Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   003, Mbox 2, Digi 002, original Mbox, Digi 001 (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Digi 002, Burl B2 bomber Adat? Please help (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=396537)

primomusic 01-22-2018 11:48 AM

Digi 002, Burl B2 bomber Adat? Please help
 
Hey guys I'm in quite of bit of trouble. Ive been trying to figure this out on my own but I'm lost. I purchased a Burl B2 bomber along with that I have a UA2192 as well. I want the burl b2 to be my go to converter from my pacifica but if I need 2 more channels I'd like to use my Great River MP2NV going into my UA 2192 .

With my burl Im going out spdif into my Digi 002 than going out from my Digi into the UA 2192 via spdif to take advantage of its D/A. Now if I need 2 more channels I'd like to go from my Great River into my UA 2192. would I go out from my UA 2192 via adat into my Digi 002. I did this but my digi doesn't show any adat inputs in my I/O menu. Could you guys help me out would greatly appreciate it. Thank you

albee1952 01-22-2018 12:27 PM

Re: Digi 002, Burl B2 bomber Adat? Please help
 
I'm not an expert here, but you may need to change out one of the two units to make this all work. The Burl is RCA only, so that one must connect the the RCA SPDIF input of the 002. The UA has an optical out, but the question is; can the 002 use SPDIF on both RCA and optical at the same time? In any case, both units are 2-channel only(which may be fine for your needs) and you will NEED to find a way to clock everything so you don't get clicks and pops on the digital sources. My instincts suggest, the Burl as the master. Set Pro tools clock source to the SPDIF RCA(so it slaves to the Burl). Feed wordclock from the Burl to the UA and set the UA to External clock.

Just my 2 cents, but it seems to me that changing out your output path when you need the extra inputs would be a PITA, so I would look for another way around and add a dedicated lightpipe device(leaving the UA as your output D>A). Considering the possibility that the lightpipe is stuck in ADAT(8 channel) mode(because RCA SPDIF is already being used), there are several 8-channel options, such as:
1-Behringer ADA8200(the red one) that has line inputs(for your Great River preamps) and is really a solid performer for cheap(and can be upgraded by BLA)
2-Midas XL-48(which has become my "go to" for drum mic'ing)
Food for thought:o

primomusic 01-22-2018 10:26 PM

Re: Digi 002, Burl B2 bomber Adat? Please help
 
2 Attachment(s)
Thank you so much for your response. I guess the new burls are coming with the Toslink option as well cause mine has it. Will this change things for me and make it easier to connect. Itís a very confusing process if you can help me further to connect I would greatly appreciate it. Here are a pics of the back of the ua 2192 and the Burl adc. Thank you in advance.

albee1952 01-23-2018 08:08 PM

Re: Digi 002, Burl B2 bomber Adat? Please help
 
I spoke from general knowledge and if it were my gear, I'd start connecting stuff and find out what combinations work and what won't. If you're not that brave, at this point, I think you'd be better served by chatting with the dealer(or a place that deals in that level of hardware). Vintage King, Dale Pro(NYC) or Parsons Audio(paudio.com) all have way more tech savvy people than me:o

primomusic 01-24-2018 11:53 AM

Re: Digi 002, Burl B2 bomber Adat? Please help
 
Thanks Albee again for the help i actually lowered my sample rate to 48k and now I have the Adat channels available and working but only in 48k. I wanted my sessions to be in 96k given I have the Burl and wanted to take advantage of the conversion it does.

Since I got through the last obstacle I tried going with this setup to see if I️ can get to 96k.

I tried setting my session at 96k using my BURL toslink out into the digi and than used my 2192 all spdif but it seems that toslink is not Adat and only spdif toslink and digi doesnít allow both. I canít seem to get it going. Am I going about this configuration the wrong way. Thanks

albee1952 01-24-2018 05:11 PM

Re: Digi 002, Burl B2 bomber Adat? Please help
 
Wish I had more insight. For my money, 48K is fine(everything I do ends up on iTunes or youtube anyway):o 96K just hammers my rig, and besides, a great performance of a great song at 48K will beat a crap performance of a crap song at 192K(no accusations intended:-)) In fact, I bet your Burl sounds better at 48K than my HD IO boxes do at 96k:eek:

primomusic 01-25-2018 11:56 AM

Re: Digi 002, Burl B2 bomber Adat? Please help
 
Yeah totally understand maybe it will sound better at 48k Iím just so used to recording at 96k. Someone mentioned smux which I can record at higher sample rates. Any interfaces you think might work with that?

albee1952 01-25-2018 01:58 PM

Re: Digi 002, Burl B2 bomber Adat? Please help
 
SMUX is a protocol for ADAT optical, not SPDIF optical. Pretty sure you would need to move to a 3rd party interface(for sure, the 002 is out). Maybe take a look at Presonus Quantom, UA Apollo or RME Fireface line?

primomusic 01-28-2018 03:48 PM

Re: Digi 002, Burl B2 bomber Adat? Please help
 
Apollo would be great but Iím working in a control 24 running on PT 10 with mountain lion donít think that would work


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:51 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com