Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Fades versus Automation (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=49065)

Johnbearorl 10-08-2002 03:08 PM

Fades versus Automation
 
Okay I have a convention comming up and I'm doing the musical opening at the reception/cocktail party.

I have my session laid out how I like it, but I'm a newbie to fades and automation.

Would it be better to automate my fader movements to bring tracks in and out as well as for pans or draw fades? I'm a ACID Pro guy who is desperately trying to work in a PRO TOOLS environment since I know it's for the best.

Any advice greatly appreciated!!

Calebjess 10-08-2002 03:30 PM

Re: Fades versus Automation
 
One of the main reasons (IMHO) for doing audio in the digital world is so you can use the automation features provided in PT. Once you master the automation recording it is a breeze. Try the manual to get started.

Gabriel Roth 10-08-2002 04:48 PM

Re: Fades versus Automation
 
Fades are useful when you need a very smooth fade, especially a gradual one, and for crossfades, when you want one audio file or region to blend into another one. For ordinary mixing purposes, e.g. to bring tracks up or down or in and out of the mix, use automation.

Johnbearorl 10-09-2002 07:00 AM

Re: Fades versus Automation
 
Thanks all for the advice. I took a dive into creating groups last night and started to use the automation feature. Much easier than I originaly thought it would be.

I think automation will serve most of my needs with this project.

It's mostly sound effects (halloween theme) with an 8 track music mix. I'm doing alot of panning and bringing items in and out so automation seems to do the trick.

The grouping feature was a HUGE plus. I got a good mix of the 8 music tracks then grouped them so I could place them just above the effects bed I created. Very cool.

FYI, it's very hard to get a heartbeat loop to match a steady 4 on the floor kik beat. Thank goodness for lightening crashes, cymbals, and fade outs!

Happy mixing to all!!!

naireko 10-09-2002 08:18 AM

Re: Fades versus Automation
 
I think the main point of using fades versus automation is that it requires less dsp to use fades. I use fades when I can.

AverageJoe 10-09-2002 02:01 PM

Re: Fades versus Automation
 
Automation does use DSP- the manual comments on this... from pg 299: "Each breakpoint takes up space in memory allocated for automation, so thinning data can allow you to maximize efficiency and CPU performance"

I believe the key is to do your automation in the edit window, drawing it in instead of using the faders- using faders will create 10 times (or more) more automation points than drawing the automation in-

Example- if you want a perfect equal speed fade on a track, in the edit window you would use 2 points- one at the beginning and one at the end. Do the same fade with the fader and you'll have tons of points.

There's a preference for "thinning automation" to control this, another indicator that automation does bog the system down. But by using the edit window, you should have no problem.

Those of us who never really worked with consoles don't have a problem with this method and it makes PT's automation killer. Those who are migrating from automated consoles tend to hate PT's automation, it seems.

jeronimo 10-10-2002 01:25 AM

Re: Fades versus Automation
 
I don't think automation uses DSP...


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:11 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com