Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   ProControl, Control|24, Command|8 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Anyone who has replaced a ProControl fader... (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=194917)

JAZZ DAD 04-12-2007 08:28 AM

Anyone who has replaced a ProControl fader...
 
I guess the first question is how do you know it is dead? Do you go in the back? Mine is in a Argosy. Rather involved to change. Any tricks or hints? I can't find any install docs. Where did you get yours, service center or Digi?

Thanks in advance!

Dwight

teacherman 04-12-2007 08:55 AM

Re: Anyone who has replaced a ProControl fader...
 
Usually the reason that a fader becomes 'dead' or inactive is because the black rubberband that is wrapped around two pulleys in the fader/motor assembly snaps prematurely

Very EASY to change a fader...(trust me...I've had to change quite a few!)

When you receive your new fader, in the package you should recieve a complementary Hex wrench and a 10" wooden stick. Use the Hex wrench to unscrew ALL the tiny screws that hold down the top plate of the fader bank that houses the bad fader.

Once you've taken about all the screws, you'll need some sort of tiny flat-head screwdriver to gently 'pry' open the faderplate (from the bottom between the plate and the armrest)...this is sorta like Popping the Hood on your Car.

Once you've rasie the plate about 10" inches, used the wooden stick to hold up the faderplate....again, sorta like the rod that holds up the Hood of your car while your working on the engine.

Locate the bad fader and disconnect the ribbon cable. From the top of the fader plate, Unscrew the 2 screws that secure the fader.

Replace the bad fader....and then reassemble everything that you just dissembled.

Total time to change a fader about 5 minutes.

JAZZ DAD 04-12-2007 09:02 AM

Re: Anyone who has replaced a ProControl fader...
 
Thanks alot, big help! May I ask where you got yours?

Dwight

teacherman 04-12-2007 12:42 PM

Re: Anyone who has replaced a ProControl fader...
 
You can only purchase a replacement Fader directly through Digidesign. The cost of the replacement fader is roughly around $120.

Digi will probably ask you to return the bad fader before they ship you a replacement fader....don't know why that it is.

JAZZ DAD 04-12-2007 12:51 PM

Re: Anyone who has replaced a ProControl fader...
 
Teacherman, the faders are 200 in the digi store. Any other ideas?

thanks

teacherman 04-12-2007 12:58 PM

Re: Anyone who has replaced a ProControl fader...
 
WOW!!! They've gone up on Price....sorry for bad price info. It's been about a year or so since my last fader purchase.

I wonder if the $200 is the purchase of a replacement fader without trading in the defective fader?

There maybe a discount if you return your old fader. You might want to call and ask.

I would think that Digi might agree to this because it would cost Digi practically nothing to refurbish your old fader...and then resell it.




JAZZ DAD 04-12-2007 01:06 PM

Re: Anyone who has replaced a ProControl fader...
 
Thanks so much for the help!

teacherman 04-12-2007 01:08 PM

Re: Anyone who has replaced a ProControl fader...
 
If it is just band that has snapped, (if you're mechanically skilled) you might find some type of similar replacement band that is the same size/shape/weight in some type of fabric store. Changing the band is like changing a Belt on your car.

For probably less than $1.00 for the price a band, it may or may not work...if it works Great! It it doesn't...well the fader doesn't work anyway so you haven't lost anymore anyway.

stevegalante 04-17-2007 05:55 PM

Re: Anyone who has replaced a ProControl fader...
 
Before deciding to replace the fader just triple check that the internal ribbon cable is firmly connected to the fader assembly

teacherman 04-18-2007 11:17 AM

Re: Anyone who has replaced a ProControl fader...
 
Awe....that's to easy


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:22 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com