Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools 2019 (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=158)
-   -   Garbled metadata on importing AAF (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=406522)

baylonfonseca 09-28-2019 08:31 PM

Garbled metadata on importing AAF
 
2 Attachment(s)
Recordings for a film done on a 788T recorder had embedded metadata (especially character naming on the tracks) were sent to editorial.

On completion of the edit the film was exported as an embedded AAF at the sample rate and bit rate as the original files.

On importing the AAF I notice that the metadata has garbled the track information that was present in the original recordings.

The edit was done on the Avid Media Composer ver 12.3. This is the second project in the last one month thats popping up this issue.

Havent had any problem in the last 15 years with other projects (and none since the inception of metadata content.

Any clues to the riddle would help. thanks

BScout 09-28-2019 09:23 PM

Re: Garbled metadata on importing AAF
 
What did it look like in Media Composer before exporting the AAF? Looks like possibly the editors changed/added the metadata for their selects.

Frank Kruse 09-30-2019 10:08 AM

Re: Garbled metadata on importing AAF
 
the .new ending of your avid media means that the sequence has been consolidated on MC so new media was rendered. Ask for a referenced AAF with copied media and check if that makes a difference.

The channel-name index has always been pretty buggy with AAF in PT. For years we only saw the first channel name for all other legs with AVID media. This seems to have been fixed lately but it has always been odd.

But in the end most people don't use the AVID media to work with and expand to the original BWAVs anyway so the problem is more or less a non-issue while not great obviously.

F.


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:59 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com