Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Artist Series (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=62)
-   -   Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=406971)

EddieJones 10-30-2019 10:43 AM

Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Please can you list your top 5-10 Logic Pro or Cubase/Nuendo bugs and new features they have added and not EUCONized. Please try and make sure these are things that they need to implement and not general EUCON issues.

I'll start......

Logic Pro:
Plugins don't show up after inserting, until session is reloaded

Steven1145 10-30-2019 10:56 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Off the top of my head :

VCA spill (or equivalent)
One button change of automation status on a track (ie. write to read, without having to use the Wave key on a S5)


Steven Ghouti, Re-recording Mixer, Yellow Cab Studios

mattrixx 10-30-2019 03:58 PM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by EddieJones (Post 2543018)
Please can you list your top 5-10 Logic Pro or Cubase/Nuendo bugs and new features they have added and not EUCONized. Please try and make sure these are things that they need to implement and not general EUCON issues.

I'll start......

Logic Pro:
Plugins don't show up after inserting, until session is reloaded

Same goes for Sends/Busses.

sjgam 10-31-2019 12:14 PM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Logic Pro X Top Bugs and Feature Requests

1. Bug - Display inserted plugin/send
2. Bug - Control App - in Channel - Orange Config button on inputs (e.g. Virtual Instruments) will not appear unless you click the VI open and then go back - then Config button appears and is clickable so you can insert new Input
3. Logic Feature - VCA Spill like with PT and Dock/Mix/S1/S3
4. Logic Feature - Instrument/Plugin Library Preset View - PT and Eucon already have a function with Config to see presets - also see Logic Remote app how you see/scroll/select all the presets within plugin and instrument - iPad perfect for that - very least euconize preset advance functionality
5. Logic Feature - Tempo - big knob on Dock adjust tempo
6. Logic Feature - Arrangement Markers - Markers are looked after but Arrangement Markers are unique to Logic and so nice to navigate with buttons also
7. Logic Feature - EQ - allow Dock encoder to switch between Frequency and Q
8. Logic Feature - EQ - like MCU - for EQ (Logic's Channel EQ) allow full Mix/S1/S3 surface map to EQ so faders are Gain and Encoders are Freq/Q
9. Logic Feature - EQ - allow third party EQ be default EQ plugin
10. Logic Feature - Dynamic - enable functionality to insert default Dynamic plugin like with PT

Big Mother 11-01-2019 09:26 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
I know it's been mentioned before, but I would love to see the Cubase Mix Console scroll/follow with the Bank/Nudge buttons on my Artist Mix

sambosun 11-02-2019 04:03 PM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Mother (Post 2543312)
I know it's been mentioned before, but I would love to see the Cubase Mix Console scroll/follow with the Bank/Nudge buttons on my Artist Mix

This

J-S-Q 11-03-2019 02:36 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Steven1145 (Post 2543022)
Off the top of my head :
VCA spill (or equivalent)

If Steinberg would implement show/hide track functionality then we would effectively already have VCA spill because Cubase already has a visibility function called "Show Tracks Linked To Selected Track".

J-S-Q 11-03-2019 03:35 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
FYI, I currently own an S3/Artist Transport and this is what my comments are based on.

1. If tracks are hidden in Cubase, they should also become hidden on the control surface This is the highest priority for me by a very long way, hence the bold type :-) .

2. When I hit the EQ button, I want the EQ parameters spread across all 16 knobs.
Currently it only spreads across 8 knobs which means I have to press various buttons to switch between Q/Frequency/Gain/EQ Type. Also when I rearrange parameters in the Remote Control Editor, it has no effect on what is shown on the controller. This is too fussy and I just use the mouse instead.
Alternatively, I can access the EQ by pressing the Strip button, and then the EQ button. Now I have EQ across 16 knobs and the Remote Control Editor works which is great BUT it requires 2 button presses to access the EQ instead of one and it does not bring up the EQ curve window in the Cubase mixer.

3. Fix the bug whereby I cannot mute VCA tracks from the controller. This used to be possible but several versions ago, it stopped working.

4. When I bank the controller, the Cubase mixer should also bank/scroll.

There are probably some other improvements I can think of but for now, these are the key things. It has been very frustrating owning what is sooooo close to the perfect controller but seeing it's usefulness severely reduced by a couple of major flaws so very happy to see some attention put on this.

KeyplayerG 11-03-2019 04:03 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by J-S-Q (Post 2543453)
If Steinberg would implement show/hide track functionality then we would effectively already have VCA spill because Cubase already has a visibility function called "Show Tracks Linked To Selected Track".


+1
Having the hardware follow every view of Nuendo is critically important! It is so distracting to have to wade through dozens of tracks, that are hidden on the screen, to get to the ones that are actually selected for viewing. Even worse is trying to get to the controls for said tracks. If you're looking at tracks 1, 22 - 25 and 48 the only way to get the controls to reflect that on the hardware surface is to build a layout,which is a total workflow shut down!

That, plus getting the PT Control App to stop crashing Nuendo on PC systems, would be my biggest concerns.

cyborgssc 11-03-2019 04:55 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Clicking the Tracks tab in the PT Control app with larger track counts crashes Cubase/Nuendo every time. This makes it scary to use the app - if you accidentally hit that tab you are toast. This happens on Mac for sure, not sure about PC.

Kapellmeister 11-04-2019 12:29 PM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Thank you, Eddie, for letting us participate.

Cubase Pro 10

1. It's been said before, but it is most important - Track Visibility doesn't work.
That means hiding channels on the surface is impossible. This feature would enable VCA Spill automatically! In Cubase this is triggered by a command that "shows all channels associated to selected track".

2. There is no visual feedback from the EQ (curve) and the compressor (gain reduction), in the Pro Tools Control app. I think the integrated Cubase Channel Strip should give some feedback.

3. It would be awesome if Eucon would follow the most recent clicked DAW areas. (Plugin windows, etc.)

mattrixx 11-06-2019 03:22 PM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Just remembered another one with Logic ProX.

When configuring a Send Destination with the Control App, only outputs 1 - 7 are available. No option to page through to see more output or buss options. (however, you can do it on the S3 sends config)

MNI 11-07-2019 05:28 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
As I mentioned in a different thread, in Cubase 10 on Mac Using the Artist Mix:

- Solo buttons won't solo the track (or light up when soloing in Cubase)
- Mute buttons won't work on VCA tracks (and won't show as muted when muting in Cubase).

Also, a while ago using the PT | Control app, it would crash when I had too many tracks in my session, causing Eucon to crash, cuasing Cubase to crash.

Hope this helps!

Funkybot 11-07-2019 08:19 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Using Cubase 10.0.50 and Windows 10, my big one is the track visibility not staying in sync between Cubase and the Artist Mix. Example: I hide several tracks in the Cubase mixer, the Artist Mix continues to show them.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNI (Post 2543813)
As I mentioned in a different thread, in Cubase 10 on Mac Using the Artist Mix:

- Solo buttons won't solo the track (or light up when soloing in Cubase)

I'm on Windows, using an Artist Mix and Solo on the Artist Mix = Listen on the Cubase track. Which I'm fine with, since that's what I usually want. Does it just not do anything on Mac?

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNI (Post 2543813)
- Mute buttons won't work on VCA tracks (and won't show as muted when muting in Cubase).

Same behavior on Windows. Solo works (in that Solo=Listen like stated above).

MNI 11-07-2019 08:31 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Funkybot (Post 2543832)
Using Cubase 10.0.50 and Windows 10, my big one is the track visibility not staying in sync between Cubase and the Artist Mix. Example: I hide several tracks in the Cubase mixer, the Artist Mix continues to show them.



I'm on Windows, using an Artist Mix and Solo on the Artist Mix = Listen on the Cubase track. Which I'm fine with, since that's what I usually want. Does it just not do anything on Mac?



So on Midi tracks it works as exprected (Solos that tracks I click), on all te rest (Audio, VCA, sampler tracks, Instrument, Output etc) the buttons turns red but nothing is soloed.

Funkybot 11-07-2019 09:35 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MNI (Post 2543833)
So on Midi tracks it works as exprected (Solos that tracks I click), on all te rest (Audio, VCA, sampler tracks, Instrument, Output etc) the buttons turns red but nothing is soloed.

Sounds like it's Mac specific. Works on Windows. At least over here.

Big Mother 11-07-2019 01:53 PM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
On Mac, seeing Artist Mix solo and mutes working as expected on Audio tracks in Cubase.

-Can confirm Mute button on VCA not functioning as MNI stated above

J-S-Q 11-07-2019 02:57 PM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Funkybot (Post 2543832)
Solo on the Artist Mix = Listen on the Cubase track.

FYI, there is a preference setting within Eucontrol that dictates whether the Solo button will activate 'Listen' or 'Solo' in Cubase.

J-S-Q 11-07-2019 02:59 PM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Mother (Post 2543878)
On Mac, seeing Artist Mix solo and mutes working as expected on Audio tracks in Cubase.

-Can confirm Mute button on VCA not functioning as MNI stated above

This is also what I see on Windows.

J-S-Q 11-08-2019 06:33 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Another improvement I'd like to see with Cubase/Eucon:

On the channel Input section (that controls Hi Cut/Low Cut/Phase/Gain etc.) when we make changes in the Remote Control Editor, they are not reflected in what we see on the control surface. Please can this be rectified?

MNI 11-08-2019 12:49 PM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Also,
This might just be my mac, but after a few hours on a long big project, Cubase looses connection with Eucon (or the other way around, don't know) and the whole unit shows as if I have no project open (Basically renders it useless) until I restart my mac and load the project again.

This has been the situation with Cubase and Eucon for as long as I can remember it (3 years maybe?) and it is consistent with Artist Control (back in the days) and 3 artist mixes I went through.... So it must be a software thing...

bernhard 12-08-2019 04:05 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Dock rotary knobs are lagging with Nuendo, PT integration is much smoother

MNI 12-08-2019 04:25 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Just updating that the new Eucon version didnít fix any of the issues in Cubase.
I wonder if itís the same with the S1... I assume so since the behavior is consistent with the new app, but Iíll know better once I get my S1.

KeyplayerG 12-08-2019 07:38 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
In Nuendo, there is NO VU/OLED ACTIVITY for MIDI tracks! You have to watch the DAW screen to get levels or ANY indication that the track is functioning. Once you print the results as an audio track, the OLEDs work as expected.

Kapellmeister 12-21-2019 04:25 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Hey Eddie, in Cubase 10.5, eucon doesn't close the plugin windows anymore, when edited. It only opens the windows and doesn't close them. That used to work, but doesn't anymore. Also in the new Control app, in channel view there used to be the cubase channel "strip", instead of "heat". That's gone too..

tanzalbum 12-30-2019 02:58 PM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
It's the same under Cubase 8.5. The Plugin windows opens, but doesn't close any more.
Tested with Cubase 8.5 and Cubase 10.5, Windows 10. I think the last working version concerning this function was 19.5.1 (EuControl).

jdmartin 01-05-2020 02:02 PM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by J-S-Q (Post 2543454)
1. If tracks are hidden in Cubase, they should also become hidden on the control surface This is the highest priority for me by a very long way, hence the bold type :-) .


This

Timebandit2 01-08-2020 12:52 PM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Steinberg Mix console views hide\show channels reflected on Eucon control surface.

VCA solo/mute needs to work properly

Plugin open/close

MNI 01-11-2020 03:11 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
I just got my S1 and can confirm that bugs and missing features that were happening with the Artist Mix carry on to the S1.

I really hope this gets fixed eventually... The S1 is such a great controller unit that I would love to take full advantage of its capabilities.

Timebandit2 01-11-2020 09:31 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Oh dear me, been waiting for years for those features and bugs to be ironed out in Eucon with artist mix/control/transport. I've though of upgrading to the S1/dock but won't even consider it until these promises are made good.

Enough is enough when software/hardware companies launch products onto the market that aren't fully functional or compatible and just don't bother to get bugs fixed for customers who have spent considerable amounts of money on their products. If two companies are involved it gets worst when they start shifting responsibility onto each other. 10/10 to Eddie for his efforts and contributions on this forum, the other parties just ignore people!

rockfacenz 01-27-2020 04:37 PM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Great thread Eddie

I'm with Steven1145

VCA spill (or equivalent) has got to be a big one for Logic Pro X users. Maybe develop Folder Stacks in Logic Pro X to behave like VCA spills in PT.

With 1000 tracks now available in LPX it would make a huge step forward in managing large projects on an S1 or S3. Thanks

Orchook 01-30-2020 08:06 AM

Re: Logic Pro and Cubase/Nuendo top 5 bugs or Feature additions
 
Logic pro "Send on Faders" is not euconized.

This feature turnes the faders to sends and the panning knob to "sends pan"

As of now it is bugged. It will make the faders and knobes control the sends but the faders motor will go back to the position of the channel level and the knobes are very buggy.

I have mackie control units and they respond perfectly to it. So i know that it is a eucon implantation problem.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:42 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com