Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Post - Surround - Video (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Frequently used sounds (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=267461)

tom_lowe 02-19-2010 09:14 AM

Frequently used sounds
 
I'm working on a project which is a part 2 to something I did a few months ago. There are a few sounds I layered in the original session which I'd like to use again for continuity, is there any way I can copy and paste sounds between the sessions, or use Digibase Pro to achieve this?

I'd really rather not bounce parts of the audio or export session data as they're only small regions.

Cheers in advance.

pindebraende 02-19-2010 09:21 AM

Re: Frequently used sounds
 
Cant you just "export as files" for each individual region, from the regions list menu?

Best wishes,

Mikkel

tom_lowe 02-19-2010 10:11 AM

Re: Frequently used sounds
 
I could, but then it'd duplicate all the files I already have. Pyramix has a really ncie feature where you can select any audio regions you want, drag them in to the library which will group them all together in one file, then in any new sessions you just drag and drop that one file back and voila, all the original sounds are there.

Just wondered is there's any way Digibase Pro can do something similar.

minister 02-19-2010 10:26 AM

Re: Frequently used sounds
 
I'd look at using Region Groups. You can export and import them. Drag and drop from Digibase Browser or Finder.

jraabe 02-19-2010 02:14 PM

Re: Frequently used sounds
 
Why not just copy/separate the sounds you want to use again onto some new tracks in your original session, then in your new session, "import session data" and grab those tracks?

If you're worried about duplicating the files, just link to the source on import...

If I remember correctly, region groups don't carry any volume automation with them... not sure if that's important to you or not.

JWalkerPostAudio 02-20-2010 04:23 AM

Re: Frequently used sounds
 
I would also suggest copying to new tracks and using import session data. Another solution could be dragging the sounds to a new catalog in the digibrowser.

-Justin

tom_lowe 02-20-2010 07:56 AM

Re: Frequently used sounds
 
Thanks for that. Is it possible to drag sounds from the time line to a new catalog in digibase? Tried it but doesn't want to play ball.

JWalkerPostAudio 02-21-2010 02:19 AM

Re: Frequently used sounds
 
No I don't think you can, but a workaround would be to do a "export region as files" (cmnd+shift+k on selected audio) to an easily accessible open folder in the digibase browser and then drag to a new catalog.

-Justin

tom_lowe 02-21-2010 04:42 AM

Re: Frequently used sounds
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JWalkerPostAudio (Post 1558555)
No I don't think you can, but a workaround would be to do a "export region as files" (cmnd+shift+k on selected audio) to an easily accessible open folder in the digibase browser and then drag to a new catalog.

-Justin


Nice one, thanks for the tip and the civil manner in which you gave it, unlike so many on here!


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:06 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com