Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   003 console LCD random characters-Help (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=402688)

baranger1 12-30-2018 01:01 PM

003 console LCD random characters-Help
 
My 003 console lcd shows random characters in the offline mode after its been on a few hours.
If turn it on and off or switch to the midi map and back the characters disappear for an hour or more.
Does any one know of this problem or what the issue could be?
It does this stand alone as well.

Thank you for any help.
Bill Ruppert

albee1952 12-30-2018 08:52 PM

Re: 003 console LCD random characters-Help
 
Not sure what's going on, but you need to have some more info:
#1-this one is crucial*** DO NOT "hot-patch" the 003(plug or unplug the FW cable). Doing this can(and usually will) fry the FW circuit in the 003, the FW controller in the computer, or both:eek:
#2-the 003 does not have a "stand-alone" mode(the 002 did, but the 003 does not).
#3-what computer is it? Does it have an approved FW chip installed(post a Sisoft Sandra Lite report if this is a PC as that can reveal hardware compatibility problems). The 2 most common FW controller chips are VIA and TI(Texas Instruments) and VIA often will not work.

#4-is this a new problem and the 003 worked fine recently, or it a new(to you) setup?
#5-(for PC) have you tried all 3 of the firewire drivers that are available? Avid recommends the Legacy firewire driver, but that never worked for me. Of the other 2 drivers(if you tell the computer, "Let me choose from a list" in the driver update menu), the driver that worked when I had my 003 was the "T.I. Compliant driver(the 3rd option turned the 003 surface into midi note messages:eek::eek::eek:).

baranger1 12-31-2018 07:17 AM

Re: 003 console LCD random characters-Help
 
Hi Dave!
By stand alone I mean the random numbers and characters show up after the 003 is on for a few hours in "offline" mode. They also appear after a few hours with the 003 not being connected to the computer at all!
So this is not a computer issue.

The characters are $, numbers, letters and even Japanese characters.
When used with Pro Tools the console is fine and the characters are gone.
They vanish in offline mode if I hit the midi map button or turn the console off and on again.
It could be the power supply is going or a leaky cap some where.
I was just very surprised to see no else had reported this issue!
Thanks Bill

albee1952 12-31-2018 08:34 AM

Re: 003 console LCD random characters-Help
 
Aha:D Given that, it could be a PSU issue, or a connection issue. Given the age, this might be a sign to start saving for a new interface:o


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:40 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com