Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   ICON & C|24 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Can't See Input Meters (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=306017)

soundinvestment 08-17-2011 10:54 AM

Can't See Input Meters
 
Hey All,

First post in a long line of probably really stupid questions, so, thank you for your patience, understanding, and help in advance.
Just got my C24 hooked up. Plays back everything very well and works perfectly. However, upon trying the inputs, I have a microphone going to Channel One through a DB25 to xlr cable. When I check the mic, the clip light will come on showing me I am getting signal, but, I get no meters and no input showing in Pro Tools, and no output through the board. Tried it in offline mode first, then with Pro Tools running, and still nothing.I know, I know, check the manual, but, I have a real hard time deciphering manuals sometimes, so, I go for the quick answer. Am I missing some sort of board set up? Really wishing someone had a tutorial.

scotsman 08-18-2011 08:08 AM

Re: Can't See Input Meters
 
Hi,

No stupid questions only answers !!

You are hooked up through what interface ? HD, M box ??
Remember the mic goes into the C24 pre-amp then from the C24 pre-amp to the interface AD into "pro tools" then back out through the interface DA throughout the C24 monitor section to the speakers.

If it was a HD one then channel one would be interface 1 on the I/O in protools, (have you set that up, please follow the instruction manual). Once that is done then you need to select that input in the Mix window as the input to the channel you want. Note that you can have input 1 going to any "channel" so there is no 1 to 1 match, its up to you.

Once you have the channel selected and put into record mode then the appropriate meter should move.

Hope that helps

Scotsman

soundinvestment 08-21-2011 06:04 AM

Re: Can't See Input Meters
 
I'm running HD native with an HD I/O. I am going into the C24, out to the the I/O, then out of the I/O into a Central Station. What's weird is, I'm getting a clip light when I increase my channel gain, but no meters on C24 and no input signal in PT. I'm pretty positive I have everything hooked up correctly. I'll dig further to make sure. ???

Lizardpoint 08-21-2011 11:56 AM

Re: Can't See Input Meters
 
Hi there,
If the C24 is like the Control 24 which I have, then the meters do not reflect the gain/level of the onboard pre's but are software meters that mimic what the meters associated with the channels on the mixer page.
So assuming you have the mic pre output on a digisnake into your audio interface, and that input is configured to a mono audio tracks input, then you should see the chanel one meter jumping on the C24 just the same as the one on the mixer page.
The clip lights are warning lights for the onboard pre's so you can see if you're overdriving them.

Hope this helps.

Lizardpoint

scotsman 08-21-2011 01:51 PM

Re: Can't See Input Meters
 
Hi

When you connect a mic to the C24 and it is getting an input then you should see one of the inputs on the HD I/O light up to show there is a signal, does this happen?
I assume you have d24 cables between the C24 and the HD I/O? which I/O are you using? As you only talk about the output through the Central station.

Scotsman

pince1981 09-08-2011 01:48 PM

Re: Can't See Input Meters
 
Hello,

I have exactly the same problem, no input signal. I was under the impression that the pre amps could be used independent of pro tools? I'm hooked up to a 192 I/O but I not getting any signal in. I'm new to pro tools so I'm guessing its the pro tools configuration and not a hardware issue (...I hope).

Any suggestions.

smithz 04-01-2019 10:49 AM

Re: Can't See Input Meters
 
Was this problem solved? Having the exact same issue.

Southsidemusic 04-01-2019 12:39 PM

Re: Can't See Input Meters
 
8 years later I would hope that was solved :D


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:17 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com