Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   offline bounce? (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=185248)

danielfre 12-27-2006 04:51 AM

offline bounce?

Hello.
New to this forum and fairly new to PT, so forgive me for asking a total noob-question.

I'm using Pro Tools LE at work, migrating old audio cassetes to PC. My problem is the mixdown - there doesn't seem to exist an offline bounce option, wich mean I loose a lot of time in that process. I first have to record the tape to pro tools, then go through it again for every mixdown (I'm converting to 16 and 24 bits...). For now I do the converting and editing in Audacity, but it would be awsome to be able to do everything in Pro Tools...

So - is there any way to make a (fast) offline bounce to disc from within Pro Tools? And if not - why, oh god why?

/Daniel

EDIT: I'm using Pro Tools LE 7.2 and Mbox2.

Burbree 12-27-2006 04:58 AM

Re: offline bounce?

You can cosolidate your playlist (Select then Alt>Shift>3) on a stereo track then select the region and export region as a file (Ctrl>Shift>K) Select Bit depth and file options.

hope this helps

The Weed 12-27-2006 09:06 AM

You can Export single or multiple regions faster-than-realtime, but not with inserted effects or automation, only with printed effects. If you are mixing mutiple tracks with inserted effects and/or automation, your only choice is real-time playout to a file.

The reasons for this, according to Digidesign, are two-fold:

1) If you want to use outboard effects, you cannot do this faster-than-realtime;

and

2) In TDM/HD any inserted effects using DSP cards cannot happen faster-than-realtime.