Avid Pro Audio Community

Avid Pro Audio Community (http://duc.avid.com/index.php)
-   FireWire and USB Audio Interfaces (Mac) (http://duc.avid.com/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   003 Rack+ compatible with PT 2018.4 & High Sierra 10.13.4 (http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=399072)

skizzo 05-07-2018 01:44 PM

003 Rack+ compatible with PT 2018.4 & High Sierra 10.13.4
 
So this is more of a FYI for users who held onto their Digi 003's

I am happy to share that the 003 Rack+ (and therefore, I assume, the 003 console and 003 Rack) are compatible in High Sierra 10.13.4 with the latest 003 family driver running PT 2018.4. If anyone has experiences that prove the 003 console and/or rack do NOT work please share with the community!

To make things even better Audio MIDI Setup was capable of aggregating the 003 Rack+ with my new Presonus Studio 192. I was able to use the 003 Rack+ as the "main" interface & clock source, as well as vise versa with the Studio 192 as the main interface and clock source. Using ADAT lightpipe on the Studio 192 I was able to get it to recognize my Focusrite OctoPre also. So this gives me access to 24 simultaneous total mic pres now! More than I will ever need! This is all at 96K too. But it is great to know my old hardware is still compatible, though not "officially" supported I believe is the correct term

Setup is as follows:
Mac Pro 4,1 (flashed w/5,1 firmware)
3.46 GHz Hex Core X5690 CPU
48GB 1066MHz RAM (3x16GB DIMMS)
10.13.4 OS
PT 2018.4
Digi 003 Rack+ (connected via FW400 to FW800 cable)
Presonus Studio 192 (connected via USB 2.0 and/or USB 3.0 cable/port - as in any USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 port or cable combo worked)

Note that even using different protocols such as FW and USB the interfaces worked as aggregates. I have read normally this setup with different connection protocols between interfaces don't always work as an aggregate. Apparently this particular setup does though so I wanted to share what I thought was a cool discovery

*ONE QUIRK* The I/O was a bit screwy on how it is displayed in I/O settings. ALL I/Os are there but for some reason detected the left SPDIF channel of the Studio 192 as an analog channel. This means inputs 1 - 8 were correctly listed as analog, but input #9 should be the left SPDIF channel, but instead showed it as the 9th analog channel. Therefore it showed only 7 inputs (instead of 8) as ADAT because that is where the "extra analog" channel was stolen from per say. This was just more of a quick scratch to the head and taking a few minutes to think about it and troubleshoot by plugging a guitar into a few channels on each set of mic pres to figure out everything is there, but perhaps "grouped" or "classified" wrong. So I had to take time to rename basically all of the I/O so that things are labeled correct and make sense. Using the default I/O button did not correct the issue so this was the only way to get things labeled correctly

its2loud 05-07-2018 05:27 PM

Re: 003 Rack+ compatible with PT 2018.4 & High Sierra 10.13.4
 
Good to know. I wonder(hope) if the Digi002 works too.

skizzo 05-08-2018 05:22 AM

Re: 003 Rack+ compatible with PT 2018.4 & High Sierra 10.13.4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by its2loud (Post 2487512)
Good to know. I wonder(hope) if the Digi002 works too.

The 002's series may or may not work. My guess is yes since they share the same driver. AVID hasn't tested the 002's in a while it looks like from the driver page....untested since Jan of 2013. So slightly higher chances of not working due to that

BeatMakeUfologistic 03-12-2019 08:56 AM

Re: 003 Rack+ compatible with PT 2018.4 & High Sierra 10.13.4
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by skizzo (Post 2487501)
So this is more of a FYI for users who held onto their Digi 003's

I am happy to share that the 003 Rack+ (and therefore, I assume, the 003 console and 003 Rack) are compatible in High Sierra 10.13.4 with the latest 003 family driver running PT 2018.4. If anyone has experiences that prove the 003 console and/or rack do NOT work please share with the community!

To make things even better Audio MIDI Setup was capable of aggregating the 003 Rack+ with my new Presonus Studio 192. I was able to use the 003 Rack+ as the "main" interface & clock source, as well as vise versa with the Studio 192 as the main interface and clock source. Using ADAT lightpipe on the Studio 192 I was able to get it to recognize my Focusrite OctoPre also. So this gives me access to 24 simultaneous total mic pres now! More than I will ever need! This is all at 96K too. But it is great to know my old hardware is still compatible, though not "officially" supported I believe is the correct term

Setup is as follows:
Mac Pro 4,1 (flashed w/5,1 firmware)
3.46 GHz Hex Core X5690 CPU
48GB 1066MHz RAM (3x16GB DIMMS)
10.13.4 OS
PT 2018.4
Digi 003 Rack+ (connected via FW400 to FW800 cable)
Presonus Studio 192 (connected via USB 2.0 and/or USB 3.0 cable/port - as in any USB 2.0 or USB 3.0 port or cable combo worked)

Note that even using different protocols such as FW and USB the interfaces worked as aggregates. I have read normally this setup with different connection protocols between interfaces don't always work as an aggregate. Apparently this particular setup does though so I wanted to share what I thought was a cool discovery

*ONE QUIRK* The I/O was a bit screwy on how it is displayed in I/O settings. ALL I/Os are there but for some reason detected the left SPDIF channel of the Studio 192 as an analog channel. This means inputs 1 - 8 were correctly listed as analog, but input #9 should be the left SPDIF channel, but instead showed it as the 9th analog channel. Therefore it showed only 7 inputs (instead of 8) as ADAT because that is where the "extra analog" channel was stolen from per say. This was just more of a quick scratch to the head and taking a few minutes to think about it and troubleshoot by plugging a guitar into a few channels on each set of mic pres to figure out everything is there, but perhaps "grouped" or "classified" wrong. So I had to take time to rename basically all of the I/O so that things are labeled correct and make sense. Using the default I/O button did not correct the issue so this was the only way to get things labeled correctly

You meant in IO if they mapped wrong and miss in out paths can solve it by rename?
Because:
I downgraded from high Sierra to Sierra 10.12
downgraded pro tools 2018 12 to pro tools 12.6.1
thought is compatibility problem, but after I did all as by compatibility Avid road, it is still same and even slow motion became on any click in pro tools when playback is 003 but with high Sierra or with 10.12 Sierra the main problem is IO because there is miss paths, in, out, by default is set up as for 003 but there’s only best what, is that come sound out from
1 and 2 can hear but cant control sound from 003 knob in general no response from in/out as well. Please help me !


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:07 AM.

Powered by: vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Limited. Forum Hosted By: URLJet.com