Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (https://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Getting Started (https://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=112)
-   -   Recording with vintage equipment -Please Help- (https://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=393311)

N'dgame 08-24-2017 06:25 PM

Recording with vintage equipment -Please Help-

Hello!

I am a musician, but I am new to Pro Tools and MIDI controllers. I was recently given a ton of vintage equipment and am trying to figure out a setup that will let me record a few demos. I updated my signature but I'll explain my current equipment here:

Dell Inspiron 17 500 series
Windows 10
Pro Tools 11
Sure SRH 240a (just headphones)
---This is my base of operations, I don't fully understand my equipment so I alternate between two separate setups for vocals and instruments.

Focusrite Forte
sE Electronics X1 condenser mic
a pop filter
---I use this setup for vocals. Each piece is relatively new. The Forte requires phantom power to record, but that's no challenge. The next set is where I am confused

Vintage synths Drum Machines

Roland JV 90 Roland MT 32
Ensoniq sq80 Alesis HR 16
Ensoniq EPS

And a Midiman usb midisport 2x2
---This is where I am stuck. The most I have accomplished is getting Pro Tools to recognize the JV-90 and record the notes I play as MIDI, but it ends there. If my headphones are installed to the JV-90, I can hear it play the music from the synth but I never hear it from my laptop- even when I can see the sound levels moving on the MIDI track. What's worse is, after tinkering around, I lost what little progress I made and now can't even record the MIDI.

So please disregard the vocal setup and my failed synth setup and imagine we're starting at square one.
Fresh Pro tools, vintage synths with a usb midiman, and 2 interesting drum machines.