Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools TDM Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   PTHD 9 VS PTHD 10 Question (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=412837)

Augusta Global 11-23-2020 03:57 PM

PTHD 9 VS PTHD 10 Question
 
Hello All,

I had a nice PTHD 9 setup years back... Control 24, Magma, etc..

I am, going to start a project of building out the system again, and I know that everything I have will work as high as PTHD10.

My question is this... I was running PT HD9, if I decide to go for PTHD 10, what are the plugin advantages. If I remember correct, they switched over to AAX with 10. How long did the AAX plugs work with PT10 before they became obsolete? Could I get a plugin that was a few years newer by going with 10? I was using a few of the Waves bundles with the older PT9 setup.

Thanks and I hope all is well with everyone.

Verbcrunch 11-24-2020 12:54 PM

Re: PTHD 9 VS PTHD 10 Question
 
As RTAS & TDM fade away, you'll get a lot more mileage today with PT10 than PT9 - but PT10's limitation of running 32bit only will prevent you from running plugs ins that are 64bit only.

Nonetheless, many modern plug ins continue to run on ProTools10, "latest version" plug ins I have right now on PT10:

iZotope RX7
iZotope Nectar3
iZotope Ozone 7
iZotope Vocalsynth
Fab Filter Pro Q3
Fab Filter Pro L2
Blackbox
Trackspacer


Plug ins that I tried but did not work in ProTools 10:

Eventide Blackhole
Waves OVox
Waves Omni Channel
Quiet Art WaveRider 4
Quiet Art Waverider Tg

Current versions Waves plug ins don't seem to want to run in PT10.

I can't vouch for every company, but so far everything I've bought from Massey McDSP and SoundToys has worked in PT10.


If you're running PT9, I would up it to PT10, it's still what I run the most.

EGS 11-24-2020 01:07 PM

Re: PTHD 9 VS PTHD 10 Question
 
I ran 9 for a super long time. Eventually, upgraded to 2019&20. Never needed to roll back.

albee1952 11-24-2020 02:45 PM

Re: PTHD 9 VS PTHD 10 Question
 
Another big difference is the file format. Anything saved in PT10 will open fine in everything NEWER than 10. To go backwards, you would need to re-save in 7>9 format(.pts instead of .ptx). If you have TDM hardware(HD cards), then I can see running PT10. If hardware is not forcing you, I would look into newer(up to date) PT. Especially as many features that used to be HD-only, have been ported to the regular "vanilla" Pro Tools(like VCA's and Input monitoring per track):o While many plugins are still available as RTAS or AAX32, assume nothing and check first:rolleyes:


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:40 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com