.00 for the A7M266 and 60.00 for the A7V266E. This should get you 24 Audio tracks + 18 Aux. tracks with 5 plugins per track for a total of 210 plugins if tweeked correctly. That is 70-120% better performance than Mac G4 and P3 or P4 systems with rock solid stability. These are all top quality components proven to work with Digi001.

BLACK EVERCASE E4252B005 ATX MID Tower Case 25.00

Enermax Adjustable 8CM case cooling fan 8.00

ENERMAX EG365P-VE (FCA) 350W PSU 73.00

Volcano 7 Heatsink/Fan XP1800+ and higher, 27db noise 16.00

Giga-Byte GA-7DX+ motherboard 69.00

AMD XP 1800 138.00

Micron 512MB PC2100 DDR SDRAM 135.00

Matrox G450 Dual Video Card 48.00

IBM 60GXP 40GB ATA100 7200rpm 2 @ 79.00 each = 158.00

Promise ATA100 TX2 Controller Card 23.00

Teac 1.44MB 3.5 Inch Floppy Drive # FD235HFB291 9.00

PLEXTOR PX-W2410TA/SW 24x10x40 CDRW 131.00

Total: $833.00 (not including shipping)

Prices taken from www.pricewatch.com and www.newegg.com

Don't forget to get some Artic Silver paste for applying between the heatsink and CPU. Remember to apply only a thin layer. Don't gob it on! Some heatsinks come with their own paste.

Hope that helps out the newbies here and those looking to upgrade.

Updated 2/13/02

Allen [img]images/icons/shocked.gif[/img]
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR> <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>SO WHAT I AM BEING TOLD HERE IS THAT THE DELL DIMINSION 8200 P4 2.2 GHZ COMPUTER WITH 512MB OF RAM THAT I JUST BOUGHT IS USELESS???????.IT HAS NO NETWORK CARD OR ANYTHING EXTRA JUST A SOUND CARD, VIDEO CARD AND A MODEM WHICH IS WHAT THE COMPUTER I BUILT HAS. I JUST DONT HAVE ENOUGH HORSEPOWER TO PUSH 24 TRACKS. SO I SPENT MONEY ON THIS COMPUTER AND BEFORE I EVEN GET IT I FIND OUT THAT ITS NO GOOD! CAN SOMEBODY GIVE ME SOME SUPPORT HERE ON WHETHER OR NOT THIS DELL WILL WORK? IM SURE THAT I WILL HAVE TO STRIP THE SYSTEM OF WINDOWS XP AND PUT MY OTHER WINDOWS ON IT BUT I FIGURED THAT WOULD BE ALL THAT I WOULD HAVE TO DO TO HAVE A KICKIN' SYSTEM. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF IM WRONG ABOUT THIS.....musikman

knob twister 02-16-2002 02:57 PM

Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00
 
Welcome to the wonderfully wacky screwed up world of computer recording. Yes, these are treacherous waters in which we swim; quasi-compatibility, conflicting recomendations regarding Intel vs AMD, sometimes it's heaven and sometimes it's hell, what are ya gonna do?
I've been sifting through these pages and figure I'll probadly build "Allan's Computer"
with the Asus A7M266. From what I've read here though, you should be doing better than that with that screamer so don't give up.But yeah,I've felt the computer BURN uponst mine ass a time or two.

zboy2854 02-16-2002 04:42 PM

Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00
 
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by musikman:
SO WHAT I AM BEING TOLD HERE IS THAT THE DELL DIMINSION 8200 P4 2.2 GHZ COMPUTER WITH 512MB OF RAM THAT I JUST BOUGHT IS USELESS???????.IT HAS NO NETWORK CARD OR ANYTHING EXTRA JUST A SOUND CARD, VIDEO CARD AND A MODEM WHICH IS WHAT THE COMPUTER I BUILT HAS. I JUST DONT HAVE ENOUGH HORSEPOWER TO PUSH 24 TRACKS. SO I SPENT MONEY ON THIS COMPUTER AND BEFORE I EVEN GET IT I FIND OUT THAT ITS NO GOOD! CAN SOMEBODY GIVE ME SOME SUPPORT HERE ON WHETHER OR NOT THIS DELL WILL WORK? IM SURE THAT I WILL HAVE TO STRIP THE SYSTEM OF WINDOWS XP AND PUT MY OTHER WINDOWS ON IT BUT I FIGURED THAT WOULD BE ALL THAT I WOULD HAVE TO DO TO HAVE A KICKIN' SYSTEM. PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF IM WRONG ABOUT THIS.....musikman<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


First of all STOP SHOUTING! Second, you should still be able to get very good performance from a P4 2.2 Ghz machine provided that the motherboard included with the Dell does not contain an incompatible chipset. You need to find out what chipset is in the motherboard in the Dell to know whether you'll have problems or not. Also, do you have two hard drives in the system, one for your programs and one for your audio? If not, you'll have problems there.

Allen Hallada 02-16-2002 05:26 PM

Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00
 
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:<HR>Originally posted by digitaltoast:
Hey Allen read this...

Now for the reason that brought me here. I need a new motherboard ... mine died and I bought a new one (w/o looking/thinking) and it is incompatible with Digi. I got rid of all the -6002 errors but it only works for about 20 minutes without hanging. Having just been "burnt" by a bad mobo, I'm tenative to head away from the Digi recommendations. Although the power shown above sure is tempting. I really curious about the performance difference of a supported SDRAM mobo vs. unsupported DDR mobo. I have a 733Intel chip now, but since I need another new mobo anyway, it looks like I'll get a 1700+. Time is of the essence here, as I can't work until a new board is in place. Allen seems to be the guru here so anything you (or anyone) can tell me would be appreciated. If you could send me a private email that'd be appreciated, my email is digitaldan@mailandnews.com

Thanks all...
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


I would expect that the SDRAM will be faded out as DDR boards take over. Just much broader bandwidth and better performance and stability. See results on PT Performance thread. Get the GA7DX or A7M266 with an XP1800 or above processor, 512MB of PC2100 ram and a Promise ATA100 TX2 controller card and you will be very happy.
Allen

Phil O'Keefe 02-16-2002 08:35 PM

Re: Best System for PTLE for under $1000.00
 
Okay, again, thx Allen for all the suggestions. I've got a A7V266E, a AMD Athlon XP 1800, 256 MB of DDR RAM (Kingston), a Matrox G550 with dual 17" monitors @ 1024 X 768 / 16 bit color, onboard sound and second COM port disabled in BIOS, and the Digi 001 in slot #3 and my Tascam US-428 hooked up to one of the rear panel USB ports. Mouse and keyboard are PS/2.

I've currently got my C and D drives on the same cable (C master, D Slave) using the Onboard Promise controller's Primary IDE (NOT RAID). I've got my CD-RW and DVD-ROM drives on the Secondary IDE of the Promise controller (Acer 8x4x32 CD-RW master, DVD-ROM slave). Question is, when I'm running off this controller, there's no "DMA" checkbox in either the control panel or device manager that I can find... Should I use this controller or the Std one? I thoght the Promise controller was the one to use, but the lack of DMA checkboxes has me puzzled. Also, should I use it with my CD drives as well, or should I put those on the std controller and get them off the Promise controller and use 4 seperate cables (each drive then working as a "master" on seperate interfaces?

I did the Davec test with this, and got 24+5 tracks. CPU was sitting around 2/3rds on the bar graph, and as soon as I hit that 6th aux track, it goes "red". Seems a bit strange. Obviously, I'd like MORE if that's possible! [img]images/icons/grin.gif[/img] (EDIT / UPDATE: I tried it again, and set the CPU use to 85% and was able to get a extra three aux tracks for a total of 24+8). This is at 44.1 KHz, 24 bit (I've always done the davec tests at 24 bit).

Here's my IRQ's:

00 System timer
01 Std 101/102 keybd.
02 Programmable interupt controller
04 Communications port (COM1)
06 Std Floppy Disk Controller
07 Printer Port (LPT1)
08 System CMOS/real time clock
09 Digidesign 001
09 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
09 SCI IRQ used by ACPI bus
10 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal host Controller
10 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal host Controller
10 VIA Tech 3038 PCI to USB Universal host Controller (Yes, it's really showing up 3 x's)
10 WIN ME Promise Ultra 100(tm) IDE Controller (PDC20265)
11 ACPI IRQ Holder for PCI Steering
12 PS/2 compatable mouse port
13 Numeric data processor
14 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
14 Primary IDE Controller (dual fifo)
15 VIA Bus Master PCI IDE Controller
15 Secondary IDE Controller (dual fifo)


A couple other things:

CPU temp seems to be running at about 51 C / 124 F... is that acceptable? The CPU heatsink / fan was installed by my dealer (it's a Cooler Master fan), and I also have a case fan in there just behind the CPU, exausting out.

This MOBO doesn't seem to let me want to change my CPU V Core voltage to anything lower than 1.800 V. Is that acceptable? I think the AMD spec is supposed to be 1.75 V.

Any suggestions and / or comments are welcomed!

Thanks again for everyone's help.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:55 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com