Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   Pro Tools HDX & HD Native Systems (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=94)
-   -   Quick Question HD Native Thunderbolt (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=401143)

nucelar 09-19-2018 08:05 AM

Quick Question HD Native Thunderbolt
 
Hi, I have a quick question regarding the Thunderbolt box. I could not find it in the manual...

Can I use it without actually connecting an I/O interface device (like an Omni)? i.e just using the onboard headphone output?

Does it show as an audio device in System Preferences when in this state (without I/O)?


I'm having problems detecting it under 10.13

Thanks!!!

Southsidemusic 09-19-2018 09:44 AM

Re: Quick Question HD Native Thunderbolt
 
Doubt that will work as the TB Box isn't an interface on its own and PT needs an interface or built in soundcard to work. Why would you want use that box for a headphone unit anyway?

BScout 09-19-2018 09:51 AM

Re: Quick Question HD Native Thunderbolt
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nucelar (Post 2500285)
Can I use it without actually connecting an I/O interface device (like an Omni)? i.e just using the onboard headphone output?

Does it show as an audio device in System Preferences when in this state (without I/O)?

No.

(And btw, the headphone out isn't done in the TB box. It is a re-route back from the audio interface via the digilink cable and is always on the 1-2 out on that interface. Nothing is done by the TB box itself)

nucelar 09-19-2018 03:09 PM

Re: Quick Question HD Native Thunderbolt
 
Hi,
Thanks both for the reply, tomorrow morning I will try connecting an HD I/O and see what happens.

I was doubting because in the product info (https://www.avid.com/es/products/pro-tools-hd-native) it says
Quote:

"And it offers easy connection to the latest Mac and Windows-based desktop and laptop computers for dedicated studio use or on-the-go creation."
I find it a bit misleading to call it "on-the-go creation" when you need a mains-powered rackmount unit to make it work

JFreak 09-19-2018 03:22 PM

Re: Quick Question HD Native Thunderbolt
 
Sure it can be understood as a totally battery-powered solution, but coming from the HD world the wording is easy to understand. Before that little box we needed to carry a full desktop workstation to connect to the HD interfaces, now that gear can be connected to a laptop via HDN|TB

nucelar 09-20-2018 01:21 AM

Re: Quick Question HD Native Thunderbolt
 
Problem solved!
I connected an 192 I/O and everything works fine as expected!
Thanks again!

John S. Hetrick 10-08-2018 07:51 AM

Re: Quick Question HD Native Thunderbolt
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by nucelar (Post 2500379)
Problem solved!
I connected an 192 I/O and everything works fine as expected!
Thanks again!

If you don't mind me asking, how did you hook this up? Which cable?

Thanks!

JFreak 10-08-2018 10:10 AM

Re: Quick Question HD Native Thunderbolt
 
You only need mini-digilink to digilink adapter to be able to connect old HD interfaces. Unsupported, yes, but works as expected

Extreme Mixing 10-10-2018 10:48 PM

Re: Quick Question HD Native Thunderbolt
 
But if you want to travel, all you need is your iLok key and you can use the headphone jack on your computer. It works perfectly. You can't record, but you can mix and edit and get lots of work done. No thunderbolt and no 192 required.

Steve

Mark Ziebarth 10-11-2018 03:55 AM

Re: Quick Question HD Native Thunderbolt
 
But you’re sure the headphone of HDN TB doesn’t work when no interface is connected? I remember they told about the good quality and the high level of the headphone output... or am I wrong? I’m thinking about getting one and would use it half of the time with headphones only (when at home or on the road).

Best

Mark


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:50 PM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com