Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Win) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   weird MIDI lag (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=405236)

sonicapg 06-16-2019 04:47 PM

weird MIDI lag
 
hi all

My system is Quad core Phenom with 16GBs RAM ,SSD system drive ,windows 8.1 ,PT 8.05 LE and DIGI 002 CONSOLE Hardware.

System also has an E-mu 1212m ,wichs feautures MID IN/OUTS and a Edirol uax midi interface thats USB .

there is a Roland Fantom S connected to digi's 002 MIDI IN, and i have some midi devices connected to Digi's 002 MIDI OUT ,
Digi omidi out --->Alesis QSR (M through) --->Proteus 2k(M through) --->(M through)Audity 2k
Pt runs okay , had no problems so far ,but much to my suprise I have MIDI Lag when playing Alesis QSR wich is the First device on this midi chain.

I can see the MIDI IN indicator on Digi console blinking when i don't play it

So is it the midi activity "trasmitted" by Fantom screwing midi ? is it PT doesn't like "other" MIDI devices ? i already tried to filter MIDI information received by d 002 midi in ,i also removed devices from Hardware setup
Fantom S is being set midi I/O from "Hardware" dialog.

help if you can

albee1952 06-17-2019 02:42 PM

Re: weird MIDI lag
 
It may be tough to diagnose an older rig like this, but here are some ideas to try:

1-Check Midi Realtime Properties to make sure you don't(accidentally) have a timing offset dialed up.

2-Simplify things down to a single hardware device and try each piece alone to see if the QSR is causing the problem.

3-because you are daisy-chaining midi devices, IIRC, each device is adding upwards of 10ms(so 3 devices in a row will cause 30ms of midi latency). It might be better to get a MIDI splitter to take a single midi OUT and feed each device from the splitter(to eliminate the acculated latency)

4-could the lag be caused by plugin latency? With LE having no automatic latency correction, your session itself might be causing timing issues(especially if you have some "mastering" plugins on a master track).


5-think about dragging yourself out of old habits:o One good controller and some modern VI plugins can cover (probably) everything you need, but with much less hardware(and the associated issues). Just an idea:o


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:08 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com