Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=94)
-   -   Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro? (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=377238)

lucienpalmer 08-25-2018 05:09 AM

Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?
 
The ram isnt just faster, the whole internal bussing is faster too. And the 2008 macpro’s Have the old EFI, and can’t be upgraded without hacking. A 2010 or 2012 can run the latest operating system and be fully loaded to be pretty closer to a brand new Mac. My 2012 is upgraded to 12-core 3.45, and it scores higher than all the trash can macpro’s, except the very top one.

But if you are going to bother get a 2010 or 2012. You should get a 12-core model. The Ebay price has gone down since my post above from two years ago. You can get one for as low as $1k-1200, pretty well loaded.

basslik 08-25-2018 09:06 AM

Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by basslik (Post 2497803)
Good evening everyone.


Old thread if I may revive. Still running my 2008 mac pro 2.8 quad core, and recently just got a deal on a 2010 2.8 quad core. Will remain on PT9 for a while longer. I don't know much about the technical aspect between the two, so any input would help my decision on which one to keep?


Please forgive for the small screenshots



THANKS

Attachment 10822


Thanks kindly luciepalmer & TNM for for information. I was intrigued with the old 2008 Mac Pro, level 2 cache being 12 megs, and the 2010 being level 2 cache only being 256k ?.


Also PT9 has been incredibly stable on my 2008, should I bump up to 10 ?. I aware I can buy 10 on ebay with new ilok2 for a decent price ?


Thanks a million for your time.

lucienpalmer 08-25-2018 10:11 AM

Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?
 
I think the 2008 only has an 8MB level 2 cache, per processor.

Either way, the 2010 added a level 3 cache. 12MB PER PROCESSOR (x 2). And it’s L2 chafe was 256k PER core (x12)

Much more powerful processors. Look up the Mac Benchmarks at Geekbench to compare speed tests.

TNM 08-25-2018 12:45 PM

Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by basslik (Post 2497829)
Thanks kindly luciepalmer & TNM for for information. I was intrigued with the old 2008 Mac Pro, level 2 cache being 12 megs, and the 2010 being level 2 cache only being 256k ?.


Also PT9 has been incredibly stable on my 2008, should I bump up to 10 ?. I aware I can buy 10 on ebay with new ilok2 for a decent price ?


Thanks a million for your time.

OK I see you have changed the OP to the 6 core, and YES, that will be worth it, of course!

Absolutely...

I am a big fan of those machines, pcie slots, 4 sata bays.. The only downside is usb 2 and no TBolt.. BUT.. i recommend at least to put one 4 slot usb 3 pcie card if you have the space..I believe even gen 2 cards are available now, 10 gb/s throughput, but i am NOT sure which ones are mac compatible, so can't help you there.. but that would be *great* for external SSD's if you need portable storage at all.

You can also easily soft raid ssd's in the sata bays there and get even better performance..

lucienpalmer 08-26-2018 09:04 AM

Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by TNM (Post 2497837)
OK I see you have changed the OP to the 6 core, and YES, that will be worth it, of course!

Absolutely...

I am a big fan of those machines, pcie slots, 4 sata bays.. The only downside is usb 2 and no TBolt.. BUT.. i recommend at least to put one 4 slot usb 3 pcie card if you have the space..I believe even gen 2 cards are available now, 10 gb/s throughput, but i am NOT sure which ones are mac compatible, so can't help you there.. but that would be *great* for external SSD's if you need portable storage at all.

You can also easily soft raid ssd's in the sata bays there and get even better performance..

To me, the really big place where the old MacPro falls short, is the internal storage. Those bays are only SATA II. That's slower than USB3. The key to getting the most out of these old machines is to use the PCI slots to expand storage. A USB card is definitely a good idea. Maybe even a PCI expansion. I'm using two of them. One of mine (about $800) includes four slots for SSD drives, so you can RAID them together and get insanely fast storage for relatively cheap:

http://www.netstor.com.tw/product_in...70324150339015

That one doesn't take full length cards, so if you are using HD or HDX use this:
https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ..._3_0_slot.html

lucienpalmer 08-26-2018 09:10 AM

Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by basslik (Post 2497829)
Also PT9 has been incredibly stable on my 2008, should I bump up to 10 ?. I aware I can buy 10 on ebay with new ilok2 for a decent price ?

Nothing better than the most recent 2018 builds of Pro Tools. If you spend money on an upgrade or a new copy, I would only recommend getting PT 12 or 2018. Also load MacOS 10.13 on your new machine. Everything is solid and stable. They've also pushed out tons of new features in the last year.

basslik 08-26-2018 09:48 AM

Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?
 
Thanks folks, my logical thinking wasn't so logical I guess (LOL). I just gravited to the cache thingee, and also noticed the Mac pro only had (4) memory slots, as opposed to my 2008/ which has 8 memory slots, even though I knew the 2010 mac has faster memory. Also I literally took my SSD bay drive out of the 2008, and swapped in the 2010 mac, and fired right up, *BUT*, is taking longer to boot ?.



Out of my reach for now for storage bay, although I do have a OWC SSD Mercury Electra 6G for the the boot bay drive, can I use that drive (interchangeable) and buy a pci card, and install on that ?


*AGAIN*, THANKS KINDLY, for taking time out of your busy schedules to guide me along. Been out of the loop since I got PT9;)

lucienpalmer 08-26-2018 04:25 PM

Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?
 
Yes, OWC makes a PCI card that you can plug an SSD drive into and get the drive's full SATA III speeds. The down side is that you are kind of 'wasting' a PCI slot because its capable of so much faster than just SATA III. (Look into SSD PCI blades. Sometimes OWC sell old and open box deals in they famous semi-annual Garage Sale). Although, running a super fast boot drive only really helps for booting and launching programs. You aren't going to get Pro Tools to perform better. Faster storage is more important for your projects to live on. Put your projects on a PCI slot.

BTW, if you only have 4 memory slots, then it's only a single processor machine. Dual processors would have 8 slots. That's a shame. I just looked at the specs you posted, and it's possible your old 8-core MacPro will perform better with Pro Tools than the newer 4-core MacPro.

basslik 08-26-2018 08:14 PM

Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?
 
*RATS*


You are correct, my 2008 has 2 processors (8)cores, as opposed to to the 2010 single processor (4)cores.



Well I can at least swap the video cards ?, old failing 250XT, and put in the Raedon 5770.

lucienpalmer 08-26-2018 08:33 PM

Re: Worth replacing 2008 Mac Pro for upgraded 2010 Mac Pro?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by basslik (Post 2497927)
*RATS*


You are correct, my 2008 has 2 processors (8)cores, as opposed to to the 2010 single processor (4)cores.



Well I can at least swap the video cards ?, old failing 250XT, and put in the Raedon 5770.



Yes, you can use pretty much anything for video cards, but go with one that says it was made for Mac. It’ll save you some headache later. FYI, the Nvidia GeForce 1080 and 1070 models have been working great for me. And OWC has a good one too. It’s a white card. Forgot the model name.

BTW, you could always upgrade to a dual processor, 12 core. You have to replace the CPU tray. EBAY has some kits that include the tray, processor, and sometimes the ram. Looks like they range in price from $275-500.

https://m.ebay.com/sch/i.html?_from=...+5%2C1+upgrade


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:12 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com